what is needed to turbo charge a 4age

ae92levin

what do i need for the most basic of turbocharging a fwd 4age? apart frm the manifold, turbine n intercooler (duh!) what do i need.

things i can think of
larger injectors
fuel management system (have SAFC)
some gauges (boost)

will turbo run alright on stock ecu with SAFC??
what else do i need?

IMO, low comp ratio pistons, thicker metal head gasket (if you swap for ultra thin one for NA before), oil cooler if you push your car alot,

4agze ecu should do.

are all those really needed? im on a tight budget so om thinkin of doing the essential ones 1st and then slowly do the rest.

important
1) low comp piston such as 4agze piston
2) metalhead gasket
3) large injectors otherwise fuel regulator
4) SAFC if OEM Ecu use....

its consider if u plug into MAP engine....

p/s : please correct me if i'm wrong....

You can do it stock up to about 6~7psi without changing the internals. Don't need no intercoolers too. But make sure you pin it there and don't start having itchy fingers and twiddling up the boost.

Get some GZE injectors. (SAFC will do)
Bleed the MAP on boost
Smallish turbo, something like a T25 (which I still have one incidentally) :rolleyes:
Turbo manifold

and etc... etc... etc... actually, I'm still missing a lot of things here. Because it will still run up quite a budget.

Be warned that you'll spent many sleepness night tuning the damn thing... and some of the nights you might be kicking yourself to do it right just for once and get a GZE clip and start from there.

That's my .02 cents worth.

low comp piston is a must. looking at your nick "ae92levin" i asume you have an ae92, which come with NA small port 4ag (since you wanna turbo charge it). small port 4ag come with 9.4:1 comp ratio pistons, and if i'm not mistaken they are not forged. so with malaysian RON97 petrol and non-forged piston at 9.4:1.

yes you can tubocharge it but you ain't getting far with that unless you are happy with 4 - 5psi of boost (which i think should be okay for stock engine).

ecu i dunno much especially about piggy back computers but 4agze ecu would do just fine.

http://www.toymods.org.au/4A-GTE/
some extra reading, should be very informative

im actually in melb. so its mostly DIY. looking at things gze pistons would be much needed but its bloody mahal here man. maybe try to ship it frm kl..hehehe..

im actually using the TVIs version of smallport. it has similar bottom to gze except pistons (mahai ar!!) http://www.twincam.org/forums/uploads/post-4-1094378844.jpg

after....
http://www.twincam.org/forums/uploads/post-4-1099833897.jpg
hehehe...

also how much is a turbo manifold for FWD in mlaysia? over here its usually rwd 4age with turbo manifold. dont make fwd ones here. thinkin of shipping one over.

australia ar? i think fuel octane there is even lower than malaysia ar.. 96 only if i'm not mistaken.

you should know about toymods australia's forum, maybe you can get more info over there.

btw smallport got tvis? i thought they don't have it since the port is small and the air velocity into the combustion chamber is higher than the big port already.

btw big port is more suitable for force induction, especially high boost cuz more air can go in easier. and remove the tvis for god sake for force induction setup or you dun wan to know what will happen

the reason im asking here coz malaysians got kiam siap way of getting around things mar. if ask toymods they sure say i need thousand n 1 things to turbo the bloody thing.

premium fuel is 98 ron here. im already running on that coz im using jdm engine, which is 100ron i think in japan.

not really smallport tvis. its actually a (here it goes) 4age 7 rib bigport with TVIS. damn long my engine name ehehehe

im gonna try leaving my tvis open all the time when i have time. just need to join n block a few hoses. been wanting to try it since i got my cams.

7 ribs block with big port tvis? hmm... dunno much cuz i thought they only have 3 ribs.

anyway they say that removing tvis is still a safer choice, if not better.

for the piston i guess stock 8.9:1 ceremic coated piston and rod set should be good enough for up to 300hp, i'm not sure about your block, but should be no prob lar 4ag's block quite tough.

forget to ask, whats your target HP and torque?

here u go , my (very streetable) AE86 turbo list..

1. 8.0c/r 4agze piston.
2. extractor
3. RB20/25DET (not sure) turbo
4. 4agze injectors
5. 4agze Dli coil pack and plug cable
6. 4agze crank angle sensor
7. 7MGTE ignitor
8. 4agze map ecu
9. 4EFTE map sensor

folowing list are budget turboed 4ag before i get 4agze ecu in.

1. 8.0 c/r 4agze piston
2. extractor
3. 4agze injector ( i been told 3TGTE injectors run better on stock n.a ecu)
4. 4EFTE map sensor(4agze map sensor) both are same and please use.

i dont use SAFC to run.
the only big issue using n.a ecu was the engine will run rich when cold start(still can drive but abit jerk when half throttle), after it warm up to the operating temp will be fine.
n/a ecu no problem for me to run 10psi boost.
4EFTE/4AGZE map sensor able to control the 365cc injectors .

please contact chin lee kun @ 0138835233 if u need new 4agze piston. he supply to aussie. i'm johnny if he ask who give u the num. tell him u r malaysian maybe he will give u cheaper.

Originally posted by ae92levin@Dec 12 2004, 13:13
im actually in melb. so its mostly DIY. looking at things gze pistons would be much needed but its bloody mahal here man. maybe try to ship it frm kl..hehehe..

im actually using the TVIs version of smallport. it has similar bottom to gze except pistons (mahai ar!!) http://www.twincam.org/forums/uploads/post-4-1094378844.jpg

after....
http://www.twincam.org/forums/uploads/post-4-1099833897.jpg
hehehe...

also how much is a turbo manifold for FWD in mlaysia? over here its usually rwd 4age with turbo manifold. dont make fwd ones here. thinkin of shipping one over.
ur engine is bigport TVIS. all big port 4age come with TVIS, small port come with 4port intake manifold without TVIS.

thanks for in johnny.
how much would i be looking at for the pistons roughly?

new stock gze piston cost half the price of the aftermarket performance one, but the problem is i dunno the price of the aftermarket one as well.

te27levin,
hey do you know how much boost the first gen JDM 4ag big-port w/ tvis and 3 rib on block can run? yes the one from the ae86. wondering how much i can push the engine with gze injector, ecu, piston, and crank. btw will gze crank fit in? cuz the diameter is 2mm larger.

:D sorry i dunno anything about 3rib block .. lol
maybe NOS7AGTE sifu can answer ur question..

dun try boosting stock engine la.. not much u can get from low boost. 4age is hunger for boost. try low comp piston and go for high boost, the power is crazy.