Water Filter system. Comment and comparison

BlackSamurai

9,000 RPM
Hi All,

I recently looking for water filtering system, both outdoor (P.O.E) and indoor. Any production you guys used currently and any comment you have?

I went to WaterBoss counter (@ Tesco Mutiara D'sara) for FilterFirst outdoor system (http://www.waterboss.com.my/), the salesman quoted me RM1680 (promotion price) + installation + few services (including free tanki washing). 10 years warranty for the body (the chasis) and 2 years warranty for the valve.

From the salesman explanation, I know that I'm spending RM1680 for a tank + a tank of fine sand to deliver better water, but the good thing about this system is that it's close zero maintenance fee for next 2 years (except that I may need to change the valve for RM250 2 years down the road)

PS: My area water comes to a critical level that I can't use it for normal bathing nor cloth washing. I spend a lot of money on mineral water for the past 1 year.

I know that Diamond offer the similar P.O.E. water filtering, the maintenance cost a bomb, my friend just removed the system and replace with cheaper system.

Guys, any comment?

Sorry, no salesman here.

my bro's house use the outdoor type.
s.steel. reverse flow/backwash type, with digital timer to do the backwash automatically or by user select time.
plumbing all pvc, even the valve is pvc plastic.

no problem so far. been used for 3 years +.

if not mistaken coz rm1k+.
brand im not sure.

my bro's house use the outdoor type.
s.steel. reverse flow/backwash type, with digital timer to do the backwash automatically or by user select time.
plumbing all pvc, even the valve is pvc plastic.

no problem so far. been used for 3 years +.

if not mistaken coz rm1k+.
brand im not sure.

hehe.........same type like my house i guess.:biggrin:

the WaterBoss salesman told me that the auto backwash machine along cost RM1K leh.

Digital Timer can last that long under our hot sun for years?
if price is just RM1k, I'm interested, mind find out what's the brand?

im an ex sales person for waterboss.
i will give you an honest answer,the filter is fine,and there are countless customers that pass by and never fails to drop by and tells how well it works.but the only problem would be its customer service.unless you could deal with the annoyance,why not?:P

i would say check out waterco,and also kinetico.their prices are along waterboss's filter first.

I would say, better use it. Before this, when I was fresh graduate from University, i used to work as a service engineer at water filtration products company. While doing service work, i had convince all of my customers to use it at their home or office as our water nowadays is polluted at sooo many causes.

thanks fluffy?,
Problem with kinetico is that there is no Malaysia contact (as if there is no local distributor here. LOL)

and waterco, ppl told me that they are more toward or expert in swimming pool solution. LOL

btw, mind elaborate to deal with anonymous for customer support? Do you mean there is no after sales support?

BS

I m using the Diamond outdoor water filter, they charge me RM60 per month for 5 years, maintenance of filter as well as change of the filter all will be bear by Diamond. No hidden charges. I already it for a few years. By the time it touch the 5th year, the filter belong to me,not Diamond.

So far its way better than my parents house Waterco, no matter how many time they clean the filter,the water coming out still not very clear, don't like it. They use it for about 3 years already, not much complaine except the water is not really that clean,maybe its due to the sand filtration system. You knowla oldman lazy to complain ma so they just leave as it is.

My bad experience was with the Cosway direct sales company water filter system, its something like Waterco but quality is shit, I use it for one years only,they change from the head to tail of the whole filter system mainly becos the filter pump cannot take the water pressure. My area highest is only 3 bar,but the dam thing pump burst for more than 5 times in less than 1 years. After that I write a letter of demand for full refund or else i will bring the matter to Consumer Tribunal, they sent me the cheque in one week time.

Uncle Tohsan, do you need to bear the maintenance after 5 years? it should covers the normal maintenance job and the change of filter judging from your reply. :( sound like the maintenance price is not cheap after 5 years.

Can you see the the "no-very-clear" waterco result with your naked eye under bright sun?

I get free chinese tea from PUAS everyday.

BS

nothing much about the maintenance part, becos the Diamond filter is not sand based, its like a piece of big cloth with very tiny hole on it to filter particles. I am not sure about after the 5th year usage, I might change it if the cost is too high, if they just a couple of hundred then I don't mind continue use it rather than getting a new filter and pay a couple of thousand again.

Ya the Waterco filter after fltration can see "some murky color" although not very much. If your area if frequently supply by PUAS with "tea tarik" then I think Waterco is not a good choice of filter although its cheaper than the Bacfree water filter. Normally those sand based filter main problem is that they can't eliminate those tiny particles that u think they are already filter out but actually they are not becos the things is floating in the water so they cannot be filter out by sand of the filter.

SURVEY

What would you guys consider to be acceptable price for the BEST filter (home or office use) in the market?

How much would you be willing to pay for the best filter in the market?

a) RM1000 to RM 1500
b) RM 1500 to RM 2000
c) RM 2000 to RM2500
d) RM 2500 and above

to me it would be somewhere between RM2-2.5k, but the cost of maintenance and part will be the main concern. But what is the best filter? What is your benchmark?

Bacfree outdoor unit has multimedia such as different types of sand to filter out bigger particles. On the top of the unit it has an activated carbon filter. The purpose of the carbon filter is to remove chlorine for safe and odourless drinking water. Since all water going into the house will pass through this unit, water going up the water storage tank on top of the house will be without chlorine. Once there's no chlorine, algae will grow very quickly in there. Correct me if I'm wrong.

I'm also considering one of these multimedia filter type of outdoor filters. I thought of Waterco, because it is reasonably maintenance-free. As for Diamond, I'm still unsure about the maintenance cost for the filter. I want to get one of these because of general usage around the house including laundry and bathing. As you said, PUAS sometimes give us Teh Tarik and my white shirts do not look very white after a while.

For drinking water and food preparation I use Amway's Water Treatment System. It is NSF certified and very low maintenance.