3S-FE,GE,GTE Discussion/Gathering

For me 45 litres of ron97 can go about 350km .. 7.8km/L .. dam high fc ..

but you already not using that standard engine 3s right?
i'm not sure about per litres.. but everytime i drive long distance, i set km= 0 with full tank fuel.. when arrive at my destinatiion, i re-fuel again and compare how much/km ..
usually around RM80 ~ RM100 ( full tank ) i can go around 450 ~ 550 km.. using reserve fuel ( when warning light on can go about 56 ~60 km ).. but at highway & maintain speed even 140~160 km/h without too much changing gear ( coz an auto trans ) can go 600++km ..
100km/h = RPM 2400.. 140km/h = RPM3000.
my old wira sedan 1.5GL carb = 100km/h = RPM 3200. that really big different with my 3s. so that my old wira using so much fuel. i dunno this fact is related each other or not.. but that my exsperience.
long time ago i using galant sigma 1.8 carb manual. also very high FC...
but for now i feel a little bit prob with my auto G/b.. gear shifter not so smooth as before.. feel a little jecking gear & i'm loosing a little pick up..
dunno what to.. any idea ?/ heheh

standard 3SFE lo T.T ... fc still so bad .. dam sad la thats why i wanna get 3SGE .. i got high fc but not enuff power .. might as well high fc ( not sure if 3SGE high fc or not but from those celica & mr2 kaki says they can get around 450km~500+km per full tank + good power ).. but everytime i refuel is around 45~48litres .. max capacity is 55 litres .. i always refuel whenever the lights came on .. very very seldom use reserve fuel ..

That weird & pretty bad huhhh.. i heard they said 3sGE more powerfull but i also not sure coz i am newbie & just user of old toyota..

but as you said.. i also always refuel full tank almost everytime. ( full for me = almost overfloor to fuel caps ) . too many drive at town, FC around 400~450km only.. but as i told you, mine can go 600km on highway. max i was tried 631km .... some ppl not believe it but maybe it just my luck.. and now i just have a lil bit problem with gear box only. actually i dunno anything about auto g/b problem, clutch or what ever with it..
its quite complicated than manual.. i need more information bout it & keep searching what i should do..

Err .. I mean I refuel when the lights came on .. not refuel to the max capacity it can store .. but I'm heavy footer la what to do .. always rev to 3k+ only change gear ..

---------- Post added at 06:15 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 06:12 PM ----------

This is a good read ..

Toyota S engine - Wikipedia, the free [email]encyclopedia@@AMEPARAM@@/wiki/File:Toyota_3S-GE_(longitudinal)_001.JPG[/email]" class="image" title="3S-GE">3S-GEthumb/5/59/Toyota_3S-GE_%28longitudinal%29_001.JPG/250px-Toyota_3S-GE_%28longitudinal%29_001.JPG

ahaa.. i hope you will get your GE soon.. then.. you can write & share here about your exsperience..
i still thinking what kind of engine i want for my ST.. now just collect all information as i can about it.. after that i can make decision which one i will use..
but if i choose turbo type, that mean i should use kancil for daily like going to mamak or somewhere short distance hehe...

Hi, Currently i am using GE and it's come standard for my ST. no modification done for my car. town use 400 - 450km, highway 550 - 600km.

holy cow .. that means the ST171 in malaysia does really comes with the 3SFE & 3SGE variation .. damn thats nice !!! wonder why my dad didnt bought the one with GE .. instead of the FE .. if not dont need to headache now hahaha

---------- Post added at 11:08 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:08 PM ----------

oh ya onlytoyota, welcome to the 3S club :biggrin: .. post your car picture !!! and engine also I wanna eye rape it :thefinger:

ohh ST202 izit .. =.= I tot ST171 .. photos !! and we have the celica club in the club section .. do visit the thread

will upload when i modify it to ST205 facelift. anyway, i am looking for skirting, bornet, and bumper for my ST202.
Any idea where can i get in reasonable price ?

Well, my 3S-FE FC still ok for me I guess, at least according to my calculation, it either have close or better FC than the 1.3 auto Avanza my family own.

But damn, I suspect the mech that my dad bring the car to service last time use low grade motor oil. I definitely going to personally bring the car to service this time, going to test better motor oil.

Btw bro xMika, what motor oil are your Corona using? Also, you change your exhaust system already? Need your opinion cause I suspect my cat-con or my exhaust already reaching old age liao, it is a 20 year old car already, hahaha..

I use semi-syn Mobil 2000 10w-30 before this .. but got leaking .. so changed to cheaper Bardahl mineral 15W-40 .. RM55 for 3.875 litres .. i just waiting for my engine to die off ... dont wanna spend more on this engine already .. already done 432xxx km ...

exhaust system haven change ... wait for engine to die 1st ... feels like revving it till it goess kaboom in neutral gear haha

will upload when i modify it to ST205 facelift. anyway, i am looking for skirting, bornet, and bumper for my ST202.
Any idea where can i get in reasonable price ?

Call "TOMS" (Alvin) 012-2249991, he has lots of MRS, Celica & other Toyota stuff.

---------- Post added at 12:28 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:15 PM ----------

Err .. I mean I refuel when the lights came on .. not refuel to the max capacity it can store .. but I'm heavy footer la what to do .. always rev to 3k+ only change gear ..

gear change at 3000 rpm cannot be considered as "heavy foot" la.

Impressive, 2O2R found your video on youtube. I must say the tune is so damn sweet. It's so tempting to get myself a Beams too, but even with FE right now I can feel that the ride wasn't so stable. Plus I just have installed 17 inch, makes the car even more higher, when corner at higher speed, I can feel that my whole body is being pulled. Wasn't really comfortable. Seriously my car needed a new set of suspension, been using the stock 1 for a very long time. Plus I felt like whatever stuff inside the tube of the suspension already harden, really makes a noisy sound when going uneven roads. Going have to upgrade the suspension together with the braking system after the engine transplant. Any recomendation?

Well, after all this is a almost 20 years old car, its quite fuel saving from what I think. It could even perform better on highway.

I just found out that our ST171 have a fuel tank with 60 Litres capacity ...

ST171 GLi
ƒgƒˆƒ^*ƒRƒƒi(CORONA)*‚d‚wƒTƒ‹[ƒ“‚f(1991”N6ŒŽ)‚̃Jƒ^ƒƒO | ’†ŒÃŽÔ‚È‚çGoo-net(ƒO[ƒlƒbƒg)

ST171GT-R
ƒgƒˆƒ^*ƒRƒƒi(CORONA)*‚f‚s|‚q(1991”N6ŒŽ)‚̃Jƒ^ƒƒO | ’†ŒÃŽÔ‚È‚çGoo-net(ƒO[ƒlƒbƒg)

Its in Japanese but if you cant read then just use translation ... great info

---------- Post added at 10:50 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:45 AM ----------

And now I know why my so call " full tank " can go only 300~350km ... because I refuel when theres at least another 15 litres left in the tank :biggrin:

Recalculation in progress ...

Probably around 400km~420km ... :)

Err .. the 3SGE variant is called as ST171 GT-R
err .. my dashboard does looks like the one in the picture .. just that i had a different stereo headunit .. i love the cockpit style arrangement .. looks serious haha .. not dashboard nowadays with puny turning knobs :thefinger: your dashboard is different ?

It's almost the same, except the radio its not. Yea, the dashboard is really neat, mine is crack and torn already. Looking for other dashboard. Maybe other ST series dashboard. Plus the aircond console is a little bit spoil already. Aircond vent spoil also. FK yeah man its GT-R. I see, but i never saw one with 3S-GE factory condition. Anyway, have you quote the 3SGE and the beams price already? The motor I had right now is dying. XD