Toyota MRS / MR2 spyder

Ben,

Thanks will do.. If all goes well should be getting by next month.. Is the price 135k is the current price for the MRS? The one I asked is year 2000 unreg. Coz I need to add like another 7k for the hadtop as well..

Originally posted by GTI4740@Apr 11 2005, 15:32
If all goes well.. I'll soon join the MRS gang.. Right now in the midst of getting rid of my Vtec it's for sale and it's in the car for sale thread.. Once that sold MRS is my first choise..

Need to know where can I go to get performance part like shocks, CF hood, body kit.. Some thing similar to the one in the latest Hypertune (mutiaramotors).. Can someone tell me where to get these items and how much?

Is there any MRS club around??

Thanks.. Hizam
[snapback]887011[/snapback]​

135 a bit high if it without much stuffs. There were a few higher priced MRS in KL but added HT, interior blings.

there is a silver MRS at cheras foe sale (don't know manual or SMT) with HT. 1 black (stock with kit) at duitpadu (not sure of shop name?) near old MTC.

probably several are in Ming HIng at segambut. A chap bought an SMT from NAza for a little less. but a bit troublesome to get approval from you know who.

hizam,

I think in johore you probably johore you get better pricing, Ben should be able to intro.

Hizam, if you are in KL it would be nice as there are now 11 MRS contacts. We have not meet all of them yet but soon (busy la).

Also, quite a good group too at johore!!

Originally posted by koolspyda+Apr 11 2005, 19:57 -->
QUOTE(koolspyda @ Apr 11 2005, 19:57 )
--QuoteBegin-GTI4740
@Apr 11 2005, 15:32
If all goes well.. I'll soon join the MRS gang.. Right now in the midst of getting rid of my Vtec it's for sale and it's in the car for sale thread.. Once that sold MRS is my first choise..

Need to know where can I go to get performance part like shocks, CF hood, body kit.. Some thing similar to the one in the latest Hypertune (mutiaramotors).. Can someone tell me where to get these items and how much?

Thanks.. Hizam

135 a bit high if it without much stuffs. There were a few higher priced MRS in KL but added HT, interior blings.

there is a silver MRS at cheras foe sale (don't know manual or SMT) with HT. 1 black (stock with kit) at duitpadu (not sure of shop name?) near old MTC.

probably several are in Ming HIng at segambut. A chap bought an SMT from NAza for a little less. but a bit troublesome to get approval from you know who.
[snapback]887738[/snapback]​
[/b][/quote]
the cheras one...i'm going to look for it soon...it is just near by my house...only opposite mar... =)

Guys,

Thanks for the info.. Looks like it's gonna be a busy weekend for me. Looks like I have to shop around and check out who can give me the best price.

I kept hearing negative things about MRS from my Honda friends, like the car is difficult to drive, it oversteers badly and underpowered.. Are all these true, need to hear from the current owner.

If I compared the power to my v-tec..Now mine is 183atw.. But the car is quite heavy despite the CF hood.. I know for the fact that the MRS is light.. Stock engine is not that powerfull but should be okay with it's light weight body.. Handling wise, my ek oversteers when least expected imagine drifting in FF. Scary man.

I fell in love with this car when I saw the best motoring issue NA vs turbo. If I'm not mistaken it was th Spirit MRS vs Amuse S2000/S14 & S15.. The spirit MRS left the S2000 for dead..

Originally posted by toyota_mr2+Apr 12 2005, 01:39 -->
QUOTE(toyota_mr2 @ Apr 12 2005, 01:39 )
Originally posted by koolspyda@Apr 11 2005, 19:57
--QuoteBegin-GTI4740
@Apr 11 2005, 15:32

Thanks.. Hizam

[snapback]887738[/snapback]​
the cheras one...i'm going to look for it soon...it is just near by my house...only opposite mar... =)
[snapback]888702[/snapback]​
[/b][/quote]

Bro what's the name of the shop in Cheras? Can you find out whether it's unregistered or second hand??

Originally posted by GTI4740@Apr 12 2005, 09:19
Guys,

Thanks for the info.. Looks like it's gonna be a busy weekend for me. Looks like I have to shop around and check out who can give me the best price.

I kept hearing negative things about MRS from my Honda friends, like the car is difficult to drive, it oversteers badly and underpowered.. Are all these true, need to hear from the current owner.

If I compared the power to my v-tec..Now mine is 183atw.. But the car is quite heavy despite the CF hood.. I know for the fact that the MRS is light.. Stock engine is not that powerfull but should be okay with it's light weight body.. Handling wise, my ek oversteers when least expected imagine drifting in FF. Scary man.

I fell in love with this car when I saw the best motoring issue NA vs turbo. If I'm not mistaken it was th Spirit MRS vs Amuse S2000/S14 & S15.. The spirit MRS left the S2000 for dead..
[snapback]889270[/snapback]​

hizam, little secret for you , keep telling them that it is truly underpowered, difficult to drive and more importantly oversteers like sH*t!! ;) :lol: that should keep some exclusivity !

side note, a few investment on mods do wonders for the nippy car. (shhh) someone down south has an awesome power-to-weight ratios MRS!!

BUT reaallllyy, MRS is for ladies car loh ;) :lol: :lol: It is always nice feeling seeing the look when proven otherwise...oppss to much is revealed. Some Civic owners have very nice rides. B)

this is a S2K (pix below) MRS pic is on my earlier thread

Originally posted by koolspyda+Apr 12 2005, 12:14 -->
QUOTE(koolspyda @ Apr 12 2005, 12:14 )
https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/wink.gif alt='wink.gif' /> https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/laugh.gif alt='laugh.gif' /> that should keep some exclusivity !

side note, a few investment on mods do wonders for the nippy car. (shhh) someone down south has an awesome power-to-weight ratios MRS!!

BUT reaallllyy, MRS is for ladies car loh https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/wink.gif alt='wink.gif' /> https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/laugh.gif alt='laugh.gif' /> https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/laugh.gif alt='laugh.gif' /> It is always nice feeling seeing the look when proven otherwise...oppss to much is revealed. Some Civic owners have very nice rides. https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/cool.gif alt='cool.gif' />

this is a S2K (pix below) MRS pic is on my earlier thread
[snapback]889754[/snapback]​
[/b]

It won't look like a chic's car with mods like this..

Originally posted by GTI4740@Apr 12 2005, 13:47
Another view .. love the bodykit ..
[snapback]890007[/snapback]​

yup, that's keith imoto's spyder. (he also has a IS300 & RX7 (TF2F)) Only 100 pc were made for the GT300 monocraft kit. The revised monocraft GT 300 series II is now available with slight modifications (also without the metal fuel cap) and there is already one MRS in sabah who has the kit.:blink: :blink:

wala, 'ladies car' nick it only a secret cover. heheh

EH i think i have a pic of the MRS GTI posted too... same stickers..
http://img3.picsplace.to/img3/1621/mrs-.JPG

anyway... koolspyda, do you accept any questions in this thread? I have a lot of questions/oppinions bout MRS..
first is an oppinion of mine of a Turbo MRS intercooler mounting/placement.
You answered this question before, i dont quite get it. please forgive me for my stupidity. I posted this at FI section too, but am hoping to get a better reply here

Hmm... what i have now currently in mind is mounting it at the side vents of a MRS.. but it looks a bit too small to accomodate an intercooler with the sufficient size for 2bar...top mount with another vent op top directing air to it.. nah... no space.
at first what i had in mind was what is in tht pic u attached aEROz.. but seeing that, in MRS' case, the length from the engine to the front trunk... isnt that far... and besides.. for most cars with front mounted IC, the pipings are bent here and there and after all the bending... the total length of the IC piping from front all the way to the top... might just be, if not, a little shorter, than the piping all the way to a 2ZZGE behind from the front trunk. and like in the pic... if we let the piping go thru the cabin... its just straight, with maybe just slight bending here and there.... unlike regular Supras on front mount..
okay but lets face it... after having it thought thoroughly, the IC piping for Supras are just shorter
-------
SMT = Sequential Manual Transmission?? Huh?

Originally posted by koolspyda
the smt MRS is not compatible with the 2zz.

1)Because it interfaces with the stock 1zz ecu and it won't know what to do when it goes past 7200 rpm. Ohh and the gear ratios are off on the 1zz 6 speed for the 2zz so the rev matching won't work.

If you had a way to control it the mechanicals would work but I don't think there is anything out there that can do that......
ehh, i thought if you got a 2ZZGE swapped into a MRS, it includes the ECU toO?
Oh wait... where is Porosaki's question? Was he asking bout the 2ZZGE gearbox or engine????

for VVTL-i cams... is it the same as VTEC comes, as in 252-304-252??
Can FCON V-Pro support VVTL-i? what other ECUs can support it other than POwer FC?

2ZZGE is an aluminium block(or aluminium lining? what difference does it make anyway?) right? Okay, so will it be able to support high boost applications like 2 bar?

VVTLi 2ZZGE is 180-190BHP stock.. do you think it can be tuned to 300HP or 300WHP thru an all NA setup? I mean, put the money issue aside, will it be possible?

To me... the greatest advantage in MRS 2ZZGE lies in its light weight.
MRS 2ZZGE with full carbon fibre body... dunno how light it can go..

Oh anyway... what other engines can fit in a MRS other than 2ZZGE and 3SGTE?
3UZFE? 1UZFE? i mean the other V6 and V8 engines...
i remember reading an article from a website, spyderchat? but forgot the engine code already.
and why say 1ZZFE more suitable for bolt on turbocharging?

sorry... ask so much... dont flame me please..

Bro!! I'll need to wear pampers just in case then... Never done autocross before!! Hope you show me the ropes man.....

Well its been raining every single day here in JB.. I guess we better call off even the semi slicks installations!!!

BTW... watch out for PAUL!! He's out there to take a medal back to Singapore!! https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/wink.gif alt='wink.gif' />
[snapback]876026[/snapback]​
[/quote]

Yo bro,
Sorry for the late reply but have a setback. A tree jumped in front of me while I was autocrossing in Shah Alam :lol: . Costed my Bumper,Condensor and bent the radiator.But driver's all well...hehe :)
So am busy repairing the car to make it to Johor to meet you guys.
Cant show you the ropes to autocross but can show u the tree I bumped.. :P

Does it rain in the mornings in JB?

The MRS are very nimble and fast cars so I think you shouldnt have a problem with the small course..But I'll try not to dissapoint Paul with some resistance from my SW20(Big Potato) for the Medal...hehe :rolleyes: :lol:

Besides 3S-GTE and 2ZZ-FE, you can also drop a 1MZ-FE 3.0 V6, or maybe 2GR-FE 3.5 V6 (280ps!!!).

Originally posted by -e f i n i-@Apr 12 2005, 15:37
anyway... koolspyda, do you accept any questions in this thread? I have a lot of questions/oppinions bout MRS..

wha efini, so many questions. but very lengthy to post all one shot.

in short, all known intercooler piping for MRS are on the rear or bottom or top mounted.

Hope you dont mind I will be digging some pix of the questions you ask but it will take about a week or more. (been tight with work and pix are lying around in some disk.)

OR

there will be several sightings of topless mrs at sri hatamas tonite (8pm onwards) :lol:

don feel free to drop by to catch B) some topless rides :P

Originally posted by MK84@Apr 13 2005, 02:20
Besides 3S-GTE and 2ZZ-FE, you can also drop a 1MZ-FE 3.0 V6, or maybe 2GR-FE 3.5 V6 (280ps!!!).
[snapback]892129[/snapback]​

yes MK is correct , if money is no object getting a 1MZ -FE 3.0 V6 is waaay much better than to force 300HP out of 2ZZGE. (There is a trial celica in USA has its figure there or close to it)

One chap (Blitzo) in US has the 3.0 V6 on the MRS. And Brad MR2 V6 king (aka overboost) is toying with that the the future. (it only a matter of time one is crazy enough to slap a V8 :blink: )

torque is the key here and no matter what a V6 is V6. smooth and B)

and uhhh, if money is no object, the fastest regional MRS are currently down south.

this weekend see what obsene (means 'drools' la) mods currently on MRS. and they are only halfway....

from boosting 1.5 bar cars and fast lightning yellow. from AP racing to rotoras!!!

sigh.... i wish i had more pocket marney. Malaysia lawan Singapore!!

Ben, johnson, colin, myself , (siapa lagi?) team MRS malaysia

Mickey, MK84, ray, Team MR2 malaysia

Originally posted by koolspyda@Apr 13 2005, 12:47
and uhhh, if money is no object, the fastest regional MRS are currently down south.

this weekend see what obsene (means 'drools' la) mods currently on MRS. and they are only halfway....

from boosting 1.5 bar cars and fast lightning yellow. from AP racing to rotoras!!!

sigh.... i wish i had more pocket marney. Malaysia lawan Singapore!!

Ben, johnson, colin, myself , (siapa lagi?) team MRS malaysia

Mickey, MK84, ray, Team MR2 malaysia
[snapback]893112[/snapback]​

Well... the 1.3 bar boosted MRS not playin.. engine still runnin in!!

Basiccally we're just there for the big meetup & to have some fun under the sun!! If got time we'll chill out in the night at some watering holes & probably go makan makan at some seafood joint....

So Pls any of you come down here... pls bug me its a pleasure!! ;)

Originally posted by GTI4740@Apr 12 2005, 09:19
Guys,

[snapback]889270[/snapback]​

Within RM10k of engine mods, guages & some braces - you'll probably be around 200 - 250 wrp on a 950kg platform!!

Very Very Very Nippy... the guys in Sin are smokin the some evo's, scoobies & Porsche Boxter... (rolling start not included, must launch from standstill)
Only problem with the 5 speed MRs is the top speed... tops only around 200kmh
If theres a choice i would opt for the 2003 6 speed for better top speed.

Bro!! I'll need to wear pampers just in case then... Never done autocross before!! Hope you show me the ropes man.....

Well its been raining every single day here in JB.. I guess we better call off even the semi slicks installations!!!

BTW... watch out for PAUL!! He's out there to take a medal back to Singapore!! https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/wink.gif alt='wink.gif' />
[snapback]876026[/snapback]​

Yo bro,
Sorry for the late reply but have a setback. A tree jumped in front of me while I was autocrossing in Shah Alam https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/laugh.gif alt='laugh.gif' /> . Costed my Bumper,Condensor and bent the radiator.But driver's all well...hehe https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif alt='smile.gif' />
So am busy repairing the car to make it to Johor to meet you guys.
Cant show you the ropes to autocross but can show u the tree I bumped.. https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/tongue.gif alt='tongue.gif' />

Does it rain in the mornings in JB?

The MRS are very nimble and fast cars so I think you shouldnt have a problem with the small course..But I'll try not to dissapoint Paul with some resistance from my SW20(Big Potato) for the Medal...hehe https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/rolleyes.gif alt='rolleyes.gif' /> https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/laugh.gif alt='laugh.gif' />
[snapback]892047[/snapback]​
[/quote]

The mornings in JB is really Sunny.... rain falls towards mid day onwards..

OmG!! you really nailed a tree bro!! you've gotta tell me how you got in that situation..... once your down here!!

BTW.. the carpark at Danga bay is big with no trees around... pretty uneven terrain but not much gravel lyin around...

ANY IDEA ON HOW THE LAYOUT OF SSo1.5??

Cheers!!

haahah koolspyda... peninsular so happening... over here at east msia.. sigh drag race got la... the rest.. sigh...
wish i could go and see those topless babies.. but sigh cant...

this is a pic of an front mount i/c of which its piping goes thru the cabin...
[attachmentid=47694]