Convertibles

subsevend

Helo to all the sifus out there

After 3 years of laying low from the sports car scene,i finally decided to get a good japanese convertible.What would be the usual problems associated with a convertible? Any suggestions for a good car?i was thinking of a nissan silvia ...Is there any available?

thank you in advance

moderator: kindly move my thread to appropriate section if i have posted under the wrong section.

convertibles are rare in Malaysia.. but if u gotta have them, u gotta have them :biggrin:

here's my fav list..

- Nissan 350Z/370Z
- Toyota MR-S
- Honda S2000
- Mazda MX5

:wink:

I ever saw before one silvia convertible posted in motortrader for sale.. but now dunno sold to where already..

For S2000 one common problem with the softtop is the rear windscreen easily turns yellow due to it is made from plastic. But this can be solved by replacing it with a glass type, if you can find one.

Also, try not to park the car under the sun often to enhance the lifespan of the softtop material. Otherwise, just use a hardtop for less hassle.

d7zul : among the 4 i like s2000 n mx5 suits my small body frame too,while mx5 is older and s2000 is pricey especially if the engine kong :D

12sturbo: 2 years ago i remember one for sale...then i wasnt intrested..now i want cause i can use for my wedding lor...plus i ve paid off my current car...so i can use lor...if all goes well i will keep the car until i can else maybe in 2 -3 years will sell off...as our prefrence chnages from time too time...

---------- Post added at 04:54 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:52 PM ----------

yeehau86: noted :) there is one for sale in mudah now...soft top i heard will cause leaking too..so i wanna find hard top if possible silvia :)

d7zul : among the 4 i like s2000 n mx5 suits my small body frame too,while mx5 is older and s2000 is pricey especially if the engine kong :D

that's leave us with MR-S & 350Z / 370Z

:biggrin:

---------- Post added at 05:34 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:30 PM ----------

Gudluck finding a Nissan Silvia S15 Varietta

this pic is to make u burning inside.. hehe :biggrin:

Varietta_blu_09.jpg

d7zul : hehehe...instead of having a normal silvia i think this will be good :D

---------- Post added at 05:50 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:49 PM ----------

worst comes to worst if i cant find any then would have to change my mind to non convertibles, maybe silvia,evo8, or skyL r34GTT

thought of a crx del sol before? even older, but running stock b16a, with a auto transtop

there's a pretty one on sale http://www.mudah.my/Honda+Civic+Delsol+CRX+with+Type+R+parts+JDM-11613206.htm, mugen kitted and some mods to the engine

There's one blue Silvia Varietta on sale: http://www.mudah.my/Nissan+Silvia+S15+Varietta-14475861.htm
Other good options IMHO would be S2000, Fairlady 350Z (if you can afford the roadtax that is), and Bimmer 325, 328, or 330 (again roadtax a bit high).

There's one blue Silvia Varietta on sale: http://www.mudah.my/Nissan+Silvia+S15+Varietta-14475861.htm
Other good options IMHO would be S2000, Fairlady 350Z (if you can afford the roadtax that is), and Bimmer 325, 328, or 330 (again roadtax a bit high).

now this is a very good looking car

http://202.76.226.181/images/22/2217299339.jpg

other than water leaking prob due to cracked/hardened seal, there are also wind leaking sound during high speed driving.