3S-FE,GE,GTE Discussion/Gathering

I always loved pop-up headlights... too bad the international rules for automobiles have changed and pop-up headlamps that suits the regulations are expensive and difficult to produce ... :( sad case

Guys...anyone wanna sell their ST171 stock mudflaps and the plastic lining just below the doors ??!

On the gearbox topic, a friend of mine's using the GTE with his 171 FE gearbox & guess what ? It's more long winded that a Vtec !

I just don't get it. On the GE engine with FE g/box, it's too short breath; then on a turbo, it should be even shorter, right ? Nope, it's the other way round.

Maybe I should get myself a FE g/box & forget about the top speed. What say you, Kev ?

Yeah, photography is a real nice hobby. Love it too but just couldn't afford it.

XMika,

just PM GT4WD, don't wait too long.

@ xMika, ya, laws change. I wonder how would the ST 171 look like with those pop out headlamp, I think it would look rather weird cause in my mind those pop out headlamp usually are for sport car with coupe body like RX-7 another example, haha.

About the mudflaps, I remove mine not that long ago, although I have to clean my car more often now but it do look a lot better for my car which is using a 13inch steel rim. But I do wonder, the next time my car get repaint, maybe I should ask that the mudflaps plus the black rubber strip around the ST171 to be painted to the same colors as the car body, wonder will it look nice, hmm...

@2o2r : Haha, another mystery about the 3S engine with their gearbox.

That's the problem with the GTE in FF configuration. You can never get a correct ratio using a FF g/box & when you use the MR2's g/box, you'll have a headache with the drive shafts; having to use the GZE's which another extinct/rare part.

No wonder the GTE is not so popular, I guess.

yeah u can say that again! i'm using a 3sge with a 3sfe gearbox, and the acceleration is perfect but the cruising is worrying me... engine sounds abit to high... worried can't safe petrol on long trips...

That's the problem with the GTE in FF configuration. You can never get a correct ratio using a FF g/box & when you use the MR2's g/box, you'll have a headache with the drive shafts; having to use the GZE's which another extinct/rare part.

No wonder the GTE is not so popular, I guess.

Mate,
Numbers of example had completed test and happy face.

3S-GTE with MR2 Gearbox.

Specification:
Chassis- ST171
Planed Engine:3S-GTE, STwhatever

Transmission:
1. MR2, 3S-GTE gearbox with drive shaft.
2. ST171 Manual gearbox set, (anything related to transmission are required)

the rest, i'll leave it to you for imagination, buzz me for tea if you want to know more lah. lolz

---------- Post added at 09:50 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:47 AM ----------

@GT4WD, you've got PM haha

PM replied! lolz:biggrin:

I know there're many around but like I said, the ratio issue & then when you get the ratio right with the MR2 box, then it's the drive shaft issue.

Somewhat considered as a hassle or imperfection to me. Trust me, I know how a ratio issue feels :laugh:

I'm not saying it won't work, it could have been better, that's all.

well, you've got the point.

ST171 with 3S-GE (ST202), none Beams. standard ST171 gearbox with e-managed - nice ratio = power
ST171 with 3S-GTE (ST185-ST205), Standard ST171 gearbox with e-manage - Nice ratio = power, just that kick start would be slightly heavy.
ST171 with 3S-GTE (ST185-ST205), MR2 gear ratio but ST171 gearbox housing - Nice ratio = power.

ST171 with BEAMS = Never try yet... lolz :driver:

i'm on 4WD, so cant comment much on ST171 and didn't personally try.

Bro,

you know the guy with the 171 BEAMS ? Is his totally standard with manual trans ? If so, maybe one of these days, you should intro us so that we could compare notes, huh ?

So far I've only met 1 other BEAMS owner but with a SEG body. His car was not "healthy" when we met up coz he can even keep up with the BTs. His has the original manual trans. I last heard he fitted the e-manage ultimate & raised the rev cut, he says it's better now but I won't know how much better is better.

i know who's the SEG BEAMS, he was here last time and you guys hocked up for gathering around your place. his not having BEAMS gearbox woh, am i right?

ST171 BEAMS no idea, so far din hear any, but ST180, BEAMS yes... long lost bro! lolz long long time didn't see him or contacted him already..

---------- Post added at 12:47 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:39 PM ----------

note:
BEAMS none turbo, please stick with BEAMS stock gearbox. is not easy to find but there's out there somewhere.

BEAMS with Turbo = kind a lot of option for ya... depending what you want loh...

and mate,

I've put my Four in sleep for past 8 months tho... in fact, i'm slowing down on car already... driving kelisa only.. lolz

Yeah, that's the guy. His had the original manual trans g/box from the BEAMS; confirmed.

Orr...I thought it was a 171 with BEAMS. Nevermind la, very soon we'll be having a 171 with BEAMS here soon mar, XMika hor...:flute:

Running around with a Kelisa...I guess that's classified as "semi-retired" liao:laugh:

Yeah, that's the guy. His had the original manual trans g/box from the BEAMS; confirmed.

Orr...I thought it was a 171 with BEAMS. Nevermind la, very soon we'll be having a 171 with BEAMS here soon mar, XMika hor...:flute:

Running around with a Kelisa...I guess that's classified as "semi-retired" liao:laugh:

hm.. thought he didn't have a complete set before? flywheel? beam one or else?
engine, flywheel, and gearbox tho... clutch can play lah.

XMika,
if you're looking for BEAMS floor engine, i would advise you to look for the map sensor and gearbox first, else you'll claim the engine not performing tho.

my engine comes with coins, engine wiring, ecu and flywheel, but not the map sensor and gearbox as i've sold the box... hehe :listen:

When I met him, he told me he got everything from the halfcut, he only didn't use the dashboard. Infact he even had an after market extractor !

He was using a 6 spd BT before he converted to the BEAMS coz he thought that the BEAMS was more powerful. He was disappointed. He joined the Touge King for a run at the Pos Slim/Cameron & was left far behind.

I suspect something is amiss or not right with his engine, just couldn't pin-point it.

The other BEAMS owner is from Ipoh, he's mechanic & has the BEAMS in his LE which he races at SIC. When I last met him, his project is not completed, so I wouldn't know what's the story now.

Pretty much like you, I'm also semi/fully retired these days...:laugh: Only difference is I spent my money on my bicycle instead of cameras..

question,
Anything had done on his halfcut when he first purchased or is pure stock?

what about starting up engine, air fuel ratio, thick black smoke and crack sensor?

Definitely something not right and require trouble shoot.

BEAMS on LE??? freaking light man.... 800KG LE with BEAMS.... faint... mine are tans~!!!
Good handling and roll cage is a must of required.

man, bike is fun and healthy sport. but i'm just more toward business on photography... hehehe

He himself is a mechanic, so what can I say ?:laugh:

That LE is strictly for track use only, so it has a full cage & adjustable suspension & all to match it's power & not to mention a good driver too, I heard.

I was also selling bicycle parts online when I was "in between jobs". It's always nice when you can do what you like & at the same time, make some money out of it. Now that I'm working full time again, I just don't have the time to handle my online business anymore.