Supercars crashtest rating

facelift

Just wondering does all the supercars (ferraris, lambos, porsches) get a good 5 stars rating at the euro NCAP? Never seen any of those cars doing crash test. Hehe :D

man supercars are a work of engineering marvel..these cars are usually not mass produced like honda's toyota's or BMW's..
and for the case of ferrari..they borrow technology from F1 including their safety standards...

if u read reviews for supercars...on the section for chassis ..they would always talk about how safe they have made it because of using certain alloys..and by using carbon fibre in their frame as well as thier body...

i dont think u need to crash a ferrari to see it roadworthiness...
every car that rolls out from these manufacturers...are custom built to ur satisfaction...

there are many reasons behind why supercars are not tested by government bodies...and one of them is that..most of these companies do it by themselves...

NCAP doesn't has enough money i think ... hahha
anywhere , as for ferrari , they uses the F1 tech . if u have seen the F1 c-test .
only the whole nose gone ...mostly kena the double wish bone joint section only .

Nobody in their right mind would crash test a supercar. Siao ah. But they do try to make them safe nowadays. But it is all in theory and computer simulations. The factory would crash test a pre-production mule but definitely not a brand new one. And who is going to give a supercar to Euro NCAP to test?

Besides, if u have one of those supercars, i think you would drive very very slow most of the time.. unless some asshole cucuk u..i know i would..

si|verfish said:
Nobody in their right mind would crash test a supercar. Siao ah. But they do try to make them safe nowadays. But it is all in theory and computer simulations. The factory would crash test a pre-production mule but definitely not a brand new one. And who is going to give a supercar to Euro NCAP to test?
i believe you will need to supply few unit to NCAP in order to get the rating, coz NCAP rating including front impact, side impact, rear impact... and etc etc.

would u supply them 5 USD1 million mclaren F1 just for a series of crash test ?

or 5 bugatti veyron ? 5 ferrari enzo ? hahaha i dont think so

munky said:
would u supply them 5 USD1 million mclaren F1 just for a series of crash test ?

or 5 bugatti veyron ? 5 ferrari enzo ? hahaha i dont think so
Those are limited and very2 expensive one. I mean the likes of Ferrari 360/430. Surely it wouldn't hurt the company. :D But I do feel sad to see a RM1million Ferrari crushed in a series of crash test. Hehe.

I think in 2007, car makers in the US must put the result of the crash test on the window of the car. Pretty good idea I think.

not sure about ncap,

but I think the nhtsa requires have certain requirements for cars that are imported to the USA.

and you are only required to undergo testing if you have sold >10k cars.

prime example was the Porsche CGT, it has to be refitted with dual airbags to be sold in the USA. However, sales did not exceed 10k, so it did not undergo testing.

The audi RS4, had to abandon it's recaro seat also.

*info above are only what I remember from my friend's discussions, which may or may not be true

Americans have stupid legislations lar. They even want rules to protect fat burger assed Americans from their own inability to use safety belts.

yea, the american are hella dumb...all they know is straight line speed

try going to this website http://wreckedexotics.com/ and rate for yourself ok..

in my opinion.. i think those manufacturers will make sure the fast cars are pretty safe..
as most of their customers are high profile ones... im sure firms like ferrari, porsche, bugatti wanna avoid being sued to keep their images..
there's even some ppl who sue coz they cudnt achieve the top speed claimed by the manufacturer..
the things rich ppl do ar... hehehe..

yup..the will supply the car to NCAP...how many??i duno...as i know..those car crashed are usually pretty much strip down..cheapest stuff inside...cheap seats cheap lights..cheap rims...dummy brakes..dummy engine...(mayb no engine at all)..dummy stuff lah...it will coz alot cheaper it wont hurt the company alot

i saw top gear/sumthin show..i forgotten wat show lah...anyway..the lambo factorty got 15++ totaled murcielago,diablo,gallardo all crashed during testing...and tht junk yard is more thn 10million worth of car.few cars to NCAP doesnt hurt the company...