Reasonable price to change GB to 6spd?

tommy2412

Hi all sifus,

Im planning to change my gearbox from 20v bt 5speed to 20v bt 6speed . My mech quote me RM3,000 for :

1.Gearbox(regardless of LSD or no LSD mentioned by my mech) 2.Linkage 3.Mounting 4.workmanship

Just a simple question wether RM3,000 is reasonable for all the above?

Thank you!

I was quoted somewhere around RM2.2k only. But No LSD I think for mine.

i bought a LSD 6speed gearbox for rm2500.. complete with flywheel, clutch set, driveshaft, mounting.. coz my car is auto..

and the workmanship is around rm300

but i do a complete overhaul, change everything that needs to be change.. total up to rm5000 including the gbox

it's an old car after all..

Gudluck :burnout:

when i convert my gbox from auto, i got these for RM800...
- TRD LSD, TODA Flywheel, short shifter with solid bush
- CUSCO brake stopper, Ultra plug cable, TOM's steel brake lines

but got to fork-out funds to get the half-cut, then sell back the rest...:biggrin:

Mine is original Toyota Levin LSD.. come out from the factory..

as i was told.. :wink:

bought a LSD 6speed gearbox for rm2500.. complete with flywheel, clutch set, driveshaft, mounting..
arrrkk...demmm..if with lsd price reasonable..if factory lsd...demmmm expensive..

bought a LSD 6speed gearbox for rm2500.. complete with flywheel, clutch set, driveshaft, mounting..
arrrkk...demmm..if with lsd price reasonable..if factory lsd...demmmm expensive..

Haha. No choice that time.

I did go to a few halfcut shop. They didn't have a complete set..

They only have gbox selling at rm2000. Gbox only.

Better get a complete set, right? Or else u'll have problem getting those small small things

if u ask me gearbox only price should be around RM600 - RM700 only..
if complete around 1K..
ha ha ha don;t shoot me..all runner yeaaaa....

if complete around 1K..

6 speed LSD gbox rm700?

i'm willing to buy 10 of that..

then sell it at rm2000..

:rofl::rofl::rofl:

if complete around 1K..

bro nappx, wow that is like so freaking cheap lol...

This mech has the same car seg ae101 but fully modded engine(ogura clutch,TODA cams,etc) ,BC adjustable suspension, etc. he told me he used up more than 50k cuz imported alot of stuff from japan.. NA can beat integra type R at genting ..lol..He also own a honda civic ep3 type R but still modifying..

He is the one transplanted blacktop for me and i can say his work quality is really good and fast. Until recently my geabox giving me some problems so i decided to swap to 6speed but not too sure about the price .. still newbie ..>.<

anyway thanks for the replies, really appreciate them..!

i know who you're talking about.. shop in ampang right? near the methodist church, behind Bintang. my friend who used to play Wira 4G93T gives him ringing endorsement on his workmanship too. i was impressed by the way he could pin point the many problems i was feeling by just one drive in my car whereas many other mechanics couldn't, and i'm planning to let him sort things out the next time i'm back. as for price, i think what he quoted you is pretty cut throat la. ask him whether you can bring your own parts?

...or you can go to Haz Garage, i think Acai can give you a better deal. their experience in dealing with 20v is second to none, and i'm sure many of the sifus here are ready to jump out and give them the most convincing of endorsements :)

---------- Post added at 09:34 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:32 PM ----------

P.S. nappie, where to find aftermarket LSD 6 speed gearbox for 1k? i also want le.. haha

if Acai have it, for sure I've use it already...
by taking my route above as an example; buy half-cut just to get the gbox parts...
what Nappy quote is what should be, but market wise is not possible...

unless you're lucky...
i meant you get good deal, like my gbox set i've just letgo...:biggrin:

i know who you're talking about.. shop in ampang right? near the methodist church, behind Bintang. my friend who used to play Wira 4G93T gives him ringing endorsement on his workmanship too. i was impressed by the way he could pin point the many problems i was feeling by just one drive in my car whereas many other mechanics couldn't, and i'm planning to let him sort things out the next time i'm back. as for price, i think what he quoted you is pretty cut throat la. ask him whether you can bring your own parts?

...or you can go to Haz Garage, i think Acai can give you a better deal. their experience in dealing with 20v is second to none, and i'm sure many of the sifus here are ready to jump out and give them the most convincing of endorsements :)

---------- Post added at 09:34 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:32 PM ----------

P.S. nappie, where to find aftermarket LSD 6 speed gearbox for 1k? i also want le.. haha

Yes bro! thats the one! his name is Ah Foo right? haha.. Oh, wira 4g93T i saw it once there parking beside his ep3. Hmm the thing is i couldnt find those parts, even the 6speed non lsd Tom is selling is around rm2000..

Thanks bro Rage.. Haz Garage, ya i have been going through almost 80pages in toyota and i see quite alot of Haz Garage recommended by some sifus . his shop is located at salak selatan right? but which part of salak selatan? any shopping complex nearby?

by taking my route above as an example; buy half-cut just to get the gbox parts...

unless you're lucky...

who buy your gearbox..mmy luck and really good price.. :biggrin:

unless you're lucky...

how much u sold urs? if i have just know u earlier..
Hope i can get as lucky as the guy that bought ur gbox.. hahahah..

meg_omen: Yup your offer was a really good one, not to mention the exhaust offer as well.. Unfortunately I'm in India or I would've certainly gave serious consideration to getting the transmission package from you :biggrin:

tommy2412: Haha, no doubt we're talking about the same person. You saw his EP3 front brakes? 6 pot Endless, uber sick man! That guy is a Genting kaki, apparently he and his friends take on those Genting corners in excess of 150km/h. Scary thought to even ponder. So you've been some sort of a long term customer to him? Where do you stay anyway? :)
As for the parts, maybe you can try to ask Alvin (tom's) for a discount, and bring the parts to Acai for him to fit it for you. I think it should be cheaper that way, since Acai's labour is not too expensive, as far as I can remember. There are other runners selling 6 speed conversion package too, like Ivan, maybe you can call him and compare prices. Yes, Acai's shop is in Salak Selatan, if I'm not mistaken the GPS street name you should key in is Jalan 1/108 or something like that, please confirm with those who frequently visit his workshop :)