when we need to change the fuel filter (petrol filter)??

wilm3

Need helps here... normally when we need to change our petrol filter?? will the old petrol filter affect our car's performance? how much its cost for a new 4age 20v petrol filter? Thanks...

Last time try to get it from umw but no stock, then just buy it from sparepart shop cost me RM24, maybe still can get it cheaper from some place.

Part No is 90915-YZZC6

I think most of sparepart shop near to all those modifed car workshop should have...I bought an OEM for RM16. If you want ori try Wing Hin at Jln Loke Yew tel (03) 9221 8867.

When to change...i change mine after 2.5 yrs....at 85K km

Waaaaahhhhhh...
speedcrave...really aaaa 85K km...sure or not

90915-YZZC6
RM18, subang area...

heee...evertime service the engine...5K km...
but some say changed once every 10K km...
dunno which one correct...

anyone, please verify it...

don,

this is the FUEL filter lah not engine oil filter. the one that tapis petrol wan.

AE80TypeD said:
don,

this is the FUEL filter lah not engine oil filter. the one that tapis petrol wan.

Yup just as AE80TypeD said, FUEL FIlter! not OIL Filter hahahhaa.

Replacement Interval:

OIL Filter = 90915-YZZC6 - Everytime Change Engine Oil or no more than 10,000Kms
Fuel Filter = Change every Year or as per required

BTW, the 20Vs metal petrol filter (pressurized) replacement intervals are very tricky. most of the time when u start to experience funny fuel related problems (e.g. fuel starvation, low fuel pressure [need EFN AFPR+meter shameless promo], or engine jerk), it will usually be the last thing ur mechanic checks. if its the first, good for u. some mechanics try the cheapest solution first (a lot of trial n error in our workshops actually).

bcoz the problem is easily associated with the ignition systems, plugs, fuel rail, fuel pump, injectors etc.. most ppl will miss it.

properly answering the question, there are no standard interval given by all manufacturers on when u should replace the filter. one brand might say 100k, another 80k. the silently accepted practice is once a year. why? bcoz this issue is VERY relative. the filter operates on the assumption that we have dirt in our fuel. sometimes some places, ppl have clean fuel tanks. so the filter may last longer (altho it is very hard to tell). some other ppl may have dirty fuel tank or it could be the petrol from under the petrol station itself is full of little dirt.

http://autorepair.about.com/cs/doityourself/a/aa082203a_2.htm

**please read the whole article

i'd go with replacing once every year or every 2 years (cheapskate!). it is totally up to u. if u can gauge how 'dirty' ur fuel might be, formulate ur own schedule. but changing petrol filter every 6 months even with driving in KL, not economic la. the filter can take more than that. besides the dust which may come from transport n storage, the only time ur fuel tank is exposed to dust would be when u open the cap to refuel.

im using proton Wira petrol filter for my 20V. dirt cheaper. as long as the fuel supply 17" nut is the same, any EFI petrol filter (metal) will do.

Hahahahah even more cheapskate is people like me....NO FUEL FILTER AT ALL hahahahhaaha....so no need to worry about changing it laaa....just be prepared for some overhaul hahahahhaha

all trackcars like u do without the oil filter. it restricts the flow of fuel. besides, ur monster if pasang oil filter, the filter element will rosak from getting in the way of ur 108RON nitromethane fuel pushed by RB26DETT fuel pump :lol:

hahaha jk jk

AE80TypeD said:
all trackcars like u do without the oil filter. it restricts the flow of fuel. besides, ur monster if pasang oil filter, the filter element will rosak from getting in the way of ur 108RON nitromethane fuel pushed by RB26DETT fuel pump :lol:

hahaha jk jk

Ehhh where got RB26DET Fuel Pump....now using BOSCH SCANIA Transworld Trailer Fuel Pump Adi haaaaaa..

As for Fuel, I use Pure Xylene & Toluene up to 84%.....RON124 I tell u hahahhahahahahha

BAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAD for any kind of filter! :lol: hahahaha

GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOD for 130kmh corners @ 8150RPMs :lol:

ajnone said:
iaya sorry didn't read carefully.

aiyaaaaa...same goes to meeee...meuheheheeh...

fuel filter...aaaaa...changed once only...
when accelerating, my car jerk jerk a bit...checked at Trial Tunuing, then they said...

"fuel filter problem"...

oooo ok...then changed it...then no more jerking...

does oil catch tank has anything related to fuel filter...???

chinozie said:
aiyaaaaa...same goes to meeee...meuheheheeh...

fuel filter...aaaaa...changed once only...
when accelerating, my car jerk jerk a bit...checked at Trial Tunuing, then they said...

"fuel filter problem"...

oooo ok...then changed it...then no more jerking...

does oil catch tank has anything related to fuel filter...???

Oil Catch Tank...DIY talk to EFN..very easy to do....done it myself (can you believe it me DUMB and DUMBER)

hahahahaaa...cheapskate...muahahaahaa

speedcrave said:
Oil Catch Tank...DIY talk to EFN..very easy to do....done it myself (can you believe it me DUMB and DUMBER)

hahahahaaa...cheapskate...muahahaahaa

i know i know...:D
2 set summore...:D
if 1 fail, 2nd unit can take over...very cheap...:D :D

80000km or 2 years once should be nice. U won't believe the amount of stuff the little critter can filter.

BTW about AE80typeD's take about fuel pressure difference in the filter. This can easily be solved by soaking the whole fule filter in petrol and gently knocking the filter to get air bubbles out. There on installing is a little bit tricky. U need to plug both in and out, and then install the outlet first.

This problem was high lighted few years ago by 4AGE 16V owners at club4ag. Solution was provided.

ok ok ... i think it's the right time to change my petrol filter ... Tq Tq.all sifus here.. :smile: