Toyota vs FD2R

2 Old 2 Rusty

Just curious to know if anyone had tested their Toyota against the Honda Civic Type R (FD2R) or DC5.

Please share your results. Is the FD2R as fast as they claim or is it over rated ?

• Toyota-Honda.jpg
    Toyota-Honda.jpg
    52.9 KB · Views: 747
Last edited by a moderator:
i think they are over rated ! my toyota beats them hands down !

p/s: er....in what context are you comparing those cars though?

Which model of Toyota are you comparing with FD2R or DC5 bro? :biggrin:

Any model la coz not very serious comparison; meaning like you met on the road, play2 like that lor.

What model are you using, bro ? Comparison in terms of performance lor.

I don't mean to offend any Honda owners. This is just a light talk kok syok2 topic only.:biggrin:

if u do stock to stock comparison FD2R and DC5 are quick cars...compared to Toyota.
Main issue with most toyota is bodyweight... The type R are road going lightened race cars so
hard to do direct comparison. In my books both T&H are equally good just different priorty.:proud:

wont offend ler... no one is bashing, healthy and mature discussion is fine i suppose.

if ya talking about performance, my toyota is not performance oriented la..

but the ft-86 is hot ! i want one when it comes...that is if it ever find its way here... hahahaha....

i miss my nissan and i love vtecs, and i bloody like to drive my toyota... hahaha

p/s, true to body weights !

---------- Post added at 12:53 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:53 PM ----------

fan kuat zai

ur head ! =p

Type R are track ready from the factory, compared to most toyotas which are for road only. Even 2.0 vs 2.0, altezza vs fd2r, toyota cant win

hhmm....me also think Honda are over rated.....in terms of fuel consumption...Toyota really beats them hands down heheheheh

Hi, my brother use a K20 powered Honda Es. But his engine not type R one. Although not type R, after driving experience with his car (not ever race side by side) the engine quite powerful. On LDP hiway he can get to speed cut which 180 km/h at day light. The point is his car can easily get to 180 km/h in a short distance.
And for other story, I can drive his car at 150-160 km/h at gua musang-kuala krai road, which I only dare to drive my SEG up to 140 km/h only at that road.

Although I think his car already powerful, but always lost to B series engine :banghead:

That's a story for K20 non type R. For Type R, it totally different story.

if we talk about engine, as i know, so far no 2.0 n/a production engine can beat this K20A type R. the closest rival so far maybe the F4R730 engine from Renault Clio RS 200.

I agree with that. Toyota seems not interested in producing performance car like Honda do. Maybe they want to concerntrate on producing daily driven economy/family car to stay as a no 1 car production company all over the world. You have to find old model of Toyota or other model like Clio to compare with FD2R or DC5...

FD2R is king of FWD 2.0 N/A,best FWD car come out from japan ....even it can give subaru owners a hard time in the twisties,straight of course turbo win..

if toyota wanna beat FD2R, i think it needs a light body.. such as AE111 and a 3S-GE (if u wanna play fair :biggrin:)

and tune it to d max.. CAI, IHE, port polish, cams, engine balance, suspension, etc, etc..

just an opinion :biggrin:

last year still remember at trafficlight at (Masjid area..Satar Area) to Kemaman..from KL ..My old AE111 with one DC5 (never know him) just otw back to hometown around 4.40a.m. side by side at traffic light..
when light come green..
1st gear almost same
2nd gear little bit..
3rd gear half body
4th & 5th you go first la..ha ha ha

Here what's i found at hachiroku.com.au. It's not k20 type r but it's f20c.

"Apart from the fact its the worlds most powerful mass produced 4cyl N/A engine, and makes more power per cubic centimetre (CC) than any other engine! 250hp (175kw) 9500rpm redline, a sweet shifting 6sp gearbox and a glorious VTEC note!"

Fortunately F20c is RWD, if it is FWD I'm sure most of vtec will be using this engine.