Honda Insight vs Honda City, which is more cost effective?

Titan :
My assumption is based on honda's figures, the warranty for the battery here is 5 years...in the US its 8 years, probably bcoz of climate factors.....so its a rough estimation based on what honda's warranty.

So Id guess in Malaysia it would probably last an average of 6-8 years depending on usage.

I thing for sure is, it will need to be replaced.....honda malaysia priced the battery pack at RM7000, but it says pushing to reduce the price by 15%.....but who knows in 6-8 years time what the price will be...

Shiro :

The busses itself might not be greener, but the act will be....try to look at it like the pic below

Space+Traffic.jpg

if our busses ran off solar/electric or ethanol or diesel/hybrid...sure will have big effect on the environment...

the other day when i brought my korean customer out for lunch...we were following behind a bas kilang. bleching out black smoke as usual la...he looked at me n asked how come these sort of busses still allowed to run on public roads. i asked him back...over in Korea no such things? he said definitely not allowed. i quiet only...say not very often can find such cases here hehehe. malu.

y not wait for the emas to be launched? a local electric will definitely be a lot cheaper...or wait for the exora range extender. even better.

In korea i cant find black smoke from any big lorries or heavy machineries... very contra to malaysia...

grass is always greener on the other side...at least the only bombing we ever get here is when singaporean ministers say ours are incompetent :rofl:

aalto...dowan faster booking the insight? already 500+ bookings as of today leh...wait have to wait 9 months baru tau.

hellosssss.....i notice this HONDA hybrid topic is really about... but if ur considering Insight, the you might as well consider Prius (i know, i know, this is a Honda Forum)....

but seriously.... for those who travel 800km per month, an Insight isn't going to do much impact differences from a City, as aalto has recently compared (roughly)...try comparing Prius with Insight. The amount of saving from Prius could really cover up the car price wherelse the Insight could only save you up more lunch money....

Have you also consider this fact, how good those Honda service center could maintain your Insight comparing to your City? Just like what DanzEterna said (rumoring), if they messed up your Insight curcuit...then its 30K down the river...

Arturo & Takuya...so does in Japan...I can't find even a black smoke vehicle...even in industrial area all I can see is white steam from the exhaust tower...no black smoke at all..

Even at crowded cities like Tokyo, the air quality is still very good as the Japanese government enforce very strict air quality control to factories, offices and vehicles.

When their buses or trucks pass by me with throttle I don't even have to worry about the black smoke shoot right at my face..here...I have to take a few steps back...

But I'm seeing some improvement on public buses like the Cutyliner and Rapid..they are on NGV so better than those time...

koolvibration :

Honda Insight : RM98000 OTR
Toyota Prius : RM140000 OTR

Lets say both loan with d/pyt 15K

Honda Insight : Rm1100 /per month
Toyota Prius : Rm1650 / per month

Difference : Prius +RM550 per month

Fuel economy (based on manufacturer data):

Honda Insight : 26L/km
Toyota Prius : 32L/km

Lets say average 2500km/per month

Honda Insight : 96L = RM 196 per month
Toyota Prius : 78L = RM 156 per month

Difference = Prius - RM40 per month

Conclusion :

RM510 per/month extra to run the Prius...

(Assuming both cars requires almost same servicing, battery replacement cost)
(not taking account additional insurance & roadtax cost for Prius)

The added fuel savings dont't really justify the cost difference....

here i pity those who ride motor..n forced to follow behind those busses/lorries.

the new prius is due for release real soon...has gone bigger...dunno how thats gonna help in FC tho.

aalto...imagine if they finally release a compact with hybrid/range extender priced at 50k....chun eh?

here i pity those who ride motor..n forced to follow behind those busses/lorries.

the new prius is due for release real soon...has gone bigger...dunno how thats gonna help in FC tho.

aalto...imagine if they finally release a compact with hybrid/range extender priced at 50k....chun eh?

that 1 ok bro. the ones that really pity, they carry their family on a motorbike. husb & wife + 2 kids ....summore raining.....really susah like that, summore no helmet. :banghead:

Hope more Insight , Prius or City can comment on this post on feedback, defects, and FC.

Update....

I went with the City rather than the Insight.
For now the car has no problems, Honda gave 3 times free service.

On FC, it all depends on your right foot & watching the FC meter.
Recently I "balik kampung", about 330km, got 15.8km/l, average speed about 110km/h. thats about RM40 one way (RON95)

Coming back, I "pecut" abit.....average speed about 140km/h, got 11.8km/l,thats about RM53 one way.

If maintaining average below100km/h, I think you can get 17++km/l.

note* I just love the paddle shifters...wish could fit them to my EG....hehe

Actually I also love the paddle shifter, now got one more problem. Stolen car. Anyway to prevent it from happen. Will decide on it soon.

traveling 800km/month makes me wonder how near is your workplace...???
eventually i am considering a hybrid as i travel averaging 2500km/month, can you please do the math for me and is it wise for me to get one???

after all, we also need to see the value depreciation between both models, if insight 2nd hand value fetch higher than city, i think the insight wins

considering the insight have an expensive battery that need replacement every few years. you think a used insight with a half baked battery will have good 2nd hand value?
even no need replacement, the battery performance is going to deteriorate after few years of use.

---------- Post added at 08:35 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:47 PM ----------

Update....

I went with the City rather than the Insight.
For now the car has no problems, Honda gave 3 times free service.

On FC, it all depends on your right foot & watching the FC meter.
Recently I "balik kampung", about 330km, got 15.8km/l, average speed about 110km/h. thats about RM40 one way (RON95)

Coming back, I "pecut" abit.....average speed about 140km/h, got 11.8km/l,thats about RM53 one way.

If maintaining average below100km/h, I think you can get 17++km/l.

note* I just love the paddle shifters...wish could fit them to my EG....hehe

what happened to "Honda City : 20km/l" combine cycle some more.
while can only expect 17km/l on highway.

the so call fuel saver also not much better than the B16A?

what happened to "Honda City : 20km/l" combine cycle some more.
while can only expect 17km/l on highway.

the so call fuel saver also not much better than the B16A?

Realistically..... if you read the fine print.....you'd need to be driving constantly at 60-80km/h on the highway to get 20++km/l....which no one really does....its the same with all manufacturers...need to read the fine print on how they test it.....then theres other factors like load,temp,fuel....bla bla bla....

On the highway if your avg 120km/h, it'll be about the same as a stock B16A. But in town driving and slow speeds the City will be more efficient.