3S-FE,GE,GTE Discussion/Gathering

hey hey I'm also looking for the 3rd gen 3SGE halfcut ... the one with 175~180 HP .. my dad dowan me to get the red top beams because I keep telling him bout the 200HP it can produce .. my dad was afraid that I will go speed kao kao with it haha ..

---------- Post added at 12:12 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:09 AM ----------

Welcome Mistaken Identity,
Going for an engine transplant this year, probably going for 3S-GE, anybody know what is the market price for this engine plus estimated cost price for transplant. And what is the fuel consumption for this engine. Thanks.

Not much ST171 are active here, sad. :bawling:

hi phileos, i think i saw your car 3 weeks ago at the usj 4 traffic lights heading towards ss19 .. you have a spoiler on your car too right ? silver and has W & G in your number plate ... ST171 hehe .. i was behind you

Rusty,
Well, budget speaks first, first of all I want to know all the prices first, 2nd is power. I'm looking for something from N/A. Well I haven't decide on which gen i was going, I couldn't find any information on those celica engines, tried wiki b4, anyway what are the option I have? Was thinking about Red top last time, but I'm guessing its very expensive. Maybe xMika 3rd gen is nice and parts availability is very important as well. Or maybe a fine decent 1st and 2nd gen can be well explained about their differences. What are fuel consumption likes on these engine?:driver:

xMika,
LoL that wasn't me, hahas as my car doesn't have a spoiler. That I can guarantee. Kaka, my car is registered with B. Spot 1 st171 last time at kepong area, saw 2 teenager inside. Wonder who was it.

Edit,
Well after a quick survey, 3rd gen 3SGE should be producing 170 bhp plus?should be sufficient for me.ST185 or St202 differences?I'm expecting 3K. Cheaper is better with good condition. As well together with the gearbox,brake,dashboard and ecu. Basically everything to make the engine run. I Dont need all the body parts.

hey hey I'm also looking for the 3rd gen 3SGE halfcut ... the one with 175~180 HP .. my dad dowan me to get the red top beams because I keep telling him bout the 200HP it can produce .. my dad was afraid that I will go speed kao kao with it haha ..

---------- Post added at 12:12 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:09 AM ----------

hi phileos, i think i saw your car 3 weeks ago at the usj 4 traffic lights heading towards ss19 .. you have a spoiler on your car too right ? silver and has W & G in your number plate ... ST171 hehe .. i was behind you

Xmika,

Your dad is worried that if you have the BEAMS engine with 200 ps, you'll speed kaw2 but it's OK with him that you have an engine with 20 ps less... :hmmmm:

Phileos,

If yr main concern is the cost, then what is yr budget to begin with ?

Unsure, would be awesome if 3-4K is sufficient for 3rd gen.

I have not visited chop shops for a long time but I figure that should be the price for the halfcut. Used to be around RM 2.5 - 3k those days. Anyway, there's not much demand for this halfcut, so should be quite cheap. Mostly of this 180 ps model are floor units/ enjin lantai.

Good to hear that. Start saving already,floor units/enjin lantai as in the Engine together with all the parts that will served as in operating the enjin?

Normally what referred as floor engines are "lose" engines; meaning incomplete with gearbox or wiring. It's normally the engine unit by itself & often used as replacement i.e. if you are already having the same engine but the engine kong; so instead of overhauling it, you may want to just dump in an engine by itself instead of buying a complete halfcut bcoz you need the other parts that are not broken.

I know, that's why I'd recommend a halfcut instead of floor units for 1st time conversions coz incomplete parts will cause a lot of problems later on.

Hi Mistaken,

Yes you can use the 3SGTE with an auto trans; provided the the 3SGTE comes with an auto trans ECU & the only 3SGTE with auto trans that I know of is the Caldina. Almost all the 3SGTE comes with 4WD, regardless of manual or auto; except the MR2.

So if you wanna use the 3SGTE with an auto 2WD trans, I'd suggest you get a Caldina halfcut & mate it with yr ST171 auto g/box.

Hi Phileos,

Any idea which 3SGE model are you talking about ? Off hand I can think about 4 models with different spec that fits the ST171.

I think you should be more specific with the details of yr question.

owh.. that mean older auto G/Box ( 3s-FE ) can fit with that caldina engine.. but i must using ECU from that caldina engine ( also 3s-GTE ) ?
if it true that mean i must start looking for caldina half cut...

btw.. thanks a lot for the answer. i appreciate that.. i'm newbie with toyota model & turbo..
and i also dunno about turbo maintanance. still looking for information step by step & reading many thing about it..
but if turbo engine is pretty hard t maintain.. i wish any suggestion any N/A engine can fit to my ST171 which more powerfull than my old 3S-FE or maybe just doing something to that old engine or piping or anything as long as it didnt make that engine blow up or flying without wing.. hehehe :driver:

great thxs to you and any members of this forum who can help newbie like me.. hhheehhe
thxs a lot.......

Rusty,
Yeap, will go for halfcut. Thanks for your advice. Learn few stuff here.Anyway sir, yourself is a ST171 driver as well? =)

Mistaken Identity,
You can go back to this very own thread which I believe some other forumer had already discussed about ST171 transplant, from there I read that stock ST171 gearbox can be paired up with 3SGE.Better if you can match the change the gearbox together with the engine. Since you wanted so much of power, maybe you can consider 3SGE Beams,Redtop producing 200hp for a N/A. Definitely 3SGE series onwards should satisfy your hunger for power.

owh.. that mean older auto G/Box ( 3s-FE ) can fit with that caldina engine.. but i must using ECU from that caldina engine ( also 3s-GTE ) ?
if it true that mean i must start looking for caldina half cut...

btw.. thanks a lot for the answer. i appreciate that.. i'm newbie with toyota model & turbo..
and i also dunno about turbo maintanance. still looking for information step by step & reading many thing about it..
but if turbo engine is pretty hard t maintain.. i wish any suggestion any N/A engine can fit to my ST171 which more powerfull than my old 3S-FE or maybe just doing something to that old engine or piping or anything as long as it didnt make that engine blow up or flying without wing.. hehehe :driver:

great thxs to you and any members of this forum who can help newbie like me.. hhheehhe
thxs a lot.......

You're most welcome, Mistaken Identity.

We're here to share what we know, that's all.

I didn't say you HAVE to go for turbo if you're worried about the maintenance. You asked about the 3SGTE mateing an auto trans, so I explained. You have other options like the 3SGE but difficulty in maintaining a turbo engine is a myth to me. If you use it with the original spec (meaning not modded), it's just like any other NA engine. It doesn't really require any special attention. Only the fuel consumption is higher than NA.

Google up the 3SGE engine if you think you prefer NA. They'll fit yr ST171 with no problem & they also have some with auto trans if you prefer.

Rusty,
Yeap, will go for halfcut. Thanks for your advice. Learn few stuff here.Anyway sir, yourself is a ST171 driver as well? =)

Mistaken Identity,
You can go back to this very own thread which I believe some other forumer had already discussed about ST171 transplant, from there I read that stock ST171 gearbox can be paired up with 3SGE.Better if you can match the change the gearbox together with the engine. Since you wanted so much of power, maybe you can consider 3SGE Beams,Redtop producing 200hp for a N/A. Definitely 3SGE series onwards should satisfy your hunger for power.

You're most welcome, Phileos.

I'm not a ST171 owner, I have the older model; the ST150.

You're most welcome, Mistaken Identity.

We're here to share what we know, that's all.

I didn't say you HAVE to go for turbo if you're worried about the maintenance. You asked about the 3SGTE mateing an auto trans, so I explained. You have other options like the 3SGE but difficulty in maintaining a turbo engine is a myth to me. If you use it with the original spec (meaning not modded), it's just like any other NA engine. It doesn't really require any special attention. Only the fuel consumption is higher than NA.

Google up the 3SGE engine if you think you prefer NA. They'll fit yr ST171 with no problem & they also have some with auto trans if you prefer.

You're most welcome, Phileos.

I'm not a ST171 owner, I have the older model; the ST150.

ok2 i undertand.. i just need an opinion or suggestion.. btw i really appreciate all of it..
yea i already did since last 2 week ago & everyday i've got more information... as long as i can use an auto transmission.. it still good for me to choose a turbo.. heheh.. i hate jamned on the road using manual transmission heheh...

btw.. thxs bro..

Actually I'm also very interested in the idea of having an auto trans 3SGTE for daily use but I'd prefer the 1st gen Camry for this purpose. It's engine bay is much roomier than the ST171 & also the interior is more spacious & comfy.

So overall, I think it's a good idea :biggrin:.

Actually I'm also very interested in the idea of having an auto trans 3SGTE for daily use but I'd prefer the 1st gen Camry for this purpose. It's engine bay is much roomier than the ST171 & also the interior is more spacious & comfy.

So overall, I think it's a good idea :biggrin:.

ahaa.. usually when doing transformation, all ppl like to using manual transmission.. but for daily use, i love to use an auto with 3s-GTE.. confort & powerfull.. you know what, jamned & crowded make me feel stress using manual hehe.. but i agree as you said.. 1st Gen Camry more confort body than mine st 171...

thxs bro..

Yeah, I get what you mean. I have a 3SGE BEAMS manual & a Black top auto trans (my wife's). So when I'm not in a mood to drive like a maniac, I prefer to drive my wife's BT auto.

I have driven the Caldina... 3SGTE auto; not bad la, quite smooth in the power delivery but seriously doesn't feel like having 260 ps under it's hood. Feels much less..:hmmmm: Maybe because it's an auto, I think.

---------- Post added at 10:44 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:40 PM ----------

Phileos,

Go to : Beams Owners Group. That's my orange Corona.:biggrin:

Yeah, I get what you mean. I have a 3SGE BEAMS manual & a Black top auto trans (my wife's). So when I'm not in a mood to drive like a maniac, I prefer to drive my wife's BT auto.

I have driven the Caldina... 3SGTE auto; not bad la, quite smooth in the power delivery but seriously doesn't feel like having 260 ps under it's hood. Feels much less..:hmmmm: Maybe because it's an auto, I think.

---------- Post added at 10:44 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:40 PM ----------

Phileos,

Go to : Beams Owners Group. That's my orange Corona.:biggrin:

hahhaha yeah.. that why the most ppl make turbo engine to their car using manual trans.. but when using auto also can play like manual when needed... my FE i can make rpm 6~7 to change gear when needed sometimes. . its only happened as you said "when maniac"..but when in gud mood i just let it change gear it self coz it an auto
btw it depend as what you need.. the choice is ours..
i asking about 3s-GTE + auto trans coz from now on, in my head always thinking about auto trans only... coz so long using manual. when we have family, more practical using auto trans for me.. i just need powerfull engine that not becoz i want to drive like a manic all the time.. but i need fast overtake only & relax..

i am 3rd class citizen & can't buy the original new one caldina GT4 or MR2 or something like that, like 1st class citizen.. hehehe..
from the first car & now 4th car, all used.. heheh

btw i really appreciate to all opinion.. maybe i will ask you again when i need information bout this..

---------- Post added at 01:13 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:43 AM ----------

Find for the blue color air flow hose with Jasma tag. Go market place and look for it. Makes your engine bay look nice.

Btw nick, hows your fuel economy ?

I got RM0.26per km -.- damn high like drinking water also. 39.55L can go 280km only. but 90% city driving la of course

my 3s-FE i try from raub to alor star.. is about 631km. fuel RM98.. 0.155/km .. on highway 140~170km/h maintain speed from tanjung malim until tol exit at alor star..

before this, my wira 1.5 carb = RM 120 raub-shah alam - raub.
and my FE = only RM70 raub- Klang- S.alam - raub

yep.. but if too much in town cant go 600km..
nothing upgrade. muffler s flow. piping standard. extractor.. rim 15/60/190.
nothing special.. i'm driving that tie from raub to lanchang around 90 ~120km/h .. filling fuel from koyan RM50 full tank coz fuel already half.. then fom koyan to lanchang ~ genting-batang kali - enter the highway from tanjung malim to alor star.. but i refil back at JURU
RM98 ( 631km ) full tank.. so that mean it use fuel full tank fom koyan - JURU = RM98 driving mostly 140 until sungai perak R&R. but the bad news that time i have problem with my head lamp. so from sungai perak i just use fog ligh to alor star driving 160 km/h straight to alor star ( tonjol belakang org je sebab lampu tader ) heheheh.
301km more from sungi perak - alor star maaaa.. takkan mau bawak 40km je walau lampu tader hehehe...

mostly i check.. fuel tank can go around 500 ~ 600km. depend how long at urban or highway.
using standar air filter top speed = 180km/h ( auto trans ). but when i change to sport air filter can go 220km/h..
i'm looking for extractor to this engine coz old extractor has been broken. now i use the old standard exzost manifold. sulah karat2 maaaaa.. terpaksa pakai juga coz cari2 xjumpa yg jual..... zzzzzzzzzz

---------- Post added at 09:53 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:45 AM ----------

walao serious or not full tank can go 631km ? impossible la woiii

yep.. i'm serious.. from sungai koyan ~ lanchang ~ gohtong genting ~ batang kali ~ tanjung malim ~ juru = 631 km...
from koyan i prepared with full tank to check hhhhow much fuel consumption for long distance, when arrive at juru fuel warning light on. so i refill = RM98 after riding 631km.
when too much driving at town only can go 500km.
when fuel warning light on = can go 56km ( from koyan to raub )
heheheh.. that all my experience about fuel consumption. nothing modified.

---------- Post added at 10:10 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:53 AM ----------

btw.. guys.. i'm sorry if so hard for you to understand when i'm talking in english coz my english & grammar is very bad LOLzzzzzzz. most of the time english ppl also can't understand when i'm talking in english.. but when you still can understand that mean you all more greater than them heheh....

WTB : 3s-FE extractor