Waja amber diagnostic lamp going nuts

cmos

Hi all,

I need some help from any Zth sifus to help me track down this problem. I have a 2 and a half year old waja 1.6 (A).

Lately, the amber diagnostic lamp (the orange indicator on the dashboard which lights up, then goes off before you start your engine) keeps lighting up, then goes off after a while. At first I thought my battery going to kaput already so I changed to new one. But a week after that the diagnostic lamp go crazy again.

I'm really concerned about this coz if I'm not wrong, the indicator is to tell me that something is wrong with the engine. But it turns on and goes of as it please while I'm driving, so I'm not sure if it's a real problem or not.

Any other waja owners facing this problem?

Since u already changed the battery... could it be the alternator then?

Hmm... the alternator. Didn't think bout that. Will go ask my mech about this. Problem is it lights up intermittently. When I bring to workshop... it behaves... I hope it's nothing major...

My fren juz bought new waja a month ago. He facing problem both parking (P) and drive (D) light up during drive. After go to proton servis, the mechanic told him that the swicth is short when he wash his engine. Just need to open back (open what I not sure need to check with him) and put grease than ok already. ;)

Originally posted by cmos@Dec 8 2004, 15:54
Hi all,

I need some help from any Zth sifus to help me track down this problem. I have a 2 and a half year old waja 1.6 (A).

Lately, the amber diagnostic lamp (the orange indicator on the dashboard which lights up, then goes off before you start your engine) keeps lighting up, then goes off after a while. At first I thought my battery going to kaput already so I changed to new one. But a week after that the diagnostic lamp go crazy again.

I'm really concerned about this coz if I'm not wrong, the indicator is to tell me that something is wrong with the engine. But it turns on and goes of as it please while I'm driving, so I'm not sure if it's a real problem or not.

Any other waja owners facing this problem?
go for MUT diagnostic....

im afraid ur O2 or boost sensor go haywire...

Dude Rigid... what is an MUT diagnostic? Can help explain and also where I can get it done?

Sorry... I'm not too familiar with these technical terms... ;)

the light is ur indicator that there is an error occuring at one or more of your sensors throughout the engine. it could be just that the sensor failed, or that there is an error somewhere. you can go to an authorised Proton Edar service center. they should have a hand held unit which plugs into your car's ECU interface. this handheld device (its called an MUT in the older cars, not sure for waja) will highlight the error code and you can find out which sensor is producing that error code and fix that.

mind you all PE service centers are supposed to have this device. go to another service center if the one you currently go to has ignorant staff or simply dont have this device.

Originally posted by Kenboy@Dec 21 2004, 21:00
the light is ur indicator that there is an error occuring at one or more of your sensors throughout the engine. it could be just that the sensor failed, or that there is an error somewhere. you can go to an authorised Proton Edar service center. they should have a hand held unit which plugs into your car's ECU interface. this handheld device (its called an MUT in the older cars, not sure for waja) will highlight the error code and you can find out which sensor is producing that error code and fix that.

mind you all PE service centers are supposed to have this device. go to another service center if the one you currently go to has ignorant staff or simply dont have this device.
they still called it MUT

MUT-II

some got different model..but the function is the same..

its a handheld PC for diagnostic

Thanks for the explanation Kenboy and Rigid. I'll get it checked when I go for a major service early next month.

The diagnostic lamp is really driving me crazy. It lights up randomly... and this makes it hard to show the technician the problem cause when I bring it to the workshop, everything seems to be running ok. I wish there was some way to replicate the problem so that the technician can diagnose what's going on.

It could be nothing or mabbe just a sensor failure. But it really gives me a psychological fear to push the engine as hard as I want to... least risking damaging something. And that really sucks.