ZEROTOHUNDRED official magazine

bro, my suggestion is, to set up a company solely for the magazine bro. try not to involve 3rd party with their KDN license. KDN license can be applied easily. as for the printing cost, the company may need at least 6 months in advance cost depending also on quantity. and distribution, we do it on our own and not appoint distributor as that may take time for us to roll our money.

normally magazine distributors, they take around 15% out of the retail price, while another 15% more goes to the shops. and it takes 3 issues for them to hand over our 1st issue sale. if 1 month an issue, 3 issues would be 3 months or 90 days for turnover for the 1st issue. bad business at the end of the day. and that 15% or so, it's better to be given to the ZTH members who'd be willing to distirbute and in this case, everyone wins hehe.

bummer, was waiting for something like this for a long time hehe. raxzee, we shall meet bro, and we can share ideas and strategic planning to ensure maximum turnover and coverage.

and another thing, i reckon in ZTH, we have good members with various interesting backgrounds. that i am so sure. to ensure the magazine runs wel, we need content writers, technical writers, photgraphers, art directors, creative director, graphic designers, proof readers (important), editor, executive editor, marketeer, promotional and advertizing executives and sponsorship hehe. this is the break down of a well organized desktop publishing company that will ensure quality and smooth running of ZEROTOHUNDRED Magazine.

hope Tom reads this hehe. this is a hell of a good idea in realizing and making ZTH known to lotsa people in lotsa places hehe.

i am supportive to the idea. i have seen various car magazines becoming really successful. i have purchased hypertune for sometime but stopped, sometimes i find it's a good initial effort but the magazine is just unlike those sold in aust...

photo quality... write ups....etc just not up to it yet.

as for ZTH, i think the idea may be a noble one but i have considered once to start publishing a trading post. similar to that of melbourne's, it's a rather successful paper with various things sold there. something like the star metro classified. but dedicated to classifieds.

anyhow, the biggest problem when i started to make enquiries were LICENSING. the govt ain't going to just let u publish any magazine. There is too many regulatory issues about this. As the magazine will be sold to the general public, it just isn't like any monthly report of a club.

I think you guys know where I am getting to.

But if someone does get a license, I am sure then could we all sit together again to discuss job scopes. I am here to help in anyway i can

good advice monmon. but as for the licensing hehe, i know of someone in ZTH here who's with KDN hehe. monthly, we have to allocate 5 copies of the magazine to KDN for them to keep in the archive. there are definitely guidelines for us to follow, but it is not impossible to gain the license.

cool that means its all possible.

i reckon its definitely a feasible effort. money to be made too.

but who is going to do this setup? it sure would require hell a lot of man power and a dedicated team. u know how we all crap talk around here, some facts are true but not all, and there's always arguments to whose is right.

i guess a lot of ppl are willing to share their knowledge or the editor could copy off the internet/books hahahah copyright!!! hehehehe but i have bought a number of books from the states which they sell at powerzone for 3 times the price.

advertisements (if $ is collected is good money, i know the magazines give a credit term, ppl from the old active power have not paid their dues to motor trader). articles could be contributed. printing in malaysia is DIRT CHEAP.

if something does take off, i am not sure where i can help, drop me a PM.

Originally posted by subsonique@Apr 4 2005, 15:32
good advice monmon. but as for the licensing hehe, i know of someone in ZTH here who's with KDN hehe. monthly, we have to allocate 5 copies of the magazine to KDN for them to keep in the archive. there are definitely guidelines for us to follow, but it is not impossible to gain the license.
[snapback]866905[/snapback]​

does anyone in here work or own a printing company? Maybe they like to join by just print for us or give us a credit for first print...or give us special prices for printing a magazine!

yup setting up a team is something to be done initially. we need to identify the people, good people who can contribute their time and knowledge for the good of the magazine. maybe we can start off like an issue or 2 without any pay. we do it voluntarily, but once there's turnover, even a little bit, it is to be shared among staffs. this is an incentive for them to contribute more.

about arguments, there's bound to happen, but do it professionally. it will be fine, as it's only done in the interest of the magazine, and none other. sponsorship and advertisements are of essentials to keep on running hehe. i can try to hook some familiar names in the industry to monthly support the advertisements hehe, JFA being one of them hehe. it'll be a trade off, we get it running, and they'd get mileage of their business. win win situation if you asked me hehe. bummer, i am shaking all over thinking of pulling this hehe.

raxzee, i have a Creative Services company but no printing la hehe. but i do have friends that do printing of course, i am their regular client hehe. the printing cost can be minimized if we know what we want at the end of the day hehe. the more we print, the cheaper it gets per copy, but in the open market, we'd be sharing the cakes with other magazines, such as Hypertune, TRAFFIC and others. so, the total quatity per issue to be printed plays a crucial factor. and forecast for the worst that, no or minimal turnover for at least 6 months, simply because the magazine is new and takes time for people to learn of its existence. got to keep afloat during that period hehe.

Kusa...I would like u to join us, bole? For Battosai...thanx for your cooperation and also to subsonique!

About the company...I already got my own company that has an account in RHB Bank so we use my company name for official business.

Firstly, I would like to ask how to contact Tom? Does anyone have his no?

Secondly, we have to have a printer that can support us like giving us a credit for our first issue printing or we can find any company that would like to advertise in our first issue magazine before it publish so we can gain money from there to cover up our printing cost! So...before everything start we do a mockup of what our magazine look like and show to our clients and ask them if they like to advertise with us. Then after we got enough money or at least half the cost, we can start printing with no high risk problem. So who's gonna take charge in this task?

Thirdly, Please list down ur name below with what u gonna do for this magazine:

1) raxzee-creative and design
2) subsonique-creative and design
3) Battousai-Writer
4)...

I guess there are plenty of printers around. I happen to use a couple of them myself. If you need an indication, I could get a quote. I just need these figures
No. of pages
Full colour i believe for all
Quality of paper
no. of copies

yes, the number of copies makes it significant. the more u print the cheaper per book. the math really needs to be right, its always good to print less and let there be demand b4 printing more. if u print 1000 which costs u $500 , printing 2000 will not be $1000 but something like $750.

i do not know where i could contribute, but i think its best we have the consent of tom and whoever else may have a say in this whole thing.

it's really not easy to set this up. there'll need to be $$$ involved to have the whole thing going. dedicated ppl doing dedicated work, volunteers dun really work. u need a team and a place, ppl doing the sales for ads...etc. articles may come by contribution. graphic work... how much can all of us put into this.

what effort is this going to be? do we pay for everyone's contribution and donate the rest to charity? it's a good idea, i mean ppl get paid and profit goes to charity? what do all of ya think? i know some of u gonna flame me :) hahahaha

razxee, good thinking there bro. we can go under your company no problem. on the printer side, if there is no ZTH members that do printing, then i would gladly find someone whom i can persuade to contribute on the 1st issue of the magazine. we can do contra if that is what you are looking for. give them an advertizing space, like 1 full page and maybe they can subsidize the printing cost.

as for the advertizers, we can do mock up but it is hard to convince them to advertize. simply because of the circulation. first thing they are gonna ask, what's the circulation like, how many copies per month, where selling and so on. without these infos, we can hardly get em to advertize. what we can do is to run the magazine, without or just a small number of advertizers (if they want la), for at least 3 months. by then, we can fully kencing them about out circulation. and mind you, these shops, outlets, companies etc do subscribe to local car magazines to maintain their sales. within that 3 months, we shall seek potential advertizers to come with us. JFA is eager to advertize, NITRO can be apprehanded, so as Grandpire and Futurestyle.

raxzee, i can also seek advertizers if needed to. this is so exciting hehe.

monmon, exactly bro. as for the volunteers and such, that is the worst case scenario. trust me, it works, for a certain period. not too long la hehe. upon getting the profit, it shall be reimbursed to the volunteers as incentives. charity is also good, but we can always do some big event (if turnover is good la), such as ZTH Annual Party where cars from all over Malaysia gather to celebrate hehe. in that way, we can still get sponsorships for the event and extra money to be given to charity hehe.

bummer, this is one good discussion la hehe. count me all in bro. right now, we hand it over to Tom for further consideration.

we can go for small2 accessories shop first, kedai potong or workshop! Anyway...good support from u subsonique...thanks!

I hope Tom will see this soon so we can start the work fast! Can anyone who knows him tell him bout this topic?

raxzee, goof thinking bro. that's 1 way to keep it afloat hehe. we support their business and in terun, we support theirs. give em some extra mileage, coverage of their stores or shops. they are gonna like it. and since they will become public attention, they will have to provide better services or suffer complaints hehe. no problem bro, i love helping espeically when it involves motorsports. it's my passion. we shall meet bro. and thanks to you for bringing this topic up.

bro's,
get a demographic, i bet TOM has one somewhere and i believe ZTH has an amazing demographic that will be able to convince any advertisers.

yes sonique, u know we have currently 11372 registered members in ZTH Auto Enthusiasts Forum and there are hidden members tat could do the following positions u have mentioned on. I think this ZTH Magazine publication might be running on Tom's head for so long ago .. isnt it Tom? more than that we have great drivers tat performing well in running on our own events .. i mean ZTH organised events .. especially Tom himself is a great photographer and his articles are very impresive .. and this Auto Enthusiast's Network (ZEROTOHUNDRED.COM) forum is an online magazine itself arent they?

in my thinking we have to improve in sponsoring organisation to less burden ZTH itself my cutting down cost in Magazine publishing.

we will see around Malaysia will be running a succesfull also colourful ZTH Auto' Enthusiast' Magazine in future.

Advanced Congratulations ZTH ..

Just let me know where I can help out.
1) Printing?
2) A&P?
3) Events?
4) TV Productions?

I'm in the above industry.