Toyota stock head light cleaning

• Fixed New Thread missing Editor: Hi Everyone, the issue with posting a new thread or a reply that shows a missing editor has been fixed. More updates to the forums will be added on in the coming days, we apologize for the inconveniece this has caused

richardtan

Dear Sifus,

My stock 2006 Vios headlights seem to have dirt in the interior of the plastic? or glass? cover. Its making the headlights look dull and dirty and its very prominent.

May I know how this hazy/fogy thingy can be cleaned away? It looks like moisture got into the cover. I have never opened up a headlight before.

Hope to hear advice from you. :adore:

Best regards
Richard Tan

I think one of our member Blackhowling did it before last time on his friends toyota. But i forgot under which category he put it in. I just remember he used silicone glue to attach back the headlight assembly. Fine 2000 grit sandpaper and car polish to work on the external clouded screen.

U can can Redzone in Sunway ( They do advetised in Motortrader)
I sprayed and clean my AE101 second headlights there.
They will seal it will silicone to stop leakage.
charge from 100 to 150 RM depend on car I think.
for outer cover, you can got to brother and get KWS headlight cleaner RM8.50 a bottle
Hope it useful Info..

can DIY one...

1) 2000 grade sand paper...rub it with water
2) polish material...any polish material can do...ie: autosol, kit wax or those kind of body paint workshop use to make your paint shinier...

P/S : this only work for AE101 model and above...due to plastic head lamp...AE92 and below using Glass headlamp...glass don't fade... :D

clue ! - youtube...

--- before ---
IMG_3821.jpg

--- after ---

IMG_3822.jpg

already done to my friend ae111 headlamp with my both hand..but not so efffective..hmm.maybe need to use polish machine..

2000 grade sandpaper followed by 2.5k grade sp. touch up w 3k if possible. final i use meguiars clear plastic polish http://meguiarsdirect.com/detail/MEG+M1008

I also want to do this due to my AE111 light bcome yellowish...
Bro Ahaw you use Meguiars clear plastic by hand or machine?:hmmmm: Hows the result? Satisfied or acceptable?

thank you:wavey:

Find this thing called Autosol Plastic cleaner. Its magic i tell ya.

Where u get the autosol plastic cleaner? i know the autosol is like toothpaste look and with gold n black color, is it this type of autosol is wat u mention about "Autosol Plastic cleaner". Can u show the photo of autosol n ur light done?

Just bought the 2000 grade sandpaper, but the 2.5k grade n 3k grade sand paper very hard to find, i had goto about 5 hardware shop... any idea where can find it?

thank you

I have used Autosol Plastic cleaner on my dashboard meters and it can remove small scratches. But its not tough enough to clean weathered headlights. U still need to combo it with fine sandpaper. Grade 2000 sandpaper can be found at ACE hardware. Provided they still have stock. I have never seen 2.5-3K before. 2K is very fine already for these projects.

The fastest way is by using brake fluid! I tried it on a an old Kia Spectra (Yes the one always with badly fogged up lamp one). U just need an old rag dip a little brake fluid and rub on the lights. You can immediately see the yellow stuff come off. Wash with water, the screen is blurred. No u need to finish it with either Autosol Plastic cleaner or car polish. This method is the definitely the fastest.

But no one wants to use it because they scared the plastic lamps would be spoilt. Well the news is, thinning of plastics still occur with sandpaper and water with whatever finishing chemical u use.

Bro Netmatrix

Normally we can find is Autosol Metal cleaner which i mentioned look like toothpaste with gold n black color, its ec to find at every hardware shop... but for the Autosol Plastic cleaner, where can get? How its look n how much in market?

Thank you

Bro Netmatrix

Normally we can find is Autosol Metal cleaner which i mentioned look like toothpaste with gold n black color, its ec to find at every hardware shop... but for the Autosol Plastic cleaner, where can get? How its look n how much in market?

Thank you

i think ACE hardware shop and eneos can get it...
other than that, i cant imagine where can get it...lolz

Many hardware shop should sell it bro. Just tell them Sand paper 2000.

Yes.. the 2000 grade sand paper can find at many hardware shop..but the Autosol Plastic Cleaner where can find? Any body can tell me??

Thank you:wavey:

Yes.. the 2000 grade sand paper can find at many hardware shop..but the Autosol Plastic Cleaner where can find? Any body can tell me??

Thank you:wavey:

Dude, autosol plastic cleaner also can get from ACE hardware,
i just bought 1 tube last month, from ACE hardware Sunway Pyramid, .
autosol-plastic-cleaner.jpg

Dude, autosol plastic cleaner also can get from ACE hardware,
i just bought 1 tube last month, from ACE hardware Sunway Pyramid, .
autosol-plastic-cleaner.jpg

Yoh Bro...

thanks your info...

thank you :adore::adore: