(WTA) Which suction kit is the best for performance

Any significant performance difference between open pod with shielding and a normal drop in filters?

Like you said there is a website that comments about air filters and I'd remember i went in before. Do you still have the URL? coz i can't recall it.

lanevo6 said:
Althou i m on HKS open pod but sheilding on CF box, gives u lower temp
but on Dyno testing gain actually can be seen on Apexi open pod compared to my HKS........

My advise if you can't spend on open pod with shielding, the best would be a drop in like ARC or Monster.

lanevo6, so apexi open pod or HKs mushroom better? Am thinking of changing my apexi to hks mushroom.

HKS damn mafan and expensive la. Every 3K km must change already. Even the hybrid triple layer is good for 7-8K km only.

I'd use K&N but I don't like oiled filters cause they always leave a residue on the MAF honeycomb, so I went with HKS. Wanted Apex'i but they only had the small 2.5" model. Even the HKS is just 4". The K&N that I destroyed was 6".

oh..by the way.. i got 1 used (2mths) k&n drop in air filter...anybody wants?hehe

yes..agree with cannon fodder. Although I supporter of HKS, for air-filter, I just stopped using them long time ago.

SARD is top of the chart in one of the Option Fans magazine test out of comparisons between all air filter if I remember correctly. HKS is the last, sad to say. If u want open pod, go for SARD, K&N or Airinx (Greddy) but not Pipercross. Piper cross material not suitable for high temp under the bonnet like evo !

Blitz material is not good for evos and K&N, I was told is too small for evos engine la. Those open pod type.

The best is suction kit or filter box. Get cold air intake mah..Monster, ARC. In fact K&N or Ralliart replacement kit on ori air intake box should be one of the best setup. Of course some says open pod feels better coz with open pod, u can hear the turbo spool and air suction OUT LOUD !! so feels better lor.

my dua sen sahaja.

yeah one more thing..for replacement filter, Airinx (greddy) also got for original air box besides ralliart and K&N.

NickNick,
Of course the open pod is better with the air ram and shielding= perfect HP gain
LanEvo,
As i said on Dyno using the same setup HKS Suction kit+mushroom+CF Box vs changing only the Apexi Dual funnal cone type, 3hp different but top end hks is better. Mayb we can swap he heeeee he. Pls note this is on my setup may vary on others.

Sucking hot air will lower your HP and for our wheather no need to say lah....
My air temp is 38 - 40 C.

B18C-R,
if you're reading this mayb can share ur air temp with us since ur on PWR FC too.

yeah .. like lanevo said.. if use open pod.. need to do the separation..

Normally how long an open pot filter will last? or we just need to clean it with cleaner kit only?
I use my Blitz open pot for more than a year liao, just time to time take it out to clean it with air gun & add some filter oil on it only.

Hmmm, how much the Sard filter will cost? what is the size? will it be too big untill can't fit into my filter box??:sad_smile:

The Sard can't fit into the filter box coz it's too big!!..

De best is Open pod with heat shield together with C-West style front bumper + bonnet!!! Am sure de intake tempt wil b very low thus very efficient!!! More hp for ur Evo!!! :_:

but bro....today isaw the hks suction kit (i'm in kl now)...the workmanship was damn ugly la....don really worth ...tat my opinion la......

therefore, i get my self an ARC air bx...cheerzzzz..!! not have go bac to custom the piping...

somemore, i saw the blizt at wangan......eh..don really like the filtr....seem too small..even is cheap and with he heat shield....

Final decision go for ARC
hahaha

sing,

take my apexi's filter kits with heatsheild and apexi's adaptor (connector)..
sell you cheap cheap.. ok...

well.. end day it's all about R&D and testing products... what you want and get is always a personal feel... to me there is no bad products... just difference in usage to different cars and different expectations!!!..hehehe

yeah bro leslie, u r rite....is all depend on urself.

Stopid,
Seng la.....not sing....don wan to singing eh....
Apexi.....haha...how cheap first...but i get mtself the arc already....i help u find ppl to buy lol.....anyway, nice meeting u...first met already leeting me sweat like hell....LOL

seng,
the filter..no problem..

of course la.. sure sweat la..wat you expect ar ??? hahaaa

stopid..

next time go over then call u for yamca la....remember intro chicx for me wo..hahahaha