tires and suspensions blamed for accidentS?

means when we use shortstrokes from GABS with sports springs, we can layan
corners easily??
i drove a satria that can layan a coner with 150km/h... very very lowered...
using 16inches n tire height of 45 or 50 if not mistaken.

the car wouldn't lean... my espri 1.0 shocks are kong, even when cornering at 100km/h, the car drifts a lil'.

speaking of aerodynamics, i seen a satria in kuantan using 17inch rims beh9ind n high suspensions, with 16inch tires in front and low suspensions...
look a lil bit like a monster.. haha

always look at the suspension system as a whole, the springs are just one part of it. just by changing the springs alone cant really help in the car's performance, if the shock rates are wrong then it will throw off the ballance.

VDAT the VDAT e.V., the German Automobile Tuners Association did some test with a few combination of springs and tyres and found that by using proper after market parts and in the right set-up it can help in extracting better performance from a vehicle like better control and shorter stopping distance.

check this out http://www.vdat.de/homee.htm

i stil duno which suspensions to put on my car...
i want both comfort n performance..., corner at 120km/h is good enough.

recently i read bout GASB hilo suspensions, with AVGS or something like that,
is that good?

Satria racer..first of all you mentioned that you want comfort and performance in one package.
Actually if you want comfort,you sacrifice performance.You want performance you sacrifice comfort.I guess you need to get this right first.
Regarding to the topic,wow acbc you tuned your titan to max hardness?
The first time i drove my car out of titan shop,because of the abs was still new fresh.Heck it is hard and it is very understeer.Drove for about 3 weeks,let it settle down and it came to the setting that richard suppose to give me which is really nice.
Front is roughly harder than the rear and understeer only occur if i push too hard.
Can't put the blame on suspension and tyre though for my opinion.BUT,if these two component are in working order(no potong spring or etc etc).With proper counter measurement from the driver,it can avoid a serious accident.
I said that my coilover did make my life easier when i push my car over the limit and it start to understeer then oversteer.Manage to pull it back.Can't imagine if it is a potong spring or second hand tyre.

Look at the suspension system as a whole like what buck7 said and do not choose a suspension based on the concept of "i wan my car wack corner with 160km.h,120km/h etc etc" The most important factor is
1) you need comfort or performance? No such thing as both
2)the spring rate you want
3)Choose a brand,either a coilover(which is harder,and HARDER IS NOT BETTER) or a abs with a matching spring
4)test it,tune it if necessary to suit your way
5)Mod the driver more,you can't rely 100% to your shock.Your good shock is there to help you IF you know what do to at the right time.

my 2 cent

thx mate'
ur 2 cents works like 2 dollars.
well, any explanation to the new GABS AVCS?? duno wat adjustable AUTO VALVE CONTROL STABILITY. izit good??

saw it in extremekars magazine

Hmm...can't really say anything.As i havent seen it,haha outdated luh..But as what stan aka ninja iga told me and i think it make senses also la.Those that you can adjust the damper those thingy,that kinda like got 1-4 hardness just turn to which one you like to select the hardness anytime you want.It is flexible but when the realibility might be an issue IF it is not well constructed.Everytime turn turn turn turn,the valve thingy will wear and it might cause some problem.But that is what i heard la..i also prefer manual dissemble adjustment rather than those that can turn yourself one.GABS AVCS??anyone care to post some info about it?? automatic valve cnotrol??hmmm.....electronic control??? so high tech already arr?

escaflowne said:
Satria racer..first of all you mentioned that you want comfort and performance in one package.
Actually if you want comfort,you sacrifice performance.You want performance you sacrifice comfort.I guess you need to get this right first.

Last month, I test drove an E46 with these babies....good lord were they wonderful.
http://www.koni-fsd.com/

Realizing the seemingly impossible!
Two characteristics that seemed diametrically- opposed, proved to be a source of inspiration for specialists from KONI. Following lengthy development and testing, the ultimate solution was reached: KONI FSD - Frequency Selective Damping.
A revolutionary new technique whereby the benefits of both types of ride characteristics are combined in one perfect shock absorber. Banishing the disadvantages of the past. FSD shock absorbers; a smart suspension system adjusting automatically to road conditions as well as driving style. And all of this in a fraction of a second. FSD guarantees greater stability, greater control and thus greater driving pleasure. - quote from the site

WOW!! boggy,ecu control?...hmmm impresive

satria racer, go for eibach prokit springs. the best overall. have recomended to lots of people and all the feedback is the same, superb.

some may say the adjustables are the best but i see the adjustables ave two problem. one is getting the right settings and two the shockers are damn expensive to replace.

with the prokit its a plug and play set which you can use with your standard shockers (in good working order) or aftermarkets such as koni or sachs.

no guess work at how much rebound and settings you need to do.

Eibach is known to be relatively soft. Beware if you are carrying lots of things.

well, if its soft... how to corner? body roll??
the car'll lean :(

well, sometimes i travel from kuantan to johor... fully loaded with barang, and with 4 ppl :p/

another thing :
I'M ONLY 17

I said, it is relatively softer when compared to other suspension/coilover kits. Not as soft as pillow. Definitly harder than your stock spring.

After all, a spring is just a spring. Geting a matching shock is more important.

If you are really 17, the I suggest you to go for more advance driving schools before commiting more on your car.

After that, your biggest problem is tyres, not suspension. No matter how advance /expensive your suspension setting is, you'll be royally screwed by your tyres.

First off, your suspension wont work accurately due to the amount of flex in the tyres.
2nd, Steering feedback would be shitty with those sort of tyres.

hehe... i know all this, k?

someone once told me : when u wanna change ur shocks, u gotta do ur chambers.
change ur rubbers... or you won't get clean corners.

so i gotta now get absorbers and springs that suit.... aduh. hav0c hav0c

We know aftermarket tires & suspensions can make the car better or worse, but the general public consensus is that it's dangerous coz public only know Brothers and caplang tyres/rims. We should have someone from the auto world telling the public their perception is not true.

Instead of discussing daddy dixit article here, why not someone send a letter to the Star to correct his points? He doesn't even know he's wrong.

IMO the main cause of accidents is driver's attitude. Bad driver always drive recklessly whether it's a Lancer Evo or a standard Kancil, be it in public roads or Sepang track. And blame many drivers that ignore 5000km service routine, then when car breakdown in highway, they blame Proton are lousy la, standard tyres no good lor etc etc.

ps : there's a similar letter published in Berita Harian some time ago. I emailed a letter to Berita Harian editor to clarify some points, unfortunately they didn't bother. Sad lor.

Satria racer said:
hehe... i know all this, k?

someone once told me : when u wanna change ur shocks, u gotta do ur chambers.
change ur rubbers... or you won't get clean corners.

so i gotta now get absorbers and springs that suit.... aduh. hav0c hav0c

wakakakakakaka...."I know all this".

"clean corner"? do you even understand what that means?
Do you even know how to determine/feel/calculate if a spring/shock set is matched for your car anot?

guys, lets go do our "wheel chamber".

Tell you what, no matter what age you are, dont waste you parents money buying toys for the(ir) car