This is how the govt 'saves' money...

Well, throughout human history, you'll find that in times of great prosperity, when there is plenty for everyone...the leaders, monarchs etc. can get away with just about anything. That's because everyones happy and are a lot more forgiving. But when times are really bad, and a lot of the common folk are miserable, thats when thing start getting desperate and nasty. Usually this is when big changes happen, revolution, war, bloodshed, you name it.

And that pretty much sums it up. Malaysia has seen some great times, great development, economic boom, etc. etc. People are well fed, get plenty of opportunities, nothing to complain about, even when the government is up to monkey business. Now that things aren't so bright anymore, they are in a bit of a hedge. They'll try all sorts of strategies to paint a pretty picture of the future (this plan, that plan lar) and try to cover your eyes with shows of grandiose (ie big, big constructions projects, record braking feat, chants of Malaysia Boleh and so on); trying their darnest to keep the common folk happy, somehow. It'll work, until the time when people are really, really miserable. The next election will be a show of this. They are not going to be sitting pretty like the last time, thats for sure.

offtopic
anyone uses the kepong MRR@ to go to gombak or anywhere
hav u noticed the noticeboard saying what company is doing the repair works?
its something like Bridgex, now, how many companies are there in malaysia specialising in bridges that can suddenly sprout up and do repair works worth bout like 40mil? or was it more?

si|verfish said:
Well, the thing is that all this is related. It is about abuse of power and corruption. Folks with political power in this country basically do whatever they please and with the blood money of the people, not their own. The royals are just as into it as are the ministers and government officials. They wield their power as they please to get favourable deals and business links. We are at a state of denial as a people. We sort of know it happens but we choose to look the other way.

We basically let these people loose on the banquet and they aren't going to be nice, they are going to gorge themselves silly, because we let them do it.
what i means is that royal family member born with the so called status royal blood, there are the owner of this piece of land(please don't argue with the land ownership here, we can have the another thread for this, some may bring GOD into picture) and we stay here, we have no choice to change it. But goverment is elected by people, we still have the chance to change those. Goverment is suppose to be elected and develop the country, no matter how screwed they are, they still developing the country (although not in a very good pace), but royal family do no do that, they take money and spend, that's it, end of story.

But the shit thing now is , royal family member are in some privatize company, sit in high level , getting the pay (from tax payer) with big office, but you seldom see them in the office. TNB for example.

Back to the original topic. I feel that the 490 million should be spent on developing rural areas as well as providing better roads and in general better welfare for the people. This move will benefit a lot of people instead of the few athletes who use the sports complex.

About the royalty subject, last time from what I've learnt in Sejarah, the sultans are just SYMBOLS with not much power compared to the Government. Heck, maybe some of the sultans took the term too literally LOL.

490m give to promising uni students is better than invest in some sport thingy. i belive talented tech/engineer/businessman can do more for the country than just a few athlete.

about 10 years ago in a school my mom taught, got a kid's dad is a profesional soccer player for the Sarawak team, dunno which one, but he's not the best player type, just normal one sometime sit on bench backup substitute one.. then i'm told that his salary is rm7000+ a month, even in the off season everyday just kick kick ball a few time earn 7000 a month -__-

rollakid said:
490m give to promising uni students is better than invest in some sport thingy. i belive talented tech/engineer/businessman can do more for the country than just a few athlete.

about 10 years ago in a school my mom taught, got a kid's dad is a profesional soccer player for the Sarawak team, dunno which one, but he's not the best player type, just normal one sometime sit on bench backup substitute one.. then i'm told that his salary is rm7000+ a month, even in the off season everyday just kick kick ball a few time earn 7000 a month -__-

Yeah we need more automotive engineers if Malaysia is going to be competitive in the car industry!

The sports industry is a risky type. Example, players who suffer serious injuries may signal the end of their careers and not many professional athletes make it ove rthe age of 40. A tech/engineer/businessman on the other hand can work until 60+.

yeah deposite on a truly malaysian made engine ..... or develope CAMPRO to a more powerful version like idsi n vtec somemore gootter ..... gootter than doin monkey business like the black eyed peas ......

imoloq said:
About the royalty subject, last time from what I've learnt in Sejarah, the sultans are just SYMBOLS with not much power compared to the Government. Heck, maybe some of the sultans took the term too literally LOL.
Well, when I was young I thought the same. Now is different.

What is power? Money is power. Knowing the right people is power. Respect is power. The royals have all three. They may not officially have much power but that is irrelevant. A rich tycoon in Malaysia is also powerful, for much the same reasons. Some probably has so much political clout that we can only imagine. Just because they work behind the scenes and we can't see it doesn't mean it doesn't exists.

headache said:
It was the sultan of Kelantan. All royalties are entitled to 7 tax-free cars. And, since he has exceed the quota, he asked that he testdrive it 'cos no money to pay duty, mar. But, he drove it straight out and back home to Kelantan. Who dare to stop him?

ahhh...yes you are spot on unker headache. me memory failing me liao..haiz.

anyway, back to topic at hand, seeing that the govt is under such heavy scrutiny at home....so they've become 'innovative'/'creative. hehehe. as AAB has often told msians, venture overseas. hence, with that in mind, maybe the govt is leading and paving the way and showing how to 'venture overseas'. hehehe.

in any case, as is with the general consensus here, IMHO it's a blardy waste of public's money. if they have 'world class' facilities RIGHT here locally (Bukit Jalil, which hosted the Commomwealth Games) and still cant achieve nuts in the international arena, what can they hope to do with one in the London?? do u mean to tell me the weather has an impact for the athletes?? as if! :Not_Impressed:

guess who will be the athletes?

oso for their sedara-mara lar, if not ..our country will achieve great in sports long-long time ago laa

well its msian style...making big gimmicks and so behind sucking big money from the projects.....we have seeing enough over priced projects in the past....and they are creating more....

basically our politicians just know how to make excuse and use the tax payers money...

trancebum said:
in any case, as is with the general consensus here, IMHO it's a blardy waste of public's money. if they have 'world class' facilities RIGHT here locally (Bukit Jalil, which hosted the Commomwealth Games) and still cant achieve nuts in the international arena, what can they hope to do with one in the London?? do u mean to tell me the weather has an impact for the athletes?? as if! :Not_Impressed:

facilities are just an excuse man. i mean look at the kids in Brazil playing football barefoot on the sandy streets. the likes of pele and ronaldinho grew up in poverty but through sheer determination and grit, made it big.

Duke Red,
i completely agree. as i said, its just another waste of public's money (so that some crony can get rich).

so, come next GE, think back on all these before you put in your ballot

Bukit jalil? did u go there and see how sucks the maintenance work has been done? crack here and there.

Hallelujah. This thread has no flames. Let me start some.

BlackSamurai,
My car can smoke yours anytime. . . . . . . . heheh just joking.

I always wondered just how the votes are counted and by who. I feel that a citizen representative should count the votes and not a member of the govt or parliament or anyone. Who knows, when BN have actually lost, the people who count purposely say that they won, simply because we will never know the REAL results of the vote.

Many times, we have so much valid points for improvement of the country but even more times, there is this feeling that tells me that the govt/rulers just don't give a rats' shit about the country. They can clearly see the problem, but they just don't do nothing about it. Yet, they come up with even more stupid ideas like spending millions on an overseas sport complex? They're better off selling the land or renting it (if the land is officially theirs), rather than spend more money on it. That is one way to, at least, get back some finance for the country.

Sponsor people who swim across the Malacca straights (or whatever river/sea/ocean) , or for people who drive across 30 countries (or was that more or what?)? For what? Just to show the world that malaysia boleh? Why not they get foreign sponsors instead of local ones so that the local finances could be put to better use. But wait! Our local finances can't be put to good use because they are are in the hands of people who are no use.