TDC(Top Dead Center) sensor problem

civic91

halo,greeting to all vtec members n sifu.....
i got sum problems with my ride,likes hard to start,suddenly 'mati' while driving n etc...
i try check the CEL n it blink 8 short times. is it means tdc sensor problems? can sum1 advice how to fix? i took my car 4 pomen last weeks n he told me da my ECU rosak d???!!! opps,i 4got to tell u all da my ride is SR3 fitted with Del Sol B16A VTEC engine! sigh....

the tdc sensor is located inside the distributor (on b16a) if i'm not mistaken.. why not borrow a working distributor from a fren and try it

Check fuse box below the steering. Follow diagram will do.

i juz took my car 4 another pomen d. he said mayb got other problems n found da head thr 'masuk air'! omg,pening this time!

ok,well my engine head problem solve d...
n found da main relay rosak,so change new 1. i took my ride bck yesterday but at night the same problem come again! while driving,i think about 500m like da,suddenly 'mati' again n again. what problem is it? i ask foreman n said da ECU problem..

If the CEL stated TDC sensor problem, then you must find a good distributor to test. But before that try to make sure all wire connections from the distributor to the ecu are clean. It might due to bad connection that can cause intermittent problem.

well,i hv try another distributor but still show code 8(TDC sensor). after i try using foreman ECU,no more CEL. is it means ECU rosak???
1 more things is my VTEC cannot kick n speedometer also going slow about 40kmh compare with other ppl.:hmmmm:

I think your foreman already spot on with the TDC problem there.

For vtec to work it need to be at certain engine temp, vehicle speed, adequate oil pressure and working ecu. If the ecu did not get this signal then the vtec not going to engage. Get this things check before proceed further.

o... thanks steadymatrock! i think its hard to find ECU here(Northern area)
my ecu part nomber 37820-P30-950. n i using crx del sol halfcut in my SR3! i hv try borrow ecu fr mbr n found da all working ok just speedometer n rpm kenot use??? is it my ecu got TCS?