soft turbo?

aranny2001

may i know it is possible for us to find those kind of after market turbo which use for fuel save purposes? small, non inter cooler needed... just like those conti car type~ im kind of curious

any pictures?

sorry bro, i got no picture. but this is what i read it from.... even the brand new benz or volvo with turbo, i dont even really heard they got such a inter cooler or boost meter... just like Volkswagen golf, twin charged but im just wondering will be the after market turbo kit able to give problem less and slight power but save fuel as car like this... cause we all heard people like to tune their car into more power. As i know turbo invented is use in aircraft engine last time due to high altitude flying to prevent engine die in flight cause by lack of air. this has came into my mind will it possible for us to fit in our car with a very low boost for fuel save and slight power~ it should be able to make it~:rolleyes:

not sure but there are low-boost turbo's if you aren't aware. I think these are the onesyour referring to?

if the car come from factory without intercooler, it's ok because engineers there already calculated the air temperature & it doesn't harm the engine..

if after market or custom turbo, u should put intercooler coz i'm sure u can't calculate the air temperature and ur car will overheat..

my fren take out his original intercooler from RX7 & the car overheated very quickly..

then he put aftermarket intercooler.. he doesn't get the response when he had the original intercooler in..

now he's trying to get the original intercooler :biggrin:

about the boost meter.. it's only an extra gauge to see how much PSI ur car running on.. not a necessity..

if u wanna put small turbo to ur car, get the Daihatsu Mira turbine & custom ur exhaust & intake pipe.. don't forget to put intercooler :biggrin:

Gudluck :burnout:

I believe the TS is referring to some stock factory turbo set up like Ford's 'EcoBoost' engine I guess :bawling:

if the car come from factory without intercooler, it's ok because engineers there already calculated the air temperature & it doesn't harm the engine..

if after market or custom turbo, u should put intercooler coz i'm sure u can't calculate the air temperature and ur car will overheat..

my fren take out his original intercooler from RX7 & the car overheated very quickly..

then he put aftermarket intercooler.. he doesn't get the response when he had the original intercooler in..

now he's trying to get the original intercooler :biggrin:

about the boost meter.. it's only an extra gauge to see how much PSI ur car running on.. not a necessity..

if u wanna put small turbo to ur car, get the Daihatsu Mira turbine & custom ur exhaust & intake pipe.. don't forget to put intercooler :biggrin:

Gudluck :burnout:

that small turbo need tune the ecu and how many boost actually?

I think its around 0.5bar

Tune ur ECU for better power. Its ok if not tune

Just my 2 cents :biggrin:

so called soft turbos like old volvo, saab? still got... but normally they got intercooler la...just small and often well hidden

modern so-called soft turbos like vw, merc, bmw, ford etc oso got intercooler

...generally 0.5 bar on a small turbo is considered soft since its boost the midrange power curve i.e. no need to rev kaw kaw

but, IMHO.... once you felt the turbo's G... me think the concept of soft turbo will be gone from your head hahahah... you want hard turbo after that :rofl:

so called soft turbos like old volvo, saab? still got... but normally they got intercooler la...just small and often well hidden

modern so-called soft turbos like vw, merc, bmw, ford etc oso got intercooler

...generally 0.5 bar on a small turbo is considered soft since its boost the midrange power curve i.e. no need to rev kaw kaw

but, IMHO.... once you felt the turbo's G... me think the concept of soft turbo will be gone from your head hahahah... you want hard turbo after that :rofl:

hahahaha......:rofl: but then could it possible for fuel economy?

its possible...

Fell in love wif my friend's wife polo tsi, twincharge direct-injection 1.2 wif DSG

if the DSG on standard mode, the acceleration is like you are in a big car.... if DSG in Sport mode, it goes like stink!

his wife claim rm50 from s.alam to TM TTDI (near one utama) via federal highway can get her 1week++... and thats inclusive of trodding in federal's legendary jam... and one thing I know about my fren's wife, and she drove her car hard if condition permits (jalan clear la)

but then, if on twin charge alone (w/o DSG) she won't get that mileage... but still can just beat myvi 1.5's mileage IMHO... remember, polo tsi is myvi-sized but with the weight of persona and a 1.2 engine...

hahahaha......:rofl: but then could it possible for fuel economy?

im wondering low boost turbo will got the same problem as tose high boost or not. cause most ppl advise those bot got alot of problem. just boost about 0.3bar.need some advise

if the workmanship is good & u maintain ur car well, i don't think u'll encounter any problem :wink:

don't boost over 0.5bar .. always check ur temperature.. & Gudluck

:biggrin:

Guys.... im just curios ...

can we set our engine (base on RPM) different boost lvl ? example from 2k~4.5k boost only about 0.5 bar and from 4.6~7k boost will surge untill 1.0bar or maybe more...

With this we can get both good FC and power (well no more FC calculation here)...
Is it possible? Let say current engine 1.6 campro CPS , and targeting using standalone ECU either haltech S500 or Haltech P1000....

One more thing, can we set different boost (lvl) according to gear ? let say for gear 1 and 2 boost only around 0.3~0.6 so that the power can be control easily..

with correct standalone and correct hardware used i think it is possible....

*standalone that capable to control all that

*wastegate/boost solenoid that match the ecu control function

:adore:

Hmmm. . . so the boost kick in can be control ? (with the correct ECU and wastegate)

EDITE: but is there any turbo that can be use in 1.6 engine (CPS) that give really nice response (garret GT2560R maybe) in early RPM and good power range untill higher RPM?

boost kick still can't control...thats still depend on the compressor sizing and your engine character....

but how high you want your boost at certain rpm can be controlled.... :adore:

Owh... i see i get the picture now... thanks

but how about this

EDITE: but is there any turbo that can be use in 1.6 engine (CPS) that give really nice response (garret GT2560R maybe) in early RPM and good power range untill higher RPM?

since what i understand that some of the turbo work on diffrent kind of RPM range...etc
some of the turbo work effective at lower RPM but other's work better at higher RPM..

Owh... i see i get the picture now... thanks

but how about this

since what i understand that some of the turbo work on diffrent kind of RPM range...etc
some of the turbo work effective at lower RPM but other's work better at higher RPM..

the key word is: COMPROMISE

so you choose which turbo size that closest to your target output...

if asking me....since campro is already a screamer on high rpm, i would opt for smaller turbo to help improve low rpm powerband...even tough the turbo seems runs out of breath at high rpm there's still overall improvement over stock power figure.....

or u can go the obvious way...twincharging! supercharge to help low rpm torque and throttle responds while the turbo cater for high rpm boosting need.... :adore: :driver: