using other g/box with standard gsr

• Fixed New Thread missing Editor: Hi Everyone, the issue with posting a new thread or a reply that shows a missing editor has been fixed. More updates to the forums will be added on in the coming days, we apologize for the inconveniece this has caused

wildboar

heheh...more gsr related questions...

wats the benefits of using 2wd g/box instead of using the locked gsr g/box?? no power loss cos its fwd...anything else??

wat types of manual g/box is best if i like acceleration (but preferably not lost too much top end)?? but also must consider fuel consumption...so gear ratios also play a role...had a ride in a gsr using wira 2.0 diesel g/box...yummy....who has changed to 2wd g/box?? care to share ur experience??

cheers...

im not a gsr user but then im using my standard 1.3 F5M21 gearbox , standard 1.3 driveshaft and coupled with the vr4 engine on my iswara.

why im using the 1.3 gb , cause its lighter , if pecah can get a replacement for a cheap price , if driveshaft patah also can go buy recond shaft for a cheap price . and any chokia mechanic know's how to handle .

problem with the gearbox cause the clutch is too big 9" clutch , so to make it fit into the standard gearbox need to skim off the belly housing or you can skim the clutch cover off . skiming the clutch cover off will lead to unbalance clutch if not done the correct way .

what i best recommend... use back the g/box that comes with the engine. I already have 2 frens use g/box kawin.. both of them g/box pecah..hancur into small pieces.

One fello use GSR with 1.8 putra g/box.. use less than 6months pecah already.. he is a frequent weekend sprinter.

Another fellow also GSR but with 1.6 g/box.. same case.. also pecah.

Me and my fren GSR with it's 4wd G/b locked.. use until now.. still ok.

wokay..advise taken...but just for my own knowledge...wats the downside of using locked 4wd g/box?? is the loss in power significant?? or just very minimal and un'feel'able??

Originally posted by ezwong2002@Jul 26 2004, 10:48 AM
what i best recommend... use back the g/box that comes with the engine. I already have 2 frens use g/box kawin.. both of them g/box pecah..hancur into small pieces.

One fello use GSR with 1.8 putra g/box.. use less than 6months pecah already.. he is a frequent weekend sprinter.

Another fellow also GSR but with 1.6 g/box.. same case.. also pecah.

Me and my fren GSR with it's 4wd G/b locked.. use until now.. still ok.
hehe my car is a 1996 model , trash it kau kau aready before transplant , and still using back the same gearbox , its 7 years old and its been 1 year ++ using that gearbox with the vr4 engine , so far no problem's . i donno how your friend drive , maybe they drive like bull ? :lol: . cause i know quite a number of people using their standard 1.3 gb and the way they trash like there is no tomorrow , trust me , they really dunk the clutch & slam the gears , memang drive like bull . i never drive like that but then it really surprise me their gb is still intact without porblem's for years . :lol: anyway just sharing experience not arguing .

yalah ves... those fella trash their car like there is no tomorrow.. even i trash my car once in a while... but to be on the safer side mah.. i'm advising wildboar..i mean susah wanna resist the new found power mah.. sure trash the car 1... so buy half-cut oso..better use back the gb.