What is your first car?

My first car was a 1990 Nissan Sentra 1.6 (M) SLX, handed down to me by my dad. Used the car during my university years and first job in Penang around 2004-2008. Gave it a new coat of paint and new wheels. Then handed it back to my dad after I bought an EK sedan. He sold it for RM6k in 2012. The mileage at that time is around 400,000km. Still miss it whenever I saw a similar model on the road... :bawling:

DSC_5265eeee.jpg

Interesting story with your car. This model is quite uncommon on the streets. I think this model is after 130Y Sunny and before B13 Sentra right?

Did you swap engine for this Sentra? Din't look like carburetor engine. Looks like fuel injection. By the way, what engine are you using for your EK? B16A?

Yup, this model is N13 Sentra. The engine was stock/original 1.6 carb. I plonked in a B16a in the EK three years ago after the stock 1.6 single cam overheated beyond repair. :mad:

I see. From your pic, I thought it is EFI since I can't see the round air filter cover normally found in old carb engine.

Your B16A is the one in your profile picture?

I see. From your pic, I thought it is EFI since I can't see the round air filter cover normally found in old carb engine.

Your B16A is the one in your profile picture?

Round air filter cover is used in older carb engines like the ones used in Nissan Sunny. This model uses a more square design. Ya, that profile pic is my current engine. Below 4000rpm, even a myvi 1.5 can smoke it in a drag race..:driver:

Maybe your carb engine is considered as newer ones.

How can B16A be that slow? You're not the first one who said this. I know a friend who said Myvi 1.3 can smoke his B16A EG 4 door. I thought he was joking. :confused:

Maybe your carb engine is considered as newer ones.

How can B16A be that slow? You're not the first one who said this. I know a friend who said Myvi 1.3 can smoke his B16A EG 4 door. I thought he was joking. :confused:

Haha.. Actually it's not that bad. EG powered B16A won't get smoked by a 1.3 Myvi so easily, unless it runs on 3 cylinders or the driver can't drive a manual.

b16power.jpeg

As you can see from the torque/power curve above, B16A engine is a bit low on torque until about 5,000rpm. Only after that it starts to pull. Thankfully, it has low gearing. At 100km/h = 3500rpm. :trytofly:

I still have my first car, memories!!!

What car is it?

Haha.. Actually it's not that bad. EG powered B16A won't get smoked by a 1.3 Myvi so easily, unless it runs on 3 cylinders or the driver can't drive a manual.

b16power.jpeg

As you can see from the torque/power curve above, B16A engine is a bit low on torque until about 5,000rpm. Only after that it starts to pull. Thankfully, it has low gearing. At 100km/h = 3500rpm. :trytofly:

Even if it does get smoked by Myvi, I am assuming it will probably be during the first 0-50 or 0-60kmh. I have a Myvi 1.3 manual at home and the acceleration during 1st gear is quite fast.

At 3000rpm, the torque seems quite enough for the car.

You mean 3500rpm in 5th gear? That will be bad for fuel consumption at highway.

What car is it?

Even if it does get smoked by Myvi, I am assuming it will probably be during the first 0-50 or 0-60kmh. I have a Myvi 1.3 manual at home and the acceleration during 1st gear is quite fast.

haha thats why some call these older gen vtecs 'torqueless wonders'

as for that cruising rpm.. welp, most old sports cars macam tu..... at least the Japanese ones are that way

haha thats why some call these older gen vtecs 'torqueless wonders'

as for that cruising rpm.. welp, most old sports cars macam tu..... at least the Japanese ones are that way

Indeed B series VTEC lacks torque. I've sat before in a B18C EG hatch before. It was fast but I can't feel much g force pulling me to the seat during acceleration. But compared to Mercedes C250 CGI and BMW F30 320i, I can really feel the g force pulling me since both of them are turbocharged. The B18C is as fast as them but the g force is not present.

Close ratio gb, then cruising speed high rpm......lol

That means top speed will also be quite limited due to short ratio...

My first car is Kia morning Si 2015 in white :). My father bought it to me on my 23rd birthday, my dream is be a ranger ford's owner

What is Kia morning?

What car is it?

Theoretically, that should be bad for fuel consumption. However, my FC is quite okay. RM30 of RON97 (current fuel price, October 2016) can go about 180 km on the highway, travelling at 110-120km/h average. About the same FC as my old Sentra (but fuel is cheaper then). Maybe because B16A has short stroke, the piston travel is not very high ---> less fuel consumption? Maybe sifus here can explain about this. If you make the VTEC open all the time, that's another story. :driver:

Close ratio more for track loh! higher rpm means in torque and power range most of the time....:driver:

Which means better for acceleration and not that good for long duration cruising.

Theoretically, that should be bad for fuel consumption. However, my FC is quite okay. RM30 of RON97 (current fuel price, October 2016) can go about 180 km on the highway, travelling at 110-120km/h average. About the same FC as my old Sentra (but fuel is cheaper then). Maybe because B16A has short stroke, the piston travel is not very high ---> less fuel consumption? Maybe sifus here can explain about this. If you make the VTEC open all the time, that's another story. :driver:

I think that is more likely due to your Sentra consuming more fuel because it is using carb and carb are not as efficient as EFI. Carb FC can get really bad from what I have heard. I heard before that my friend's 4G13 carb gets around 180km mileage from RM50 of RON95.

How bad will FC be if VTEC open all the time?

Pedal to the floor, I get about 180-210km per RM60 worth of RON97 (current fuel price).

Bore and stroke is displacement. Does not mean short stroke use less FC. In fact long stroke have better low end torque, short stroke have better acceleration due to faster revs. Both have it's pros and cons.....:driver:

Which means better for acceleration and not that good for long duration cruising.

I think that is more likely due to your Sentra consuming more fuel because it is using carb and carb are not as efficient as EFI. Carb FC can get really bad from what I have heard. I heard before that my friend's 4G13 carb gets around 180km mileage from RM50 of RON95.

How bad will FC be if VTEC open all the time?

Close ratio means you don't have long overdrive gear, therefore cruising at higher speed means running high revs consuming more fuel.

VTEC to open is like after 5k rpm, means you are flooring most of the time, FC will be good???:rofl:

Bore and stroke is displacement. Does not mean short stroke use less FC. In fact long stroke have better low end torque, short stroke have better acceleration due to faster revs. Both have it's pros and cons.....:driver:

short stroke engines are over square engines right?? wana put it simply, they are designed and tend to be able to push more revs.... vtecs and mivecs are examples of oversquare engines, nothing to do with fc.

there is one odd undersquare engine which confuses me to no end... the b18c...... cannot brain how why or how honda did this.... this thing can rev...