Tyre 185 60 R14 and 195 60 R14 (Different?)

anthonyst46c

Dear Expert and Senior,

I owned a 14 inch Sport Rim and currently i am using 185 60 R14 size tyre, my tyre are now await 2 be change.

I planned 2 change it to 195 60 R14 size which i think my car will be more stable and comfort to be handled.

Any suggestion or opinion from you? for instance.
1) The different between 185 and 195?
2) Stability in cornering..
3) Which one may consuming more engine power especially when picking up and uphill...
4) Then speed? Running by 185 and 195 different or same??

Thank You so Much! :smile:

i dunno la.. but i beg to differ your qoute.

if width of the wheel maintain, while the tyre width is increase, the tyre actually bulges, so, therez actually more rolling, i dont think it will make it more stable, unless u opt for a wider wheel, or a harder sidewall tyres.

Aspect Ratio

http://www.tyres-online.co.uk/images/mar00/aspect.gif
http://www.tyres-online.co.uk/images/mar00/ratio.gif
Often referred to as the profile or series, the aspect ratio of a tyre is determined by dividing a tyre's section height by its section width when the tyre is inflated to its maximum recommended air pressure, mounted on the approved measuring rim, and under no loading.
Aspect ratio is the ratio of a tyre's width to it's height. A 70 series tyre, therefore, is a tyre whose height is equal to 70% of its width. Lower Profile Tyres hence have lower series numbers.

The lower aspect ratio responds to lateral force more effectively than a tyre with a higher aspect ratio. The aspect ratio affects steering stability. Generally, the shorter the sidewall, or the lower the aspect ratio, the less time it takes to transmit the steering input from the wheel to the tread. The result is quicker steering response.

http://www.yokohama.co.nz/Assets/flex_graphic.gif

Aspect ratio also affects the tread contact patch. As a rule, a low profile tyre produces a wider tread contact patch. This wider tread contact patch creates a stiffer footprint that reduces distortion and provides improved cornering traction. Aspect ratio also impacts ride. A low profile tyre usually has a stiffer ride than the standard aspect ratio of 75 or more.

courtesy of (twinturbo) member in GVRC.

its tyre width.

185 has 185mm width, the 195 is self explanatory.

with wider width, it will directly affect the aspect ratio as ehaab mentioned.

for 14" wheel, 195 size is not so popular even though more comfortable.

Wah. TQ very much!
so much Knowledge that i still have to learn from all Sifu here..
By the way, izit any tyre size 195 with section height 55? as i seen currently was 195 60 R14...
If i choose to using 195 width tyre, which brand are best recommended?
seems like Dunlop and Good Year not so bad..
the price were rank about Rm 160 to Rm 200.. izit expensive?

anthonyst46c said:
Wah. TQ very much!
so much Knowledge that i still have to learn from all Sifu here..
By the way, izit any tyre size 195 with section height 55? as i seen currently was 195 60 R14...
If i choose to using 195 width tyre, which brand are best recommended?
seems like Dunlop and Good Year not so bad..
the price were rank about Rm 160 to Rm 200.. izit expensive?

if wan beter use 185/55/r14 or 185/50/r14...

try hankook not bad la....normal one is rm140-160 per piece if not mistaken (Hankook HR II)..silent and normal ride is ok.... if wan beter then get Hankkok medium range rm150-200...or stil not satisfy..get the High range one....but expensive..hehe

if stability is the main issue, why dont u just upgrade to 15" wheels then?

it may affect performance if the car doesnt have more than 100bhp. he he but it will definitely improve handling, making driving more enjoyable and more predictable.

my 2 cents... :D