4g13 turbo tuning

hello fellow turbo 4g13,

boost by 3krpm, but 4psi only by 4.5krpm?

sounds like ur turbo kong liau.

or ur wastgate cannot properly shut liau. or maybe ur wastegate too tight so ur mech have to set it to shut loosely. u need a new low pressure wastegate then.

4psi is damn low for ur setup. 4psi should be around 0.25 bar or so. by 4.5krpm im getting 0.6bar or roughly 8~9psi.

thanks for replying. I am not too sure myself. How do you check whether the turbo kong already? Really a newbie in this.

hi there,

i got ur msg, will be replying here.

for your problem, i suggest u go to speedworks, jb. best auto techs there....

back from settling all the engine related gremlins and da dyno pitz.....

latest mods-

4g15 block, shaved stock pistons, head pnp, 2mm copper/graphite head gasket, stock cams, stock block, rxz ngk bp8es plugs.
ceramic/copper double diaphragm ae86 custom clutch from brian brclutch (Yo the firewall is flexing!)
same other stuff from my previous setup (except the cams)...

results - 133whp at 6krpm, 213Nm engine torque. boosting 0.77bar

the hp figure is kinda pathetic, cos i made the same amount of power wif my 1.3 block. only this time the max power comes earlier by 1000rpm , now my peak power is at about 5.5k-6krpm.

with this small little turbo and the stock cams, im getting full boost by about 2400rpm! by 1.5krpm, turbo spooling already. it almost feels like a bigger na or a supercharged engine i guess. i guess those days of feeling so sick of turbo lag and hi-cam lag is over......however the turbo can only support 0.75bar boost till about 6krpm before running out of air.....thats a full 1000rpm short of the stock ecu revcut. looking at the dyno curves however shows the torque after 5krpm slowly declining. this is normal for stock cams....

i made a simple o2 sensor piggy which switches the o2 sensor output through a pot during boost so u can adjust part throttle a/f mixtures. part throttle boosting is so easy with this turbo i really get quite paranoid seeing my a/f ratio dancing around while boosting part throttle....

u need a better tuned ecu,standard ecu cant give u proper injection time for the forced induction n need a higher range afs coz standard afs can only detect certain range of air intake more than its specs it goes haywire then ur air-fuel ratio will go gila if ur runnin lean ur gona kong ur engine soon so better u start playing wit fully programable ecu system jst like motec play n/a la main ngan valve timing lagi seronok than turbo

maybe u can start reading this thread from the beginning b4 shouting out motec or wutever ecu that u can think off..

140dB is running on E-Manage..

wah emanage dats cun sory im half way in didnt know that its runnin emanage all the way keep me updated

hmm....i dyno tuned again for 0.8 a/f versus 0.85 and lost very little power, but for added 'insurance' hehe... this time the dyno rolled out 218Nm at 0.8bar woot... but and interesting story for u guys during the dyno session....

actually the engine was detonating and the car having crazy wheelspins the night before thats why i decided to go retune. turned out my xtra injector connector came loose and the wgate hose too!!!. it was actually detonating at 1plus bar of boost cos those areas werent mapped on emanage..i was holding the engine at 1 bar of boost @ 2400rpm and the torque was something like 230+Nm before realizing that the boost was higher already. crazy shit. this 4g15 is kinda tough too...

hi m1adam,

play n/a la main ngan valve timing lagi seronok than turbo

i have to seriouly disagree wif you on this. im making more torque than a b18c or 4age or most sub 2.0 hi po na engine.a seriously modded b18 wif a b20 bottom end and hi comp pistons still make a bit less torque than this engine. just that i run out of rpms much much more quickly heheh. still, a genting style uphill battle wif any most na's would result in...heheh..u know the feeling of blasting by an na in 4th or 5th gear uphill...or even on the straights...

wah lotsa torque ur 4g15 rili will beat the shit out of lotsa powa engine,n/a feeling is not the same as turbocharged hi revving lets c in da straights memang u powa tink of longer straights and longer laps lets c who will last the most premature engine blow,dnt marah k i jst main2 je bt ur mod is rili extreme to an old desined engined bt niways its a job well done it why dont u post some videos so we can c and hear the torque monsta 4g15

m1adam,

true any turbo engine lasts shorter than an na engine making the same power.
just tooo bad i dont have the funds to get myself an EK wif a b18c.

thats why im putting a thread here to see how to properly tune up this crappy turbo 4g1x ...with as little money as possible too. u can always share your tuning tips n trix here. better still if its DIY and free(well almost).

wif my last 4g13 block, i did kl-jb-kl quite few times all about 2.5 hours one way, 140kmh min....no problem....untill i decided to screw wif the tuning...one hot day, full load, lean mixtures spell trouble for any turbo engine. oh and FYI, my FC for a 2 hr one way kl-jb trip was less than 26litres or rm50 of fuel.

vtec screaming at 5.5krpm, but i make same tork at 2k+rpm....tat also a factor for engine durability....

i not saying my 4g15 is a durable engine, its actually crap. just trying to get it to its limits.

take care yah

yup ur certainly rite bout that but why dont u post some vids you tube on ur engine would like to c the mods u have done im certainly interested in ur mods

which part of my mods are u interested in?

pictures n vids wont say much.

everything jst wana c how a turbocharged a 4g15 performs maybe a sprint vid will do and pictures of ur engine

4g13 turbo

em.. hi every 1//first time visit this web side.. n i meet some technical problem when setting up my wira 1.3 turbo.. the car start to knocking when boost.. i know i not yet buy the emanage system..

i would like to ask si fu that how to do the e manage set up?? n where can i get it cheap..is that only conect the main harness .or need to buy the ignition harness n injector harness...:shades_smile:

better get emanage b4 u blow up ur engine

n1 selling for rm1k new w/o install. the harnesses u can diy bro.

being a piggy u need every damn harness u can hook up to ur engine/ecu. heheh. better get a map sensor also.

good luck

thx

thx brother.. 1 more question aaa... hehe.. u mean map sensor. should i replace the old 1 or just add the additional positive displacement map sensor.... i remember first time i start the engine... without e manage.. i believe the stock map sensor didnt work with absolude pressure beyond 1 bar.. the i "cook" my ecu...

mind to ask u ... u r working as a automotive engineer or ..?? u seem so geng de...

thx brother.. 1 more question aaa... hehe.. u mean map sensor. should i replace the old 1 or just add the additional positive displacement map sensor.... i remember first time i start the engine... without e manage.. i believe the stock map sensor didnt work with absolude pressure beyond 1 bar.. the i "cook" my ecu...

mind to ask u ... u r working as a automotive engineer or ..?? u seem so geng de...

u either buy or diy a map sensor so that emanage tune by boost.

yes the stock sensor is at max o/p ot 0bar. so u put a 1 way valve tee into the map sensor line to release excess pressure. or u can use the emanage boost cut feature. i kiasu so use both.

im no auto engineer.

ky_fei
so hws every1 4g13/4g15 turbo goin on !! i gonna boost 1 bar soon =)

hey bro go for it. i was running with a loose wastegate hose the other day boosting 1+ bar. wheels spinning on 2nd and 3rd..but heavy detonation after 4krpm due to improper mapping and over boosting. i was holding 1 bar @ 2400rpm on the dyno before i realised the wgate hose was loose.
i think this engine can take it, just make sure enuff fuelling

good luck