My Snail Rebuild Integra DB8

biggest improvement to handling will always be the suspension.

if u wanna change bushing....best to do the whole car 1 shot...then u can really feel the difference....would recommend stiffer bushings like hardrace, superpro etc etc...though u may lose a lil comfort...these branded ones will cost u about 1.2-1.5k iirc.

the rigid collar also seems to help significantly with handling...u can get the ori spoon ones or if not willing to pay the price then the stiff rings would be a good choice

Is that price for the stiffer bushings include installation and labour? Well if I change the whole car bushings, I should feel the difference in handling and I know I will have to sacrifice comfort. Is the difference in comfort gonna be very noticeable? How would the difference be? I mean what would I have to face that I'm not facing now? Where can I do it? Don't mind coming to KL, as long as it can be done in a day or two over the weekend.

Stiff rigid collar is less than RM300. How much is the Spoon rigid collar? If less than RM500, I might as well go for Spoon. Will there be much of a difference between those two? Worth to pay that extra? Or is that extra RM200 for the brand "Spoon".

Change all the bushings first, then save up for the rigid collars and then the bars and finally the suspension? Well, this is just my plan since I'm on a tight budget atm.

What do you guys suggest? Which would be the better route? I can only afford smaller amounts now which will give me enough time to save up for the suspensions.

i think u shud just change to tein 1st. the diff wud b gud enuf. after doing this mayb u dun hv to change the bushes at all. u will like it tht way. bout changing ur bushes, 1.2k is just for the bushes. installation pay more. i change my front absorber ball bearing bush also cost me 160 including installation and it took more than 3 hrs. thatz just a pair. do u know how many bushes v r talking bout for a whole car? and how long wud it take to change all of them? so 1 or 2 days is out of the question.

btw, i hv same car like u.

I know what car you drive. Still remember your sales thread. Not selling?

So, cannot be done in a day or two and it will cost nearly RM2k for installation? That's almost the price of the suspensions.

Any one care to tell me what bushes besides ball bearing bushes that was just mentioned here? How come it is so expensive? I thought it was just rubber and should be cheap. Now, I think even the bushes got to wait??? NO!!!!!

---------- Post added at 11:07 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:39 PM ----------

I just found this at the marketplace
http://www.zerotohundred.com/newfor...80-hardrace-performance-suspension-parts.html
Is this what you were referring to?

spoons rigid collar is about rm700 for the item only

and i agree about going suspensions first....to me... the first thing to do if u wanna improve handling is to change the suspension...the difference with stock is gonna be like night and day....then, if u dont have it already or if urs is different, get the front and rear anti-roll bar from DC2-R....then u can think about bushings etc

But for the rear roll bars, wouldn't he need a subframe reinforcement bar, like ASR? Would be a wise investment before putting on thicker roll bars.

Yesterday, I went for a spin to actually test the handling of my car with my friend. Currently, I'm using Type R suspension. First round, I just went slow to check out the corners. Second round, I increased the speed and attacked the corners at the highest speed I dare. It wasn't too difficult to take the corners but both of us were being thrown left and right. I didn't feel confident and worried I might lose control of the car. Then, the third and final round. This time we decided to use our seatbelts. Lol.. Scary sitting inside. Of course this time, we were still thrown left and right but with the seatbelts, we were less scared. Hehe. But I still feel not confident in taking the corners. Took a slow drive back home, thinking to myself:

SUSPENSION, SUSPENSION, SUSPENSION...

I have surveyed around and did some research. I found that Tein, JIC, HKS and a few others have good reviews on car generally, not specifically for DC2 or DB8 to be more precise. Then, comes GAB.

I personally like Tein, mainly because it has the EDFC. So, most likely I'll just get Tein. But which model? I went through a thread here that has very good review on HA. Then, there is Tein Super Street which also has good reviews. There is also Tein Flex. Price wise between these two are not much of a difference. I'm talking about the used ones. Even used ones are around RM2000, I think new ones should be close to RM5000. Right?

Cusco and Aragosta... are other brands that I came across.

Any idea which one I should go for? I have never used an adjustable suspension. So, I really don't know a lot of things. What do I need to look for in choosing a right suspension? Well, for me I want to improve my handling on high speed cornering without feeling worried(scared actually). I don't mind sacrificing a little comfort. Knowing our Malaysian roads, I can't sacrifice too much comfort too. I have read some reviews where on certain set-ups, they feel like the dashboard will drop when going on yellow lines. I don't want that. If I can have best of both worlds, better but I doubt that can be done. So, a set-up which is more into handling. Which way should I go?

---------- Post added at 02:40 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:27 PM ----------

I can also use EG suspensions right? They are the same..no?

all of those are fine. as for EDFC, im not sure about other tein models but afaik for tein flex u need the pillowball mounts to work with the EDFC.

personally, im a big fan of GAB. coz i think theyre the best bang for buck. for the price of used teins or other brands....u get brand new gab....with 1 year warranty, can choose ur spring rate...and u can practically get them everywhere

Aiks, you also go to him? What car do you drive?

I have some work in Permas, might be going to see him later.
just lepak there la... he is a good fren of my bro in law... oso a fren of my mech... my first engine (4g91 to wira) was converted by him yearssssss ago.... he malas wanna do my car la... keep on say evo very leceh.... not easy to work on....

bro madman prefer GAB??? if not mistaken u using tein flex right??? hahahahaha

OIC. There's also an Evo always there, his friend also. So, I thought it was you.

wah... dat white evo8mr??? hope it was mine lo... dat owner crazy horsepower one... n super duper particular abt his car...
i dun go to his place so frequently la.... got oso thursday night... coz my gf got japanese class nearby there....

just lepak there la... he is a good fren of my bro in law... oso a fren of my mech... my first engine (4g91 to wira) was converted by him yearssssss ago.... he malas wanna do my car la... keep on say evo very leceh.... not easy to work on....

bro madman prefer GAB??? if not mistaken u using tein flex right??? hahahahaha

not prefer la...but a big fan of gab....

honestly ive had thoughts of selling my tein flex for a set of brand new GAB SS with 12/10 spring rates :P

ddv_nk12,

From my experience changing the bushings can also be felt like night & day.You can definitely feel the difference in steering response. It will really compliment your suspension setup.
2K for complete installation is way too expensive...

I used Energy Suspension bushings, you can buy the full kit Front & Rear for around RM800 online (excluding the big rear trailing arm ones)....must buy separately. But I recommend buying stock/mugen/spoon or hardrace ones (for big trailing arm).
Total installation cost is around RM600-RM800 & take 2-3 days depending on workshop or. Its a bit af a hassle bcoz your whole suspension must be taken apart & sent to machine shop to press out & insert the bushings. The big rear trailing arm bush must be "burned out" with a flame torch...which can be done DIY..

I sell SuperPro but your DB8 is not in the list. DA9, DC2 are available though. My guess is your DB8 has the same chassis as DC2?

ddv_nk12,

From my experience changing the bushings can also be felt like night & day.You can definitely feel the difference in steering response. It will really compliment your suspension setup.
2K for complete installation is way too expensive...

I used Energy Suspension bushings, you can buy the full kit Front & Rear for around RM800 online (excluding the big rear trailing arm ones)....must buy separately. But I recommend buying stock/mugen/spoon or hardrace ones (for big trailing arm).
Total installation cost is around RM600-RM800 & take 2-3 days depending on workshop or. Its a bit af a hassle bcoz your whole suspension must be taken apart & sent to machine shop to press out & insert the bushings. The big rear trailing arm bush must be "burned out" with a flame torch...which can be done DIY..

Thanks for the info bro. So it should be about RM1500 including installation. Quite okay la that price. How do you find the Energy Suspension bushings?

I sell SuperPro but your DB8 is not in the list. DA9, DC2 are available though. My guess is your DB8 has the same chassis as DC2?

I'm not too sure about this. But yes, most likely same chassis as DC2. Anyone to confirm?

Can you quote me the price please?

Thanks.

i have a question in regards to bushings and stiff rings...

say if one day i wannt change ALL the bushings in my car... and i already have the stiff rings installed...will the subframe need to be unscrewed? or will it be untouched?

i have a question in regards to bushings and stiff rings...

say if one day i wannt change ALL the bushings in my car... and i already have the stiff rings installed...will the subframe need to be unscrewed? or will it be untouched?

Based on the spoon video on stiff rings(find in youtube), disassembly of the suspension arms is not required, the car is jacked and the subframe is unscrewed & lowered just enough to put in the stiff ring (a couple of inches only) & then screwed back into place.
*it also mentions that racecars just weld the subframe to the chassis (both achieve the same goal)....a cheaper alternatif....if you dont mind the hassle larr...

Whereas with changing the bushings, the subframe is not touched but only the suspension arms are disassembled.

---------- Post added at 09:52 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:48 AM ----------

ddv_nk12,

Link
http://www.mudah.my/Energy+Bush+Kit+Complete+For+EG+EK+DC2-12298705.htm?last=1

Thanks for the link aalto. What do you think about the Energy Suspension bushings' performance? What does it improve?

I know I have started a thread on suspension being my next upgrade. But looks like it's gonna take some time for me to save up that much. So, in the mean time I am still considering the PU bushings or UR bars. I got a quotation for UR bars for my car and it's quite affordable, even for the whole car. But I don't plan on using UR for the whole car. I want my front and rear strut bars to be Type R or Mugen or Spoon struts, just for the bling factor. Then,the others like fender bars, I will go for UR. What say you guys?