what is 4gauge cable?

• Fixed New Thread missing Editor: Hi Everyone, the issue with posting a new thread or a reply that shows a missing editor has been fixed. More updates to the forums will be added on in the coming days, we apologize for the inconveniece this has caused

sam1741

hi everyone

what is that thing?
'4 gauge cable'

i saw on my meter manual
and also other thread..

that means the size of the cable... 4 gague is pretty big for a meter.... its abotu 1.5cm in diameter.

how much 4gauge cost per meter?

how bout 1 gauge? got or not?
i thinking can use it to do ground wire.. :D

I use 4 gague for grounding.. that is enough.. 0/1 gauge wire is very expensive... Abotu Rm 30+ per meter for non branded ones

Also if you go 0 gauge, your conenctors on your battery needs to be changed and 0 gauge conenctors are not cheap.

hi...
i wan to DIY grounding pronect also...

how much u buy 4gauge cable? how much per meter?

anyway.. i buy this wire... (thickest i can find in their shop)
is about 1cm thick... (dono how many gauge)
and cost RM2.5/1m

dono good enough or not

4 gauge cables are way more expensive than taht price, that price can get around 8 gauge cable kwa....maybe yours is 8 gauge?? not sure, anyone can clarify this?

where to buy this cable?
4 gauge and 8 gauge

where where where ?????
i ask many electric shop but they don't have it

i just go into my local electronic shop
and ask for 'very very thick cable' lor..
i not said how many gauge...

mmm... i'll try to post some pics to compare a 4 gauge and 8 gauge cable thickness later tonight... pics may eb blurry with my phone-cam

Originally posted by Bert@Jan 26 2005, 12:03
mmm... i'll try to post some pics to compare a 4 gauge and 8 gauge cable thickness later tonight... pics may eb blurry with my phone-cam
where u buy it?? and how much??

got it from my acc shop when I did up my ICE... current ones I have are extra when I removed my current install.

a decent 4awg cable can easily cost RM20 per meter. One advice is: look at the core, not the overal diameter including the insulator.

please refer to this page for the cable core sizes: http://www.interfacebus.com/Reference_Cable_AWG_Sizes.html

a 4awg cable shoud have a core or 5.2mm diameter (or 204.3 mil, 1mil = 1/1000 inch) irregardance of the insulator thickness. A 6awg cable can be easily 'looked' like a 4awg with a thick skin. We have even seen 8awg cable (3.3mm core) with 3.3mm insulator on both side, that makes up an overal diameter of 10mm, which looks very much like a 4awg cable, especially when opaque color insulator is used.

Beware, and check this out: http://cground.fotopic.net/p13916610.html