Transplanted engine vs Speedometer

i'll probably consider that further down the road, gonna research more and understand what i might possibly get into first. for now, needa get the car outa workshop running smoothly again, save cash for coilovers and paint job, then only back into the engine bay again.. if all goes well :bebored:

Yup, take is slowly, a step at a time.....:smokin:

just swung by the workshop to check on my car earlier, ala this time is a bleeding one. my mechanic removed the cylinder head to check on the valves, found out:

1. one inlet valve is broken
2. one inlet valve guide is broken
3. cylinder head water vents (unsure bout term) has chipped off so need to weld and sand

also shown to me are my piston heads, one of it particularly has bad dents on it caused by the valves but i forgot to snap a pix.. more problems uncovered! :banghead:

• image (2).jpeg
    image (2).jpeg
    107.7 KB · Views: 167
  • image (3).jpeg
    image (3).jpeg
    133.6 KB · Views: 175
your car were running lean... revving at redline a lot without any tuning done?

i probably revved it to redline in 2 or 3 occasions the past month, don't usually rev hard since always caught in traffic.

nope i haven't gotten it tuned since the purchase last year, if not never. running lean means too much air too little fuel? what should i do?? im helpless here :s:

just swung by the workshop to check on my car earlier, ala this time is a bleeding one. my mechanic removed the cylinder head to check on the valves, found out:

3. cylinder head water vents (unsure bout term) has chipped off so need to weld and sand

also shown to me are my piston heads, one of it particularly has bad dents on it caused by the valves but i forgot to snap a pix.. more problems uncovered! :banghead:

Valve spring broken, so valve went further in and got hit by piston. Valve broken so is valve guide and water vent chip probably due to broken valve.
Yah! right side looks running lean as valve are grey already, but the broken valve side so oily??

all of this because of one broken valve spring. how in the hell did you break a valve spring. Those things you broke are all relatively 'cheap' to replace.

And what is this cylinder head water vent?

all of this because of one broken valve spring. how in the hell did you break a valve spring. Those things you broke are all relatively 'cheap' to replace.

The water channels that runs along side the cylinder and through the head. I think one part got chipped and needs welding and sanding

i probably revved it to redline in 2 or 3 occasions the past month, don't usually rev hard since always caught in traffic.

nope i haven't gotten it tuned since the purchase last year, if not never. running lean means too much air too little fuel? what should i do?? im helpless here :s:

first...clean your MAF sensor first

i really have no idea how the spring broke, other parts could've been damaged while on the way to the workshop. not sure bout the term but it is as bro vr2turbo described, the water holes positioned along the side of cylinder head. will update a pix later :itsme:

The water channels that runs along side the cylinder and through the head. I think one part got chipped and needs welding and sanding

yes that's it!

first...clean your MAF sensor first

ok will get to it and come back with result, thanks! but first i needa get it running again :smokin:

i really have no idea how the spring broke, other parts could've been damaged while on the way to the workshop. not sure bout the term but it is as bro vr2turbo described, the water holes positioned along the side of cylinder head. will update a pix later :itsme:

Seen many type of damage at my mechanic shop. Overheat until cylinder become 0 shape, pitted block in between 2 cylinders, hair line crack in cylinder head and etc...The worse was a Mercedes engine, owner never change oil until turn to sludge and can pick up like grease....:banghead::banghead:

:puke::puke::puke:

yes that's it!

ok will get to it and come back with result, thanks! but first i needa get it running again :smokin:

btw i think the root cause of your engine problem is broken valve spring due to high revving...then the retainer came loose and valve dropped and hit by piston.....

bcoz if the problem due to lean AFR....the exhaust valve should the one that broken... (high egt and exhaust valve weaken due to heat)

:egg: that, is some nasty cases of cylinder damage, those drivers really took it to a new level! and not to be set as examples :stupid:

attached is a picture of what i was referring to

• image (4).jpeg
    image (4).jpeg
    138.2 KB · Views: 194
btw i think the root cause of your engine problem is broken valve spring due to high revving...then the retainer came loose and valve dropped and hit by piston.....

bcoz if the problem due to lean AFR....the exhaust valve should the one that broken... (high egt and exhaust valve weaken due to heat)

funny thing is when i was at the spare part shop, even the boss asked how did i break the valve spring, this time is said it's my nuisance :biggrin: other damages are pretty much collateral.. sigh

lemme get this right first, AFR = air fuel ratio, EGT = exhaust heat? what do i do after this? cos obviously something is wrong with my engines timing or tuning?:banghead:

funny thing is when i was at the spare part shop, even the boss asked how did i break the valve spring, this time is said it's my nuisance :biggrin: other damages are pretty much collateral.. sigh

lemme get this right first, AFR = air fuel ratio, EGT = exhaust heat? what do i do after this? cos obviously something is wrong with my engines timing or tuning?:banghead:

check your afr atleast using a wideband o2 meter...

as for fuel enrichment (in case really running lean) u can try install adjustable fuel regulator and increase the base fuel pressure from 3.5bar to 4bar as a base (after maf cleaning and general engine health check and wideband check)

If really running lean better fix it, because my friend blew his engine just because of that.....:rolleyes:

check your afr atleast using a wideband o2 meter...

as for fuel enrichment (in case really running lean) u can try install adjustable fuel regulator and increase the base fuel pressure from 3.5bar to 4bar as a base (after maf cleaning and general engine health check and wideband check)

got it, i have a fuel regulator so i'll get to that. as suggested:

- clean MAF sensor > wideband check > fuel pressure?

If really running lean better fix it, because my friend blew his engine just because of that.....:rolleyes:

argh shucks, i don't wanna have that kinda risk. so i'll do as recommended :nurse:

thanks sifus!