Absorber took apart

me2kimi

Hi guys, this evening just only 1st day fasting but I already gone crazy. I took a risk to take apart shock absorber to just take a look what inside.

Here is few picture of Kayaba Rear gas absorber previously use at my ride

• IMG_4514.JPG
    IMG_4514.JPG
    89.2 KB · Views: 498
  • IMG_4517.JPG
    IMG_4517.JPG
    51.8 KB · Views: 217
  • IMG_4518.JPG
    IMG_4518.JPG
    63.1 KB · Views: 206
  • IMG_4519.JPG
    IMG_4519.JPG
    70.3 KB · Views: 220
  • IMG_4528.JPG
    IMG_4528.JPG
    64.7 KB · Views: 198
  • shaft oil seal.JPG
    shaft oil seal.JPG
    35.3 KB · Views: 218
  • Bottom_valve.JPG
    Bottom_valve.JPG
    35.6 KB · Views: 201
  • air_seal.JPG
    air_seal.JPG
    44 KB · Views: 197
  • IMG_4531.JPG
    IMG_4531.JPG
    95.5 KB · Views: 189
  • IMG_4533.JPG
    IMG_4533.JPG
    73.9 KB · Views: 192
  • IMG_4536.JPG
    IMG_4536.JPG
    68 KB · Views: 185
  • IMG_4537.JPG
    IMG_4537.JPG
    66.6 KB · Views: 176
  • product_ph_01.gif
    product_ph_01.gif
    26.6 KB · Views: 215
cool bro...so are you doing this to service the abs or ....??

hi bro,
what happening with ur abs? why r u take out whole part of abs? is that stock abs can be serviceable?

i dont think it's servicable..

he take it apart just for the fun of it.. am i right, me2kimi? :biggrin:

Top Perfect (or know as HWL) contact:
019-6682187 (Wong)

I don't know their address (eventhough i have been there many times) but this is what i got from the Google search engine:

2770b Kampung Baru Sungai Buloh 47000 Sungai Buloh
Sungai Buloh, Selangor 47000
tel: +60 603-61571370

They have a machine to test the damping rate of your abs therefore can tune it to the spec that you require.

They have different grade of materials (valve, oil seal, shaft etc) for different budget/market. If you are looking for something good and long lasting please ask for "export quality".

How much (roughly) it will cost?
PRS seri kembangan quote me RM500 per pair to service soft/hard and make it serviceable. It also cost same price when my bother same type of absorber for his honda

Kimi, I believe your soft/hard absorber is using weld to secure the oil seal, which is why they have to fabricate a top cap onto the absorber inserts (cartridge) so that they can replace the oil seal and screw the cap back into place. IMO, i don't think its reasonable to repair a soft/hard absorber coz for the total cost, you can get another set of absorbers with some spare cash as well.
Usually this method is recommended for coilover setup. Just my 2cents....

Prem, since I'm already use coilover at rear side, so i decide to match it with the soft/hard absorber.
Pity to it, just lying around at my backyard (before someone steal it).

Few years back, I paid RM500 to service my rear GAB abs (soft/hard) with export quality materials.
As what i understand, if you want something close to TRD spec, they can tune it for you. This is what other abs service provider can't do it.

me2kimi

Bro thank you... Although not fixing anything, these are one of the post I really appreciate... Because we are curious and yet not all have the guts, time and used abs to do this.

If you send it to Top Perfect @ Sg Buluh, they can make it serviceable.

Non-serviceable can convert to serviceable??? Any contact on where can this be done in kk? I always wanted serviceable ones but cannot afford adjustables at the moment :bawling: