3S-FE,GE,GTE Discussion/Gathering

well bro...the sxe10 engine is a better choice coz it drives the rear wheels.... but y would u do that to such a lovely ol school car! restore it to it's former glory! and put webers!

I m done with T series engine la bro. Got many "challenging" experience with the old school engine. I time almost suffocate when my 3TGTE gone to rich on fuel while driving from Kluang to Seremban, luckily I was near Tangkak exit that time. and the list of "gremlins" from that engine goes on and on and on... I just want a piece of mind. :-)

ahhh...ok ok...i understand...been in that shoes ady...wat's the original cc of ur car??? i think ta28 should be 2.0 rite??

The original engine is 3TC (1600cc). Just before I bought it from the owner 6yrs ago, he swap it with 3TGTE (1800cc) twin spark turbo, another oldskool toyota engine. I been using it since then. I m thinking of swapping it with either 3sge sxe10 or 3sgte. As for 3sgte, I m still sourcing out more info. I want it to be street legit, so if anyone know more info, kindly share it with me.

p/s if only can put in 1uzfe and pass the puspakom...heheheh

---------- Post added at 11:01 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:00 PM ----------

The original engine is 3TC (1600cc). Just before I bought it from the owner 6yrs ago, he swap it with 3TGTE (1800cc) twin spark turbo, another oldskool toyota engine. I been using it since then. I m thinking of swapping it with either 3sge sxe10 or 3sgte. As for 3sgte, I m still sourcing out more info. I want it to be street legit, so if anyone know more info, kindly share it with me.

p/s if only can put in 1uzfe and pass the puspakom...heheheh:biggrin:

Ya.. Just use ron97 for turbo is better. If feel can't effort to use ron97 for daily basis, just use ron95 from Caltex.

hello all 3s sifu..just join into 3s club...now doing conversion 3sgte st205 into rav4..im looking for driveshaft on left side rav4 2005 4wd
model:TA-ACA21W
engine: 1AZ-FSE
transaxle:U140F

can anyone help me ??pm me or give me mesg, 0168855421..

Driveshaft buy new one la .. not expensive ... around RM250 i bought few months ago ... made in japan ones .. for st171

oic..hmm u buy for st171 same with new rav4?

the problem i facing is i convert my rav4 into st205 manual,my right side drive ok(rav4 drive shaft, if use st205 is too long),but left side driveshaft also long using st205 but when use rav4 is perfect length but inner cv not same.anyone convert before? i found that new rav4 is same inner cv and length i wanted and slight mod the outer driveshaft.anyone selling it?

ps im looking 1 set lefthand side driveshaft.

3S compression is 9.0:1 ...

Based on Honda Malaysia page...they mentioned that Civic with 10.5:1,it's compatible with RON95...while the Civic Type R with compression 11.7:1, recommended ron97...not saying can't used...but recommended...think about it...

soo based on this..you can say that 3S is very likely can use ron95...
heyy...even i'm using it...manage to chase Audi A4... :D

It's about tuning the engine to the compatible fuel...

I buy st171 cv joint/drive shaft for my st171 lo ..

In that case of urs .. maybe you need to use trial and error method .. so you need a longer drive shaft or shorter ?

i want short one, for the left side.....the aca21w rav4 new model have the driveshaft i want but rare find in my place here at kuching..rav4 1az parts very few here..can help me find?im not sure got what other model car same with this car, since no driveshaft st205 that short 1.5 inch.

ohh you're in kuching .. then its really abit hard to source the parts .. maybe you can contact Wing Hin Auto .. the main importer for toyota parts i think .. call them to ship to you

hi all.. i am newbie on this forum.. also using corona ST171 3s-FE auto transmission..
i just wanna know if there have 3s-GTE outhere also have an auto transmission that i can swap into my ST171?
anybody know how much for that half cut?

Welcome Mistaken Identity,
Going for an engine transplant this year, probably going for 3S-GE, anybody know what is the market price for this engine plus estimated cost price for transplant. And what is the fuel consumption for this engine. Thanks.

Not much ST171 are active here, sad. :bawling:

Welcome Mistaken Identity,
Going for an engine transplant this year, probably going for 3S-GE, anybody know what is the market price for this engine plus estimated cost price for transplant. And what is the fuel consumption for this engine. Thanks.

Not much ST171 are active here, sad. :bawling:

Thanks ...

yea, i just planning to transplant new engine. i just thinking about 3s-GTE. but i just want to know if i can use that engine with an auto transmission.. is that possible to do with that?

Hi Mistaken,

Yes you can use the 3SGTE with an auto trans; provided the the 3SGTE comes with an auto trans ECU & the only 3SGTE with auto trans that I know of is the Caldina. Almost all the 3SGTE comes with 4WD, regardless of manual or auto; except the MR2.

So if you wanna use the 3SGTE with an auto 2WD trans, I'd suggest you get a Caldina halfcut & mate it with yr ST171 auto g/box.

Hi Phileos,

Any idea which 3SGE model are you talking about ? Off hand I can think about 4 models with different spec that fits the ST171.

I think you should be more specific with the details of yr question.