• Honda Accord 2.0

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Toyota Camry 2.0

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

zan

the 5th segment include cars with a wide range overlapping top spec Civics onto entry model Accords.

i try to enable multiple votes. there are few more models for this segment but the vote list allows max 10, so i only include the best to everybody's interest.

Quite hard to choose this one. If you are to save a 10 - 20K from your 150K budget, you get some pretty good choices in the Civic, Lynx or Focus. Go the distance and you get the Camry or the Accord. Personally, I'd go straight for the Accord (although there would be a new model coming soon). The Camry is just too big and feels unwieldy. Want to save some buck then go for the Civic (new model coming as well). Focus I reckon to be an excellent buy if you don't know what you are doing. It's the safe choice.

In what way? Equipment levels? The 156 might be something I'd plonk for though.

You watch Top Gear right? Like they would say, the Italians are obsessed with styling and sought to make a great car with the 147 (or all Alfas!), not just something for the marketing man to promote. Thats what the interior and little design touches of the 147 tell me. And Alfas got history. ; )

The 1.6 power plant is no slouch either, and sounds fantastic for a 4 cyllinder. But yeah, I dig the 156 2.5V6 more.

I would say the new Focus is still a better choice for the majority and ordinary, but I'd take the Alfa for its aesthetics and history...

this group includes models of different class..
i think the pollling should be done on different class segments and not prices..

Zeroed said:
You watch Top Gear right? Like they would say, the Italians are obsessed with styling and sought to make a great car with the 147 (or all Alfas!), not just something for the marketing man to promote. Thats what the interior and little design touches of the 147 tell me. And Alfas got history. ; )

The 1.6 power plant is no slouch either, and sounds fantastic for a 4 cyllinder. But yeah, I dig the 156 2.5V6 more.

I would say the new Focus is still a better choice for the majority and ordinary, but I'd take the Alfa for its aesthetics and history...
I'm a Top Gear nut. I know what you are talking about. I agree with you about Alfas intrinsic values. I love Alfas and would love to own one in future. They are gorgeous cars. But, while the 156 would pull the heart strings the 3 series Beemer would scoop all the awards. Like Clarkson once said, "If you want the best car in its class, buy the 3 series BMW. But if you want to be perceived as a human being, buy something else." He wasn't being very serious with that but what I'm trying to say is that the Car of the Year would be the best overall car, not the car you like the most.

I stay with my initial decision. Given the full budget up to 150K, the Accord is the best here.

ehaab said:
i think the pollling should be done on different class segments and not prices..
Zan wants to emulate Evo's eCoty, which for 2005, goes by price brackets. Actually only 2, realistic and ridiculous, hehe.

The Accord is so dull though. But yeah, I get what you mean by your definition of Car of the Year (and a correct one at that). Putting the majority in mind however, I'd still hit the Ford Focus, unless space is of a major concern. Its still got more of a heritage to live up to than the Accord, and does so accordingly... IMO.

But again, Im one who puts aesthetics above logical sense. Its difficult to make practicality appealing to me. If it gets dirty easily, wash. If its tight in there, squeeze. :biggrin:

The Accord's ok. Yeah it's dull but so is just about every other Japanese or Euro box. Don't really like the new Focus' looks. The last one was a real head turner, the new one is just safe. The ST version is hot though.

si|verfish said:
The Accord's ok. Yeah it's dull but so is just about every other Japanese or Euro box. Don't really like the new Focus' looks. The last one was a real head turner, the new one is just safe. The ST version is hot though.

agreed.i dont like the new ford focus sedan look..i prefer the previous version..much sportier.

ehaab said:

malaysian COTY according to market segments is an annual occasion done by News Straits Times. IMo its also ridiculous as the price gap is too wide for some models.

for example in supermini class, which would you vote?

1) Perodua Myvi -45K
2) Honda Jazz - 95K

note that malaysians buy cars according to how deep their wallets are; as most of us do.

If for me, I choose the Ford Lynx RS.
2 litre, comfort + performance.
Sporty specs and very good looking.

Zeroed said:

agree bout the alfa part..
but replace the focus with accord.. IMHO..

i dun think we're gettin anywhere laa..
if the whole malaysia votes.. i think the accord wud win..
but tis being an enthusiast site..
im sure alfas and civics wud be popular..

btw, i vote for alfas.. its ITALIAN!

Wow, didn't know there are Alfa fans lurking around. Cheers guys. Anybody wants to sell theirs?