Why is auto car less gear than manual?

richardtan

Dear Sifus,

I have been wondering why is it automatic cars generally is 1 gear lesser than a manual one?
While it is true the technology behind manual and auto are different, why does automatic car have to be given 1 gear less when it costs more for auto gear?

Sorry if this sounds like a noob question. hee hee. :hmmmm:

Enjoy your weekend. :burnout:

Best regards

Richard Tan

cos its costly to make an auto gearbox compared to a manual
not all auto gearbox comes with less one gear
volvo's , merce , hondas all come with 5-7speed auto

honda city is 7 speed auto
volvo s40 1999 is 5 speed auto
so many examples :D

new toyota camry is 4 speed auto
new honda accord is 5 speed auto :)

errr which one is the 1 gear less ? , hehehe i tink u mean proton ?

hahahaha.....so....wira 1.5 belongs to american muscle group...wahahahhahah

cos its costly to make an auto gearbox compared to a manual
not all auto gearbox comes with less one gear
volvo's , merce , hondas all come with 5-7speed auto

honda city is 7 speed auto
volvo s40 1999 is 5 speed auto
so many examples :D

new toyota camry is 4 speed auto
new honda accord is 5 speed auto :)

Thanks Jinkl.
Wow, I am impressed that Honda city is 7-speed. Does that not make it more expensive than if they just made it 5-speed ? But I guess 7-speed helps to save petrol?

Camry quite powerful right? I mean 2 litres or more. Not sure why Toyota made it only 4-speed.
But they know best.

errr which one is the 1 gear less ? , hehehe i tink u mean proton ?

Mine is Vios auto 4-speed. The Vios manual is 5-speed.

Dear Sifus,
Does it make sense to upgrade my 4-speed auto Vios to 5-speed auto ?
Would be too costly is it? Or should I say there is no such thingy?

Thanks also to Zektor and Pioneer411 for your generous contributions !!

:adore:

Thanks Jinkl.
Wow, I am impressed that Honda city is 7-speed. Does that not make it more expensive than if they just made it 5-speed ? But I guess 7-speed helps to save petrol?

Camry quite powerful right? I mean 2 litres or more. Not sure why Toyota made it only 4-speed.
But they know best.

Mine is Vios auto 4-speed. The Vios manual is 5-speed.

Dear Sifus,
Does it make sense to upgrade my 4-speed auto Vios to 5-speed auto ?
Would be too costly is it? Or should I say there is no such thingy?

Thanks also to Zektor and Pioneer411 for your generous contributions !!

:adore:

The new generations auto gearbox aka CVT(Continuous Variable Transmission) is does not have physical gear like manual gearbox does. It has infinite of gear ratio. Just that they preset it to 7. Different car manufacturer comes out with different design application with different name.

Some links for you to read:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Continuously_variable_transmission

http://auto.howstuffworks.com/cvt1.htm

tak tau the cvt gearbox tahan i BOT or not?
:bawling:

haha... That we have to try...

I think the Hp is not a problem, but the torque could be...

just afraid that it slips...

Low boost shouldn't be a problem

tak tau the cvt gearbox tahan i BOT or not?
:bawling:

haha... That we have to try...

I think the Hp is not a problem, but the torque could be...

just afraid that it slips...

Low boost shouldn't be a problem

Experience. BOT Satria 1.6 SOHC 4G92P.
TD04L + E-manage @ stock boost.

Auto gearbox hancurz in 2 weeks.... Lolz...

honda city imaginary 7 speed right,its using cvt,cable thingy,so it doesnt has ratio.
errrr.correct me if m wrong.

Even new evo got auto trans nowadays. Easier to drive. Freedom from clutch play.

Auto dont need to meddle with gear, more overdrive when cruising in top gear. just press hard on the throttle and it change by itself according to speed and throttle position. else, manual have to match the rpm with gear otherwise over rev and engine kaput

honda city imaginary 7 speed right,its using cvt,cable thingy,so it doesnt has ratio.
errrr.correct me if m wrong.

all gearbox got ratio..but in this,it just variable..hihi..:biggrin:

if don't have a ratio..no torque and top looo..just direct drive..:bike:

"7-speed" CVTs like the Honda City's dont even have torque converters... Just two cone bearings with a rubber belt. The CVT design doesnt work for high power output engines except for Audi's steelchain CVT, so stay away from turbos.

Only BMW's M5, Lexus' ISF and the new high end Mercs have real 7-speed gearboxes these days I think. The rest are infinitely variable CVTs, you can have 50 simulated gears with these gearboxes but CVTs dont feel as good as real gears and cannot handle power.

Fully automatic gearboxes have very different internal gear designs. Adding an additional gear in an auto gearbox is a lot more complicated than adding an additional gear in a manual gearbox, hence is more expensive, and hence they reduce the number of gears lor.

These days twin-clutch transmissions like VW's DSG is said to be more efficient to use and cheaper to make compared to a full auto, so VW plans to completely drop torque converter gearboxes and replace with DSG when DSG becomes smoother I hear...

evo 10 is using dsg kind of auto gearbox.its not truly an auto gearbox,it has 2 clutches to make shift faster.

but it lose to manual gearbox,tested,muehehehe.i guess i saw the video in hot version or best motoring.