what sythom will give for ecu faulty ??

boyzone

hi, Guy... wanna to ask for ecu condition .. normally what sythom will give if ecu is not in good condition ??

anything can happen.. depends on what electronic circuit in the ECU is at fault. But usually the check engine light wouldn't go off thats No.1 .. secondly.. car would not start. The most common faulty items in the ECU is the capacitor.. which tends to leak overtime. Replace it with a new 1 before it starts to leak.. leaky capacitors produce some acid... which may make other electronical parts in contact with the acid to be damaged.

The ECU location is diff from each manufactures....have to ask ur mech or search by urself loh...

proton ecus are usually around the glovebox area (left side). just remove the glovebox and look to the left and you will notice a number of wires and a shiny(maybe not) metal box about the size of 2 gardenia slices of bread put together. :D

TitanRev,

rpm will fluctuate???? u sure? i try both mine's n apexi for my evo3 but now oso like tat...d rpm fluctuate...so now i removing all d intercooler hoses, turbo hose, air cleaner hose n clean it..and will remove d idle control system to clean or replace with another n try......shit.....many problems...

huakenny said:
TitanRev,

rpm will fluctuate???? u sure? i try both mine's n apexi for my evo3 but now oso like tat...d rpm fluctuate...so now i removing all d intercooler hoses, turbo hose, air cleaner hose n clean it..and will remove d idle control system to clean or replace with another n try......shit.....many problems...

normally for mitsu/proton rpm fluctuates is because of throttle body is dirty. another thing is the ISC also known as Idle Speed Control is faulty... Proton call this thing "idle servo kit." this bladdy piece of electromechanical shit cost RM1,385.00 part number MD628051 can be ordered from Proton Spare Parts Center. However I'm not sure if it is the same with EVO3. But it is definately the same for all 1.6/1.8 DOHC Mitsu/Proton Engines with 4G9X code. Kedai Potong sell this used servo kit from RM150-300 depending on condition.

i guess will be d idle control system too.....it can be wash by using carburetor or choke cleaner......so it will save ur money if it still can be use after cleaned.....i will try later..thanks...

Sorry, maybe i'm wrong about it....Hehe:D

ftZone,

got two sensor la......one in front and one is at behind d.....bladdy hell....i took both out n clean.......useless.......hedache now

foe evo....i not sure la....wash n no wash oso d same...

but tat day my subaru rev up to 2000rpm n stay there.....then will drop back after a while.....then my fren help me to clean it...coz CHECK ENGINE light got pop up and after check d ECU code.....is d idling control system problem....

Wah....from the info i see from kenny post....scare the hell out of me...Turbo car got many problems wan ah ??? Even its new ones... ???

Titanrev,

take it easy....my evo throw at home for too long....no people drive coz i were at kl....juz back here last week n try to drive it...so realize lots problems....many d car rest too long oledi...haha...d turbo slept oledi....ned to wake it up....

not so much problem la..d main problem now is d rpm erev up n down..then off n start again....it stay at 1500rpm...then i of n start again...it normal 1000rpm with a/c off........everytime i start...d rpm level is different one....so funny....d sensor rosak i think.....izzit?

coz if got hoses bocor..d engine will mati mati...rite?

for mitsubishi, some time feel confuse inbetween ISC and ecu... especially idling problem.

boyzone said:
for mitsubishi, some time feel confuse inbetween ISC and ecu... especially idling problem.

mine is ISC i think..not yet change...got try another ecu....so it is not ecu problem....