TA22 engine transplant

csl

Anyone knows which big hp FR engine can fit into TA22 Celica ar (but jpj compliant la)? Any shop recommended?

well, using the 25% jpj rule, i would recommend SR20det since see lots of lancer kotak transplant this engine. But if u were to have RA22 with 2.0 ltr engine, can put 1jz-gte. Other choices would be 1g-gte if u want to go 6 cylinders.

4AGE is d safest i guess.... other than that, wat P-O-R said is quite alrite :)

1g-gte(6 cylinders) would be too big and long for TA22 celica. I've seen ppl doing it, but the engine left only less than an inch from the firewall. Engine heat is a problem. I suspect the failure of crumple zone during accident would be a reason of non-complinace to JPJ rules. Beside, the engine is too heavy for Ta22 chassis. Will create a lot of understeer, unless u want to use the car for straight line drag.

4AGE is a good engine. Light and puchy little engine. However u need to modify the cross member to receive the 4AGE. The down side abt the engine is that u have to pay premium price of the engine as this engine is popular and heavily speculated throughout Malaysia.

BLaCkHoWLiNG said:
heavily speculated to be....??

When many ppl are looking for the engines, the harga naik melambung......supply and demand thing. Ask any kedai kereta potong dealers, how much is a 4AGE today and how much it was say 5 years ago.....

I think not only the engines are being speculated, all AE86 parts oso being speculated....

rollakid said:
3sgte, use supra gearbox.

Supra gearbox is too big for the transmission tunnel for the TA22. Beside, the gear stick location needed to be relocated.

Use the W55/W58 Supra gearbox. That one will fit.

3SGE from Altezza. If you have a 2.0 celica.
3SGTE moded with altezza FR 3S and 3SGTE from celica. All you want is the 6 speed gearbox. hahaha.
F20C VTEC unit from Honda S2000. Also 2.0. But you need to do a lot of work.

Did i mention both the S2000 and Altezza halfcuts cost an arm and leg?:shades_smile:

Other options is SR20DET or CA18DET from nissans.

1G, 1J not to say cannot. But have you seen the pictures of Celicas using those. They did a hell lot of mod to get it in.:sad_smile: By the time you make it all work, it would cost an arm and leg as well. hahaha.

anyone know the code of rs200's 6-speed gbox? its not the supra's v160 right? until today still cannot find info on it.. dunno why so hard one..

can it be fitted to ke70 with 20v 4age? *evil grin* relocate shift stick location or cut a new hole for it i dun care.. as long as no need bang the tunnel to fit it.

1.6L
4A-GTE: cheap and reliable, and able to wrack some asses out there.

2.0L
SR20-DET: powerful right from the factory, but higher modification cost.

3S-GTE: hell you'll need a fat wallet to play with this beast, lots of fabrication work.

Actually I prefer SR20DET. But don't know what is the final cost and wheter JPJ/puspacom approve or not. If too much of cut/weld, I may as well just put good pistons and a turbine.