Water Injection & Water-Methanol Injection

reduces combustion temperature, inlet temperature, exhaust gas temp..thus knocking can be avoided even using RON 92.. no matter how advance the ignition timing is and how high the boost is..

easy to say, good for engines with hi CR and/or hi boost without sacrificing/worrying about what type of RON used.

am i getting this right?

U coming closer.. Not to say u needn't to worry about the RON number. U still tune as U're using pump fuel(95/97). However, u can be a little aggressive in ur ignition.

Different RON number fuel actually means different resistance towards detonation.

A few contribution that affects the premature detonations:
Air intake
Compression Ratio
RON number
Boost
Ignition timing

So, with lower intake temperature and slightly higher octane, u can reduce the detonation given the same set up/tuning. And eventually can increase the ignition timing that affects alot on the HP and torque.

Hi guys, im thinkin of installin this, is the AEM kit good? anyone knows whats the damage for this kit?
i'm using it, so far no probs. i bought it when the price was 399usd. now some shops are offering the kit (1 gallon tank) for 340usd. check out ebay for more info, most of them provide international shipping. now USD exchange rate is very favourable for shopping hehehe

i'm using the AEM kit as well. so far so good.

but if you have extra budget, i'd recommend you to get the aquamist kit.

let me know if you wanna share methanol purchase cause i purchase 25 liter each time and it's taking quite awhile to finish.

khoyos & mengz: U guys install urself or ur tuners did it for u? So far i know only GT Auto carries AEM, any other place?

my mech installed the kit for me (different motorsport puchong). tuner did the tuning (drax tuning innovations). a friend helped me order from the net, direct from the states.

can i ask this Water-Methanol Injection is using pure water will what effect out? coz i see wetside show can use pure water but no say what effect。

Well, pure water(distilled) can be used without side effect. It's used to cool down the air intake temperature thus reduce the possibility of knocks. But the effect would be different compare to water methanol mixture.

After reading this thread, i decided to try out a simple test of water injection.
This test is not really injection water but to make use of engine vacuum to suck in water.

And one day my dad ask me to change engine oil for his Iswara. After the job is done, i decided
to test out the water injection theory coz i am curious to see what will happen once water got suck
into the carb or TB or manifold or whatever. First i need to locate a vacuum hose and i found one
which connects to the air filter box. I disconnect the vacuum hose and test it with my finger,
i sense vacuum. Next i put the vacuum hose into a tiny cup of water and to my surprise, it sucks
in water pretty fast. Engine sounds different when water is entering it. Sounded better.

May i know what will happen if i let it vacuum all the water it wants during idle?
Will it stall the engine? What about the water that enter the engine, will it corrode anything?

After reading this thread, i decided to try out a simple test of water injection.
This test is not really injection water but to make use of engine vacuum to suck in water.

And one day my dad ask me to change engine oil for his Iswara. After the job is done, i decided
to test out the water injection theory coz i am curious to see what will happen once water got suck
into the carb or TB or manifold or whatever. First i need to locate a vacuum hose and i found one
which connects to the air filter box. I disconnect the vacuum hose and test it with my finger,
i sense vacuum. Next i put the vacuum hose into a tiny cup of water and to my surprise, it sucks
in water pretty fast. Engine sounds different when water is entering it. Sounded better.

May i know what will happen if i let it vacuum all the water it wants during idle?
Will it stall the engine? What about the water that enter the engine, will it corrode anything?

Water enters the engine combustion chamber in the form of droplet can cause severe damage to the engine if the given volume is big enough...

It can even cause cylinder wall to break.

ok, to control volume of water in the form of droplets entering the cylinder,
what if i go fish shop and get the simple air controller valve so that i could adjust
or limit the vacuum from the engine, should that be alright as a poor's man method?

I need to do this coz the car got a bit knocking whenever going up a slope
or during low speed. Last time got ask my pomen to get ride of the knock,
i said knock is no gd, it will slowly destroy my engine but he said a little
knock is gd for power, he said if he were to retard it i will lost power. Maybe
he no understand me, i dun wan retard or advance or anything, i just want
a spark when the thing go TDC. I am no expert, maybe my pomen is right.

If via tiny water droplet could eliminate the knock that i always hear, the next
step is i wish to lean out a bit to save on fuel.

ok, to control volume of water in the form of droplets entering the cylinder,
what if i go fish shop and get the simple air controller valve so that i could adjust
or limit the vacuum from the engine, should that be alright as a poor's man method?

I need to do this coz the car got a bit knocking whenever going up a slope
or during low speed. Last time got ask my pomen to get ride of the knock,
i said knock is no gd, it will slowly destroy my engine but he said a little
knock is gd for power, he said if he were to retard it i will lost power. Maybe
he no understand me, i dun wan retard or advance or anything, i just want
a spark when the thing go TDC. I am no expert, maybe my pomen is right.

If via tiny water droplet could eliminate the knock that i always hear, the next
step is i wish to lean out a bit to save on fuel.

the water is meant to be in vapour form and not droplet as water droplet would be too much water already
and the water vapour is meant to be sprayed before the throttle body to cool down the incoming flow of air which is usually very hot especially if turbo
this lower air temps temps would be more forgiving to the engine

kumar, thanks for yr comment. I will keep that in mind.

ok another question for water injection system regarding the water temperature,
colder better or hotter better? If colder better i was thinking of to harvest water
from the aircond. Lazy la to add water.

ok another question for water injection system regarding the water temperature,
colder better or hotter better? If colder better i was thinking of to harvest water
from the aircond.

cooler water would be better as the point is to cool down the hot gases
but remember it has to be in mist form like as fine as possible
so as to prevent possible hydrolocking inside your engine

Beo please seriously don't do that... Those water injection are done by aspirating small amount of highly atomised water (fine droplets). It cools the engine.

But feeding in droplets will just increase the compression tremendously and crack your cylinder. Or blow of your engine. Like what Speed2Horizon said. And it doesn't cool your engine.

very slow tiny droplet also can not ka?

In the mean time, i am still saving money for a mist generator.
Any better idea to make gd use of the aircond water besides to use it
by letting it drip into the water tank for my future mist generator?
How about i route the cool water to the oil sump and chill it?

At home we harvest aircond water for plants.

very slow tiny droplet also can not ka?

In the mean time, i am still saving money for a mist generator.
Any better idea to make gd use of the aircond water besides to use it
by letting it drip into the water tank for my future mist generator?
How about i route the cool water to the oil sump and chill it?

At home we harvest aircond water for plants.

Don't need to trouble urself on how to cool the water. Just use 50/50 water-methanol mix. Good enuff to cool down intake temps.

How can i find all these chemical such as methanol, ethanol, alcohol, acetone, etc?

I only seen alcohol selling in supermarket, just tiny bottles use for cleaning the head of
audio tape. The label at the bottle wrote the word Alcohol. Still remember i used to use
this stuff to clean the video tape head when cant see any pictures.

I am just hoping to use water injection to save fuel, to make the car runs cooler
and more efficient. One more issue my car is having as below which i hope by
giving it water injection, i could solve it.

My car starts easy when cold, just one very short crank and its running but when
i take it for a ride, off the engine for a while, come back and try to crank, it took
longer, sometimes i need 2-3 cranks to get it running. So i think to myself what have
change? The temperature had changed. Could it be vaporlock?

My Car: 1991 Saga AB 1.5 Auto 12V Magma 4G15P Carb