Why Treuno or Levin is called AE86 ??

4agze said:
i second that! very detail...

titanrev, 20v is only available in Japan Spec so if you want original one you need to import lor.. those like recon cars. and there are 2 versions of 20v which is silvertop and blacktop. one is running with AFM (Air FLow) and MAP respectively. if stock engine, blacktop wins over supercharger. silvertop maybe lose a bit which im not so sure.

to titanrev, it is my personal opinion that the supercharger version is more powerful as the air is blown instead of being sucked.

but as the 20V has Four Thottle Body, it may has better breathing. This PLUS 20 valves (meaning can suck more air than 16 valves) and it is possible it performs better than the supercharged.

I believe 4AGZE knows this better.

and yes, 20V 4A-GEA is a JDM only. but half cut available, my fren (ex foremen at UMW Toyota) had converted his Corolla LE using AE101 Levin 20V Blacktop complete with dashboard. but suka2 only becoz still using 13" steel wheels. ha ha ha anybdy interested, may find him at his workshop (seremban).

rougly..how much for AE86 half cut??can somebody quote me the price?

need some info here on Corolla LE

i'm quite new to corollas...from the above post, knowing that the local Corolla LEs are coded AE80 and EE80..

1.3 AE80 uses 2A-C?
1.6 AE80 uses 4A-C?
1.3 EE80 uses 2E?

what about those 1.5 models?

(kinda confuse why there's different engine series on the same corolla models..includes the SE and SEG)

lastly,
from the Corolla LE model onwards (8th generation and 9th generation Corollas), whether fitted with A series or E series is a direct drop in for the newer AE101/111 4ag(z)e rite? how about 4E-FTE from the starlets?do I need to get a EE80 to drop in a 4E or AE80 for 4age?

(i've tried google and search through the forum..couldn't get much info)

pls advise..

thanks!

dear phillip,

engine code is used by manufacturers as to identify it easily by what and when.

other than Toyota (with so many engine designs), Mitsubishi too code their engines aggresively. this is just the sample....

4G13 - 1.3cc
4G15 - 1.5cc
4G18 - 1.6cc
4G91 - 1.5cc
4G92 - 1.6cc
4G93 - 1.8cc

regarding ur 1st question, i am sorory i do no have the answer as the 1.5 Corolla is an imported & reconditioned from Japan. Remember though that 5A engine has 1.5 litres displacement.

for your 2nd question, u can easily swap engines between A series and E series inside a FWD Corolla. Just minor modification needed, mainly the engine mountings. The best thing is to confirm with your mechanic b4 the transplant.

to totoro, refer to ur postings and is it really true that the inital figures of the codes is the generation of the model?

Totoro
Senior Member Join Date: Mar 2004
Trader Rating: (0)

Format is basically

[Engine Code][Chassis Code][Generation][Variant]

A - Engine code
E - Chassis code for Corolla
8 - Generation
6 - Variant

AE101 - 10th generation Corolla, first variant
AE111 - 11th generation Corolla, first variant

in my knowledge this is the sequence of Corolla model

1. FB10
2. KE10
3. KE20
4. KE30
5. KE70
6. AE/EE80 (same family with AE86)
7. EE90/AE92
8. EE100/AE101
9. EE111/AE111
10. ZZE121/122

where Corolla Altis is actually the 12th generation, somehow I ended with it being the 10th generation. correct me please if i am wrong.

zan said:
to totoro, refer to ur postings and is it really true that the inital figures of the codes is the generation of the model?

where Corolla Altis is actually the 12th generation, somehow I ended with it being the 10th generation. correct me please if i am wrong.

Well, that was what I read from some Toyota information before. And the codes do look correct. However, I wouldn't know if anything had changed lately.

corolla SE is using 4A-FE... the different between 4A-GE and 4A-FE is twin cam and single cam... so y calling levin or trueno AE86? AE86 is just same as EG6 or EK4... it is just the model no... A in AE86 stands for the engine - 4A-GE... just like supra... JZA80 - 2JZ-GTE or the latest soarer... UZZ40 - 3UZ-FE... each toyota model got it's own code... E - corolla... Z - soarer... A - supra... W - mr2 and so on...

alan_fung said:
corolla SE is using 4A-FE... the different between 4A-GE and 4A-FE is twin cam and single cam... so y calling levin or trueno AE86? AE86 is just same as EG6 or EK4... it is just the model no... A in AE86 stands for the engine - 4A-GE... just like supra... JZA80 - 2JZ-GTE or the latest soarer... UZZ40 - 3UZ-FE... each toyota model got it's own code... E - corolla... Z - soarer... A - supra... W - mr2 and so on...

Hehe dun shoot me ah dude but the SE using 4A-F..Carb and not fuel injection..

sorry dude... corolla SE as in AE90? if it's AE90... i would sure that... it is using 4A-FE... probably we were not talking about the same model of corolla... haha... =)

JDM (Corolla & Sprinter)

AE92 - 1600cc 4AGE
AE91 - 1500cc 5AF, 5AFE
EE90 - 1300cc 2E
CE91 - 1800cc (Diesel) 1C-II
AE95 - 1600cc 4AF

Cheers..

Totoro said:
Well, that was what I read from some Toyota information before. And the codes do look correct. However, I wouldn't know if anything had changed lately.

its alright then Totoro..please update me i f u come up to something.

this is another sample which confuse me to no end.

Camry 1994 (already launched in UK in 1992) is known as SXV10

the similar US no.1 seller Camry SXV20 followed suit in 1998.

the latest camry is known as ACV31/32.

which makes sense as the seqeunce is SXV10, SXV20 and ACV31.

but there is a Camry earlier in 1987, I have the group road test in What Car 1987 edition.

this means the SXV10 is not the 1st edition of Camry isn't it? :(

and what about the famous Corona of 1989 with 5S-FE 2.0 twin cam 16V..it is known as ST171.

is it the 17th model of Corona? i doubt so.... but the previous Corona 1.8GL (1984) is known as ST151 (for 1.8) and AT151 (for 1.6). was it the 15th generation? that many kaa Corona edition? :(