Makita 9227c vs Bosch GPO 14E

Veloc

Hi detailing sifus....

Just planning to get my hands on one rotary. Have done some survey on the market... Was very attracted to Skil before as it comes from Bosch and costs only RM300!! But after reading more testimonials, it sounds like a big no no... Not as powerful when pressure is applied, creates lots or heat.

Now, it boils down to the two mention brands. I see most professionals using Makita 9227c. But now there is the Bosch GPO 14E. Specs are similar! But the Makita has a whopping RM300 on its pricetag! Can anyone tell why is this so? Where did such price difference come from? Do they source their parts or do their assembly in china? I really want to get Makita but the extra RM300 discount from Bosch is really tempting :bawling:. I could buy some considerable amount of polishes and pad for that! And if it is a cheapskate brand, it is easy to ignore. But Bosch has always have a good reputation.

Also, any comments on the Bosch model form any users? In terms or reliability, compatibility of pads, maintenance.

Thank you! :burnout:

you want 1 time investment or you prefer to spent many times!!!!

makita is the only machine u ever need

ask Phat 7

Ask S1tl

Check with Muyo - he got ken rotary & when we had some private hands on session.....he immediately dispose his china ken

there are many machine for detailing but only one stood the test of time & all international arena

if it is not becoz of it we have nothing to share

Hails to Makita!!!!!!

Thanks KC :biggrin:,

you have told me this before... Hope you don't get angry and be patient with me. I am a child with a lot of questions... I acknowledge the superiority of Makita. But just want to find out what are the traits and areas that makes it stand out among the rest and what others do not have.

Is it because of it's robustness, reliability, ease of use?

About Bosch, they have been on a head on head battle between this 2 brands. I know because the last time I sell machinery. I have never sold Rotary polisher though. That's why I lack knowledge in this area. And Bosch is not a ciplak brand like the China one used by Ken... Haha... I've read his blog on that China polisher! I know what you mean!

So yeah... I really acknowledge Makita especially if it is recommended by you, the detailing legend! But just want to find out in what areas it excel and in what areas does Bosch lacks!

Sorry ah :adore: This kid got a lot of questions!

---------- Post added at 12:36 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:35 AM ----------

Of course, I prefer one time investment that last me my life... Hahaha... Most times, cheap stuff will make the user spend more in the end! :burnout:

i dont know whats the different in between. buy makita, you wont regret it bro. but before purchase, check with the thread 1st. goodluck!

make sure is M14 thread...must listen to bro mun ya

---------- Post added at 09:26 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:24 AM ----------

Thanks KC :biggrin:,

you have told me this before... Hope you don't get angry and be patient with me. I am a child with a lot of questions... I acknowledge the superiority of Makita. But just want to find out what are the traits and areas that makes it stand out among the rest and what others do not have.

Is it because of it's robustness, reliability, ease of use?

About Bosch, they have been on a head on head battle between this 2 brands. I know because the last time I sell machinery. I have never sold Rotary polisher though. That's why I lack knowledge in this area. And Bosch is not a ciplak brand like the China one used by Ken... Haha... I've read his blog on that China polisher! I know what you mean!

So yeah... I really acknowledge Makita especially if it is recommended by you, the detailing legend! But just want to find out in what areas it excel and in what areas does Bosch lacks!

Sorry ah :adore: This kid got a lot of questions!

---------- Post added at 12:36 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:35 AM ----------

Of course, I prefer one time investment that last me my life... Hahaha... Most times, cheap stuff will make the user spend more in the end! :burnout:

bro no legend but real experience ..just happen to cross this road earlier

Guys I came across Makita 9227c on ebay. Cheaper (RM7xx shipping included) and a lot more accessories leh! 2 wool pad, and a carry case. Do they provide carry case locally? But I think I won't be getting from there. A bit mafan. Have to use voltage converter. Their voltage is 110V.... Haiz... Sayang...

dont buy at ebay as it will be abit "mafan" when you claim the warranty. buy local only laa, much easier. mine comes with a wool pad in a box. :proud:

pls take heed advise from an experience gentleman- he is kind to share with u bro

Dear Sifus,

Newbie here wants to learn how to polish using orbital. My questions are;

1. What is a good machine for a newbie to start using?
2. Where can I get it?
3. I read something about a Dual Polisher, can I get it in KL?
4. Must I really clay before polishing?
5. Due to time constraint, can I work on the car by washing, claying, polishing and waxing each day on different parts? e.g. Today - Car roof, Tomorrow - Bonnet, Next day - Doors.

Really appreciate if someone could help me out here. Thanks!

hi bro
i just remembered i did a test a couple of months ago on DA vs Rotary

DA is dual action the cheapest in Malaysia is about 7++ close to 800 (cant do severe rids & swirls or severe damage paint restorations - as it is oscilating - that where u need a rotary -
the same amount of money i can get a makita which is all you need for the rest of your life

we did 3 test with 2 diffrent machine mainly ROTARY vs DA
what we did was to segregate a few areas to test out the product & how it react over certain machine reaction

1st area for waxing with rotary - how road side polish wax job is to be done
IMG_0172.JPG

2nd area with Dual Action polisher
IMG_0185.JPG

our pro - detailer

3rd contestant on rotary - with optimum hyper spray compound

IMG_0212.JPG

RESULTS REVEALING

1st area Wax with china make rotary???
IMG_0205.JPG

hologram was visible once we remove the wax

2nd area consumer range product

after
IMG_0203.JPG

visible cuts is still there

moving on the 3rd area -done with optimum hyper spray compound through out till finishing - with makita
wool - cutting pad- polishing pad - finishing pad

one product finish - OPTIMUM HYPER SPRAY POLISH
IMG_0210.JPG

choose this day
which finishing you like on your ride
4%20area%20comparission.jpg

DA vs rotary - test by detailien

I just got a starter pack from KC2 and would like to testify a bit on the Makita. As we all know, Bosch is not a cheapo brand. It is a professional grade as well from Germany. In the market however, Bosch rotary is cheaper than Makita. By common sense, Bosch should be the same price if not more expensive. I think I might just found the reason...

After opening the Makita's box, there is the word "Made in Japan" in the manual. This statement immediately gave me a sense of relief and peace the moment I read it. Nowadays, many components are sourced in china and machines are even assembled there due to really cheap labour. What I found out about Bosch is that there are 2 types. Made in china and made in germany. I guess, the reason why the Bosch is cheaper here is the fact that it is made in china or maybe a large number of components are source from there. Not that it is bad. I'm sure they would have some quality control...

But the words Made in Japan just gives peace. It means that the assembly takes place in japan. It feels like owning something built like a tank. Very much like japanese cars. Especially good old japanese cars. Those who have experienced them know what I mean. The reliability... The satisfaction... The peace of mind... No need to worry about when is the next breakdown... And they can take a certain amount of abuse too... Of course, I'm not suggesting anyone to do that on purpose... :burnout:

a tribute to Makita M 9227

But the words Made in Japan just gives peace. It means that the assembly takes place in japan.

that is very comforting & sounds so assuring
I have friend who has been keeping his M9227 for 25 years

as for me - i have use it for countless hundreds of cars - ten thousands of hours - ta da - is still coolest ever rotary make in the entire world - so mush so u can actually hold its rotor head to works for hours

this will stick with u for the rest of yr life ya
for better or worst till death do us a part

have fun ya - but must jaga jaga as it is still a :biggrin:power tools