What have Advancing Technology killed?

Same, same here. My kids want something, daddy or mommy will buy.....:banghead:
Nowadays get them to do something for their pocket money if not lazy like anything.....:biggrin:

My son always nudge me to change my pc's gc because he wants to play the latest Black Ops 2. I told him go selling something for money then you can have a new gc. He never watch TV because everything on computer.

So in this sense electronic gadget has replaced the company of parents.

---------- Post added at 07:37 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:36 PM ----------

Yes, KDK is a good brand from Japan. My bedroom is still using it. This brand is much more expensive compare to panasonic brand (same electronic control fan). If not mistaken, this brand is over 100years. I think i saw their advertisement at Plus highway near Nilai exit there.

My parent's KDK ceiling fan is more than 30 years old and still spinning good!:biggrin:

Not sure how much it cost now, cuz KDK fan really lasting, so never change before. One of the most
lasting antiques...:rofl:

Even 3 blade itself is good enough liao...:top:

3 blades is their bread and butter model.....:biggrin:

---------- Post added at 08:08 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:07 PM ----------

So expensive?! I tot their 5 blades around RM5xx - 6xx?

Something like that. Air con can get nowadays for that price.....not branded ones....:biggrin:

---------- Post added at 08:15 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:08 PM ----------

My son always nudge me to change my pc's gc because he wants to play the latest Black Ops 2. I told him go selling something for money then you can have a new gc. He never watch TV because everything on computer.

At least I ban their H/P at dinner table....:biggrin:

before i use to remember at least 15 number telephone...now even my second handphone number i forget what is the number...

---------- Post added at 09:40 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:38 PM ----------

Not sure how much it cost now, cuz KDK fan really lasting, so never change before. One of the most
lasting antiques...:rofl:

Even 3 blade itself is good enough liao...:top:

now there are bladeless fan like dyson fan....no blade at all

analog meters replace by digital meters...

---------- Post added at 11:47 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:44 PM ----------

3 blades is their bread and butter model.....:biggrin:

---------- Post added at 08:08 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:07 PM ----------

even 3 blades also cost RM1XX...not cheap...

Old skool mentol replaced by 'energy saving' lights. (imo, the mentol bulbs last longer)

soon- GPS replaced by smart phones/tab.

soon- ICE replaced by tab/ipad? iPad Dash Install - YouTube :biggrin:

And also, talking to people might be replaced by social networking?
eg:
before: dude what are u having for lunch? / nasi lemak, teh tarik, bla3.
after: dude your nasi lemak looks great! / eh how u know?? / your instagram maaaa :thefinger::rofl:

---------- Post added at 11:51 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:48 PM ----------

something that many don't realize yet. Facebook and Twitter are killing off social skills - Odd News | newslite.tv

Incandescent light bulb will be phased out soon..in fact, some countries already stopped producing/import/use incandescents. It's now the era of LED.

Another thing being phased of soon is Refrigerant R-22. Many would not know, but it will be phased out in 2015. So for those who are buying new air cond, take note.

After 55years in use, the old and rotten BN will be phased out and replaced by newer and cleaner tech PR.

Myvi had been contently replace by newer and better models with extra gadgets and new technology...:biggrin:

VHS=Video Home System which included Tape recorder that have A-B multi side as the recording media,while Videocassette Recorder(VCR) was replaced by CD player,DVD then more recently Built-in hard disk from internet on-demand downloadable content.

...Still have a rack full of tape which unfortunately some are infected by fungus & I was too lazy to clean it up(because need to unscrew the tape cover & slowly rewind the film reel full for alcohol treatment) but there are some tape that was recorded using Sony anti-fungus tech'.....got Phillips,Mitsubishi,Akira & few other VCR but most of them missing the spinner head unit which are very hard to find these day....;(

Incandescent light bulb will be phased out soon..in fact, some countries already stopped producing/import/use incandescents. It's now the era of LED.

Another thing being phased of soon is Refrigerant R-22. Many would not know, but it will be phased out in 2015. So for those who are buying new air cond, take note.

Currently still CFL more affordable then LED. Maybe in the years to come.
Yup, Incandescent light bulb will be phased out, I heard is 2015 when Energy efficient products are implemented by the Energy Commission. By then products that do not meet the standard are ban from being imported and sold....

---------- Post added at 07:59 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:58 AM ----------

VHS=Video Home System which included Tape recorder that have A-B multi side as the recording media,while Videocassette Recorder(VCR) was replaced by CD player,DVD then more recently Built-in hard disk from internet on-demand downloadable content.

...Still have a rack full of tape which unfortunately some are infected by fungus & I was too lazy to clean it up(because need to unscrew the tape cover & slowly rewind the film reel full for alcohol treatment) but there are some tape that was recorded using Sony anti-fungus tech'.....got Phillips,Mitsubishi,Akira & few other VCR but most of them missing the spinner head unit which are very hard to find these day....;(

VCR, I still have working unit and still using.....:biggrin:

---------- Post added at 07:37 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:36 PM ----------

My parent's KDK ceiling fan is more than 30 years old and still spinning good!:biggrin:

Yeah, haha. The fan is spinning good but just have some fantastic noisy and if my fan not making this noise, i think i can't fall asleep.:proud:

before i use to remember at least 15 number telephone...now even my second handphone number i forget what is the number...

now there are bladeless fan like dyson fan....no blade at all

Yup, bladeless that kind of round fan that they are selling...pretty amazing where the wind came
from...

Agree, that nowadays, if you go out for dinner, you can see kids as young as 3 years old
holding the iPad or Iphone...

Almost whole family on the table, even husband and wife playing with their smartphone/ipad.

Is like, what is FAMILY all about in coming future? No communication with kids just everyone
are in their own world of digital and social network..

Which is bad where I realised kids nowadays, are more afraid to talk face to face but
can talk loads on facebook/messenger/sms or whatsapp and etcs.

Cuz my cousin dare not even call his friends, he just ask them for a drink through sms.
Which I find it very bad and not encourage to do so...

Talking on phone and sms, both will bring different results...

You might able to get a girl out through phone calls but fail through sms. Is just that the girl
could not hear your sincerity or heartfelt invitation..:listen:

Currently still CFL more affordable then LED. Maybe in the years to come.
Yup, Incandescent light bulb will be phased out, I heard is 2015 when Energy efficient products are implemented by the Energy Commission. By then products that do not meet the standard are ban from being imported and sold....

Many interior designers are still sticking to incandescent and halogens because of the effects they make. This is incomparable with LEDs and CFLs coz LED and CFL look dull. :banghead:

Yup, bladeless that kind of round fan that they are selling...pretty amazing where the wind came
from...

Agree, that nowadays, if you go out for dinner, you can see kids as young as 3 years old
holding the iPad or Iphone...

Almost whole family on the table, even husband and wife playing with their smartphone/ipad.

Is like, what is FAMILY all about in coming future? No communication with kids just everyone
are in their own world of digital and social network..

Which is bad where I realised kids nowadays, are more afraid to talk face to face but
can talk loads on facebook/messenger/sms or whatsapp and etcs.

Cuz my cousin dare not even call his friends, he just ask them for a drink through sms.
Which I find it very bad and not encourage to do so...

Talking on phone and sms, both will bring different results...

You might able to get a girl out through phone calls but fail through sms. Is just that the girl
could not hear your sincerity or heartfelt invitation..:listen:

Bro. SF just gave some pointers, so remember this, okay...........faster cabut.......:vroam::vroam:

---------- Post added at 09:35 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:33 AM ----------

Many interior designers are still sticking to incandescent and halogens because of the effects they make. This is incomparable with LEDs and CFLs coz LED and CFL look dull. :banghead:

Yup, but when Energy commission ban the import, they cannot get them anymore, unless again underground mari.......:banghead:

Bro. SF just gave some pointers, so remember this, okay...........faster cabut.......:vroam::vroam:

Yup, but when Energy commission ban the import, they cannot get them anymore, unless again underground mari.......:banghead:

:rofl: Just an example...

the most saddest shit is conventional engine gonna be replaced by hybrids..sad ....

As long as it have a good performances,affordable,& would seed a new way for the future...I always OK with it.

Before conventional internal combustion engine became a commonplace,the steam are the way of future & people at that time seems hard to embrace the idea of hard to find fossil fuel to power the motor vehicle petrol engine.....but now thing are opposite from what it used to be.

Before Apollo space program pushed the boundry of technological hardware that we cheerish today,many seems the computer with head-up display,& miniaturization of the bulky size of computer electronic with magnetic head tape to record telemetry & save calculation data are the sign that we have been in the future & was thought as almost impossible to bring this expensive technology to consumer market....but the thing have been very different since then.Our handheld phone that are 10x times more powerful than Apollo spacecraft guidance computer which take the astronaut to the moon are reality,rope core memory has been evolved from experimental & expensive circuit board type memory unit has made the rope core memory are thing of the pass.....

When fuell cell was thought to be a "fairy tale",finally the Apollo spacecraft turned it into reality.Powering the hydrogen rocket engine,& having a byproduct of electrical cell & consumable water to cooling the spacecraft electronic,heatshield & clean water for crew to drink during their moon voyage,it finally powering the future civilization as we see many auto industries investing their resources for this sector.....

So as long the progress would benefit us all....I would always OK with it.:burnout:

I hope games get replaced by immersive consoles like SAO (Sword Art Online). :biggrin: