The Proton Savvy R3 - CONCEPT PLAN

sakuraguy

The Proton Savvy R3 - CONCEPT PLAN

http://img377.imageshack.us/img377/7678/11rd2.jpg

The Proton Savvy R3 Concept is a one-off prototype and the specifications are not finalised yet. Targets for the final R3 version of the Proton Savvy would be similiar to the Proton Satria R3, which is a lighter and more powerful car ready to attack the track with great handling.

http://img377.imageshack.us/img377/4684/27hd.jpg

For this concept prototype, the boys at Race Rally Research have managed to pump up the engine output to 85hp from the 74hp in the stock engine with revised camshaft profile as well as intake and exhaust modifications. Torque is up to 110Nm from 105Nm. The car runs on 16 inch Advanti Racing RSW-01 rims, the same ones used on the Satria R3. Wrapping those delicious rims are Yokohama Advan Neova AD07 rubber. This answers anyone’s question on what kind of rims the Proton Savvy can take.

The bodyshell is lightened with less soundproofing and discarding unnecessary items. This brings the weight of the car down to 825kg from the original 953kg. Even the fog lamps have been changed to lighter ones!

Suspension for the car has also been tweaked, with spring and damping rates tuned by the R3 team. Ride height has been lowered, and rubber suspension bushing is stiffer.

0-100 time has been improved to 11.5 seconds and top speed gains an additional 5km/h bringing it up to 175km/h.

To help the car come to a stop as fast as it moves from a stop, the front brakes have been upgraded to ventilated cross-drilled discs with R3 brake pads, which I assume would be the Mintex type found on the Satria R3? The rear brakes remain as drum brakes though. It’s a shame. Discs look good with sports rims especially the thin spoke type like the Advanti RSW-01 rims on this car. Even the ABS system is weight-optimized.

The car comes with a MOMO Tuner steering and Recaro SR4 seats with matching R3 red and black trims.

Thanks to Paul Tan for the source, appreciate his work! .

SakuraGuy

Zerotohundred.Com

Saw Satria R3 once on street.. but that glass...wow...is kindya dark... sure it matches the prototype with the on road type?

Sideways and frontview... nice... look like a Mini Monster... but rear... can't see....if imagine from Standard rear... err... *dun wanan commment nanti I kenak kejar by Savvy* ^_^

errr...i thought that rim cannot turn..i mean it scapes the fenders...correct me if im wrong..the prototype was put on standard rims to be driven then changed to 16's for show.

If u guys miss the R3 savvy launch, now u can view it at eneos, 1U.
the car is there for display. just right next to the audio department.
IMO, the bodykit looks real nice on the savvy.
that car comes with 15" lorr.. not 16" like wat the proton savvy launch display.
interior comes with recaro SR4 seat and momo tuner steering.
interior all black.
sadly the door trim and dashboard are too plastic larr...
looks like those plastic material that make the cup holder in our lancer dashboard. very cheap looking.

xcheong said:
If u guys miss the R3 savvy launch, now u can view it at eneos, 1U.
the car is there for display. just right next to the audio department.
IMO, the bodykit looks real nice on the savvy.
that car comes with 15" lorr.. not 16" like wat the proton savvy launch display.
interior comes with recaro SR4 seat and momo tuner steering.
interior all black.
sadly the door trim and dashboard are too plastic larr...
looks like those plastic material that make the cup holder in our lancer dashboard. very cheap looking
Pls don't judge the interior of the particular show car too harshly. The interior plastics is not of production standard, that is part of the very reason the windows are tinted black(which is only for show car purposes). It also the reason it is Called a CONCEPT.

Concept cars are meant to show what's possible. Most of the time Concepts do not show the true production car but to give the public an idea how it may turn out.

It is true the 16x7 with 205/45 tyres scrape the arches of the car when the ride height is lowred.

Yah .. accurate faisal .. We cant say Concept cars design will be in production 100%, they will alter and remove unnecessary things for road purpose.

By the time it comes from production to road, we may see .. non tinted, 15" rim, not lowered .. and much more will be reduced from the package.

Anyway .. we just wit n see wats the result! ...

Cheers!

The Savvy 1.2MT Zerokit by R3 is now available in Edar's showrooms. It is the manual SAvvy with the full R3 bodykit. Available in Black or Red.

Currently RaceRallyResearch are developing Power and Suspension upgrades.

faisal said:
The Savvy 1.2MT Zerokit by R3 is now available in Edar's showrooms. It is the manual SAvvy with the full R3 bodykit. Available in Black or Red.

Currently RaceRallyResearch are developing Power and Suspension upgrades.

do mean the whole car with just the bodykit fitted or just the bodykit?if so how much just for the kit?

is it from all edar showroom or just the brances?thanx

I Think that means the complete car with R3 Bodykit fitted.

Edar are supposed to have the car in Most Edar showrooms.

I saw the red color one at Proton 'open showroom' behind Giant Taman Permata, Ulu Kelang..

About the AMT transmission, first time lah I saw that kind of gearknob..If you want to up gear, just tolak to front, if you want turun gear, tolak backward..Gear 3 means you have to talk the gearknob three times..And there's no clutch pedal..

Thinking how we are going to repair that kind of gear when it's rosak..Enjin pulak Renault..Wow!

this maintenance very expensive if follow rebault technology...

The Savvy AMT is based on Renault's automated manual technology. It is being used in several Renault model.

Pls don't make baseless judgments. Do some proper research first.

Thank You

that renault g/b had been used in the cleo and tested in every conditions by renault and proton...so far very good review from foreign press tested based on the clio..so should b no problems.

I believe a lot of people in M'sia are still very conservative when it comes to accepting new technologies. Perhaps it's a previous bad experience with the way manufacturer support of those technologies have bitten them, to the extent that the fear has been embedded into their subconscious. Like the way a dog which has been abused as a pup will have a higher tendency to distrust people later.

In this case, Proton is really fighting an uphill battle with the Tiara and Waja 1.8 on its portfolio.