turbo map sensor

140dB

hello people,

i'm looking for a stock map sensor from a stock turbo car.

the pressure input should accept a rubber hose instead of bolting on to intake manifold (like stock 4g13/15 mmc ecu)

i found some from daihatsu L200 etc but all of them bolts on to the intake manifold.

fyi, i want to use it to replace the TPS input on my emanage wif a map output, and tune according to boost rather than TPS.

i know mutiara sells the emanage map sensor that fits my requirements for rm330. but i want to get a cheaper alternative from chop shop.....

so sifus? any suggestion on what car model map to look for?

If not mistaken, E-manage's map sensor merely activates the AIC upon sign of postivie manifold pressure and you still won't be able to fine tune according to boost pressure

RM300++ for a new sensor is quite reasonable.

I'd would not gamble on a used chop shop map sensor (which might relay inaccurate signals to the PLC)

Saving a hundred or so on a map sensor but spending a few thousand later from a blow engine.

You do the math.

Aic???

Yo,

Thx for the reply,

but whats AIC???
as far as i know the emanage sensor is 3 bar sensor but still allow some tuning below boost....

no tuning below boost???? i am going to replace the TPS input wif a MAP sensor wif typical output of 0-5V.....which is most map sensor of turbo cars operate....so the emanage wont kow if its TPS or MAP.....haha...hope u understand...if u dont..nvm...i will try it out then let u know...

btw, emanage map sensor is 3 bar map which will activate the ignition, additional injector and sub injector map for tuning according to boost pressure. the problem is...it is 3 bar map sensor..so tuning resolution is quite limited to those who are low pressure turbo!!!......the map for pressure sensor is 0-5V...which means 0V=vacuum and 5V =3bar....if i tune for max 0.5bar is quite low resolution.....

used chop shop sensor is say rm20....or maybe even free...mutiara sell for rm330....my block cost only rm 250....hahahahaha 4g13 mah....so can test...no prob....can work or cannot i let u know.....hahahah....

tq anyway..

hope u understand...

btw

thx anyway....

aaa... MR. Joeker... If we using the Microtech MT 2/4 , can get a fine tuned?
Inside the ECU box also got the boost sensor rite.

I'm not E-manage user.

At one point in time, I seriously considered using it. So researched about it and read about its specs.

E-manage is based on tps vs. rpm. The auxilary map sensor merely signals the E-manage's plc to fire-up the AICs.

THereafter, the AIC duty cycled is tuned based on rpm also.

So therefore, e-manage does not allow fuel regulating based on manifold pressure.

if i'm not mistaken, e-manage map sensor is use when you overrun your AFM... if you boost too high, your AFM readings might not accurate anymore.. by using the map sensor, you can peg the AFM signal to a certain point than after that the map sensor take over... you can tune your main injector and sub injector as usual...

help!

yo joeker,

you still havent abbreviated AIC for me...

There are two cases where u can use and external map sensor for tuning based on boost vs rpm.

1> The "correct" way - u buy the greddy map sensor for rm330 and harness for rm260 = rm590.. you select the option for greddy pressure sensor in setup...you will have the extra injection map, sub injector map and ignition map based on RPM vs pressure sensor (you will have to select the vertical axis manually to greddy pressure sensor)....to reduce fuel u use the airflow map....which does not map according to greddy pressure sensor....just TPS vs RPM

2> The cheapskate way - u buy a turbo map sensor from chopshop which has 0-5V output. substitute the TPS input on emanage for map...ahaha and then u can trick the emanage to tune based on boost.....

regards

Wiring up a greddy pressure sensor has its own problems. The best way is to is as 140db suggested. Get a turbo map sensor and wire it to the TPS input. That way you can tune fuel base on pressure load for turbo cars. On the emanage there is a correct way to tune turbo car based on the TPS airflow system. This system is used in Ferarri F40 original ECU :)

The japanese Greddy made the emanage, they have a reason why the airflow map is tuned based on TPS.

If you mount a map sensor on the 3 pin harness you still cannot tune the airflow map based on pressure.

AIC = additional injector control

this lead 1 more question. is most map sensor universal and suits most car?

normality78,
You quote :
"this lead 1 more question. is most map sensor universal and suits most car?"

I should say "YES" ( Arm move up and down )

Because of its simplicity and cheap.

Prof,

I was thinking to change my stock map to one that detects boost (yours) and remap using emanage. u think thats advisable?

i will measure the stock map o/p voltages and see if it may work...

everything now is working fine, just afraid the stock map may die on me. so thinking of getting another one of yours....

140db,

Bro, the scale or voltage is totally out.

Let say on atm pressure, the stock map ( Mitsubishi) output is 4.0v, but for my map output is 2.25v.( When max boost 1.5 BAr, will be say 4.9 V )
You can try on Toyota, any NA will do. ( output is 3.7V ).You can get from "Potong Kereta" shop. Off cause, you can order this one, MPX4100AP from Motorola or try Megasquirt Site.
So, you can use "the Blue" to do some scale there, and you can fine tune the engine.

Good Luck.

yup, i measure the voltages totally out.

i will try a 1 way aquarium valve n ball valve bleed instead.

140db,
You quote :
"i will try a 1 way aquarium valve n ball valve bleed instead."

From here, i guest you have engine check light on when boost come on,right.

Or, you mean you need some thing like "boost cut defencer" in order no check light on,right!

May be i can help here.

not really prof.

i clamped my map output using emanage boost cut feature. no ECL during boost.

the real concern is ECL when light cruising around. even before boosting around.
i have a few theories

1>i detuned my map output using the blue. stock works on 160cc (i think) to 240cc. maybe the ecu thinks there must be something wrong cos map output so low. but then ECL will dissapear after a while. all driving is perfect even wif ECL on. weird.

2>maybe my stock map semi kaput from all the boosting. dats y i wanna try the aquarium thingy. mechanical 'intervention' maybe works best for me heheh

3>maybe the ignition signal output from the blue not enough level or too high. i basically used the 5V o/p setting without measuring the actual ign levels. it worked and i never looked back. besides, the ECL never light on when i was still NA. and i was running the blue while NA for few months without ECL light on.