What's in the OCT after 4 months?

picture in Darth post is the most accurate version.
All OCT must have 3 hole....
and 1 of this will function as a pressure relief.thats the hole with filter.

But some ppl also use the iswara/wira Fuel Filter to act as a OCT ... That one doesn't have the 3rd hole thing.. How ar? Is it bad to use the Fuel Filter as the OCT then?

GT20v said:

well.. i did some research.. found out how to install oct and where ... and will diy soon and i have 1 major question...
as u all can see.. stock they come from hose direct to the manifold.. but.. no sign of breathing point.. by adding breather to the oct, wont that cause some air bleed? and that will effect the a/f ration especially for carb engine.. since.. we have no ecu to control the a/f ration

GT20v said:
If you make this extra filtered hole on the PCV side you are looking for trouble.

So drex, means the Fuel Filter works juz fine without the extra hole..?

Yup, nitrus...me installed that DIY Fuel Filter OCT version for past few days and it's working fine. No prob so far.

so.... just wonder... derx, the oct shoul dhave 2 holes or 3 holes now? i am seriously wondering.. sinc.e. most diy oct seems to have 1 extra breather other then the 2 intake and output hole from pcv to manifold? such as the one darth posted.. kindly any advise please?

unknown1x said:
so.... just wonder... derx, the oct shoul dhave 2 holes or 3 holes now? i am seriously wondering.. sinc.e. most diy oct seems to have 1 extra breather other then the 2 intake and output hole from pcv to manifold? such as the one darth posted.. kindly any advise please?

I don't think the 3rd hole is neccessary with the following reasons.

Firstly, if it's on the PCV side, the filter will give you an enormous vacuum leak - NO GOOD!

Secondly, if it's on the breather side, an OCT is not needed. Just plug the nipple on the ram pipe and add a filter on the engine side.

Lastly, there's a more radical but highly polluting way to install an OCT. Plug both nipples on the air ram and intake manifold. Remove the hose for the PCV valve to disable it. Install an OCT on the breather side, one hole to the cam cover, another hole to a small filter.

In all these three cases, you need only 2 holes.

alright , thanks, verified my curiousity! ^^ done my diy oct already.. ^^ now .. thinking of "beautifying" it ^^

drexchan : IF u found a noticable amount of oil in ur OCT, den its either ur piston rings or the valve seals r farked. irratic vacuum reading confirms there r sumthing wrong wit ur engine's internals, i suggest u do a compression test to determine what is wrong. fyi, there isnt suppose to be positive pressure ie air going out to the OCT but actually negative pressure dat sucks air from the OCT.

and fyi, OCT's only function is to collect dis vented oil vapour. iam using a home made stainless steel OCT on my 4efte and no oil is noticable neither in it or in the intercooler pipings, a sign dat my engine is still in good condition, for now..

some of the valve seals might be worn out, i am aware of this.

However, if you are not connecting the OCT to the PCV hose, you won't collect any oil.

there isnt suppose to be positive pressure ie air going out to the OCT but actually negative pressure dat sucks air from the OCT.

Yes, negative pressure aka vacuum. From the intake manifold, am I right? This vacuum is what opens the PCV valve and sucks the blow-by out of the crankcase. The oil collected in the OCT is the condensate of the vapour, not the oil. Suck air from the OCT? The where suppose the air is from to replace those in the OCT? The cam cover, through the PCV right?

I have no problem with oil level. Top up once or twice every few thoudsand kilometers.

My DIY fuel filter OCT has collected a little bit of oil condensate after 5 days of city driving...dun think it's too bad tho for a 256k km car, rite?

Pics of oil collected in OCT can be viewed im my forum DIY thread http://mykpt.net/index.php?showtopic=2606&hl=

Possibly me have2 replace the fuel filter monthly or so. Mayb making an extended fuel filter container body would lengthen the service period?

Unless ur really free i dun think the extended fuel filter body thing would be worth it time la zeone.. My Kopitiam! kehkehkehkehkeh :_:

the fuel filter is not expensive right?

In fact you can reuse it for a few times after a wash.

This is guan's contribution: http://khguan.fotopic.net/c976027.html

Yup, nitrus, guess u r right! Not worth all time modifying...also gonna cost double, too! 2 Filters in one just to increase capacity. Might as well change to new filter straightaway, right?

And, drexchan, yup to yu too! Fuel filter not expensive...abt RM3-4 each only.

Ok, guys, will take yr advice. Thks!! :)

ps. Guan's contri is very well done!! Very orderly & clear step by step pictorial guide. Mayb compile all such DIY activities in a book for sale?

zeone said:
Guan's contri is very well done!! Very orderly & clear step by step pictorial guide. Mayb compile all such DIY activities in a book for sale?
No lar.. we hapily share what we know throught our website. Unlike someone who post something then ask ppl to PM for detail/diagram/etc.

lol can always go to the place that sell car stuff. say.

BOSS! GIVE ME BIGGGEESSTT fuel filter u have!
i dont care for what car! paling besar paling baik! think cost less then RM 10
then save ur problem.. hahah