TD04 owner, pls fall in

normality78

Guy's

currently doing some survey on TD04 (H, HL) turbo. Those who was using this turbo, may i know whn is your turbo kicks in and full boost on which rpm?

if i remember correctly... mine full boost (0.8 bar) somewhere before 4k rpm on a 4G91 (1.5 DOHC).

my td04L also 4500 rpm can full boost. in 1000cc.

wanna know how ? try asking hock.

no la... not really upgrading but doing some survey around.

hm.... working out the diff on those budget turbo. appearently, TD04 is the most common and popular one i would to say. But have we also neglet out the SR20DEt turbo? no, im not talking about the ball bearing one, but the S13 unit.

how about the rest like IHI B8 turbo unit?

on my volvo S70-2.0T

it factory fitted TD04-13T.....only 163bhp. i think the factory set up at 0.5bar.
the boost kick in about 1800rpm. very responsive turbo but not great for high speed.
2000cc 5 cylinders, 20 valves. generating 230nm at under 2000rpm.

2 litre... of course spool fast lah. =)

TD04 Makes a lot of difference on high end for smaller cc cars ler... =Þ

pathfinder,
whn u mention not so great for highspeed, does it mean its running out of breath? on what kind of speed or rpm it will happen?

i think coz boost too early comes in n too early get off from boost......nice turbine setup is want to get boost all the way.......huh...

running a turbo is like running a higher cc car...

of course it effects your high end also... just maybe not in the way u want it to... but bear in mind WITH the turbo ur high end would still most definitely be better than without the turbo.

wah... so late wan meh on a GSR? TD04 on a GSR should have literally no lag.

normality78

yes...kinda out of breath. not as eager as low rpm.
around 5000rpm feel "kosong" jer....at that rpm, +/- 180kmj.

true, having a turbocharger should increase top speed.

in my volvo, i think maybe the turbo is small with light pressure turbo(LPT)

the volvo engines with T5 badge also uses TD04...but bigger/better spec, got many variants of T5 producing power ranges from 220bhp to 260bhp. all using mitsubishi TD04 family turbos.

i did few GSRs in the past, sum changed to bigger turbines an sum modified their TD04L. the ones wit the TD04L seems to be boosting on demand, lagg was kept to a minimum.

few weeks previously, mod a TD04L to be fitted into a starlet's 4efte and it seem to be performing as good as it was on a GSR. dis is a good turbine, bigger den the sr20's turbine. as comparison, 20 psi on the TD04L gives out similar power output to 28psi on the sr20's turbine

just bought a HKS GT25G turbo. Its from HKS Honda turbo kit. Actually its a Garret AR42. hm... wonder should this better the TD04L.

Seems like TD04L a good investment turbo. may wanna try on it and hope it works on my 1.8l. Im looking to built boost frm 2300rpm onwaRDS.

how early a td04l kicks in full boost depends on how much boost your running and how your pipes are built..if your using a stock gsr it should kick in at about 2800-3000 rpm boosting at about 0.685 bar with a the original wastegate. But if you have your turbo elbow done it would start spooling faster and pass 1 bar at the same rpm range. The turbo elbow will allow the turbine to breath better.