Sport car for fresh grads

Suggest get the mx5,cool,den can stick there no fat chicks allowed,as cant even fit in,haha

Haha...thanks for all the posting..I really enjoy it...I already made up a conclusion that fresh grad cannot afford sport car...so that's why I also moving to sporty car instead..hehe..then how about Ford Lynx RS? What do you all think about this car. Sporty looks, sunroof and 2.0. Price range also around 40k.

maintenance will kill you due to lack of parts and price of parts.

honestly speaking I think Putra or GTi is a good car to start off with , or the Satria NEO CPS.

As long as don't complaint about fuel or any other things price too high, don't use cheap tires or 2nd hand brake pads and don't crash onto my car, I actually don't mind if a fresh person who just step in to the social university attempt to have something that most social university PHD holders dreamt of :rofl:

Life may be too short and everyone may not choose the same way for the ending. Environment and living condition will change the result for no doubt but taking advantage of them will always have a risk.

maintenance will kill you due to lack of parts and price of parts.

honestly speaking I think Putra or GTi is a good car to start off with , or the Satria NEO CPS.

Ya, for sure. I've been thinking the same about Satria GTi and Neo. For now its like survey for others option first la. Then if all seem not affordable, then can directly move to GTi or Neo. Actually I'm prefer GTi. Old but I love it. :driver:

Ford Lynx RS manual is a bloody nice car to drive. But like what Ixeo said the maintenance is expensive and parts you'll have to frankenstein with Mazda cars.

Suggest you consider a standard brand new Satria Neo manual. If you can stretch your money a bit look out for the Satria R3 that's always popping up in the buy/sell thread. Or the even rarer Satria Neo Clubsport. Rollcage babeahh!

Sorry for barging in on you ZTH vets like this but...

What do you guys think of getting a 2nd hand 350z as soon as i hit 5k salary?
I figure the prevailing market would be 100-120k. A 20k dp would down the installments to 1k+ for 7 yrs?
Roadtax with insurance would be about one month's salary, its a scenario i can live with. Thoughts?

BTW, not thinking about the 370z (not only) because its way out of budget, but i feel its basically a butchered 350z. :vroam:

as long as u could manage the yearly roadtax then yr fine...go ahead bro.

I figure the prevailing market would be 100-120k. A 20k dp would down the installments to 1k+ for 7 yrs?
Roadtax with insurance would be about one month's salary, its a scenario i can live with. Thoughts?

BTW, not thinking about the 370z (not only) because its way out of budget, but i feel its basically a butchered 350z. :vroam:

It's your money dude.

Personally 5k salary I wouldn't consider a car of this caliber and consider a house, a girlfriend, a life in general. Car comes last unless you're one of those "foreveralone.com" types la.

Doesn't seem excessive, looking at the maths of it...but a car with that kind of displacement is gonna drink fuel, keep that in mind..hehe

RM5k huh...deduct all the necessity will left u wif how much,commitment?blablabla...yearly insurance and roadtax,basically fuel,blah...nt a big issue,can get small CC car to roam around....

ford lynx?avoid it,lolz...not to said it is bad or wat,juz if prob pops out,u will have probs and need lot of time to troubleshoot it,since u are at kulim rite?....40k,hmmm...

make sure you take into consideration your lifestyle. as izso said..if you're foreveralone.com then go ahead..

350z..other than roadtax and fuel guzzling, factor in the insurance as well, quite straightforward, proven VQ engine, solid design. oh and get the manual if you could. such a nice car, using a slushbox would make me think a lazy rich pakcik is driving it.

ford lynx?avoid it,lolz...not to said it is bad or wat,juz if prob pops out,u will have probs and need lot of time to troubleshoot it,since u are at kulim rite?....40k,hmmm...

Owh. Thanks for info. Ya2..previously at Kulim. Now already transfer to Penang starting this week. In island. Anyone here also stay at Penang? :wavey:

At RM5k, if live in KL, single, want something sporty:

new car: CRZ
used car: FTO Mivec. The most you can buy is S15 if still can loan.

RM5k, after deduct 11% + socso and etc is about RM4400. Insurance RM200 (must have if you don't have min RM100k reserves), apartment RM1.2k (cheap), you will have about RM3k left. Reserve RM300 every month for car road tax/insurance and some maintenance, left RM2.7k. If still have parents, give another RM700 (I give RM1.5k) so left RM2k. Eat, fuel, tel bill, consumable, parking/toll, and etc all sum up will be quite an amount based on the RM2k ratio. Basically you can consider a poor man. Wanna go massage also need to save money and consider lucky if don't need to self cutting hair in front of the toilet mirror. What life you will have besides a good looking piece of recycle metal that have 4 donuts on it to roll on the road? RM5k, I will only consider a Myvi most Satria Neo. At least if the car break down, still have money to fix and don't need to put it at workshop sticking dust until got money to collect the car. If you think car is more important than making sure parents can have better life at their remaining time, prepare to get flamed.

If you have rich parents, all your salary is just for pocket money and sometimes you can 'borrow' money from them, then it is ok to buy.

Do you know how much is road tax and insurance a year is for a 350z. Road tax alone is Rm4k++ plus insurance, you would have to fork out around Rm7 to 8k per year for it. This is not inclusive of maintainence, petrol and also mods to the car. Its no surpise when customers ask me to value their 350z for trade in, the first thing I look for is the Road Tax. I can say out of 10 350zs I see, 7 is out of road tax already:listen:. Sorry to pour cold water on you but hope you can get a clear view on this.

All I can say is big displacement, petrol guzzling, high maintainence sports cars is only for the rich and wealthy with lots of extra money to splurge on the cars. I've had funny people asking if they can put in Ron95 on their sports/performance cars. I mean, doesnt this defeats the purpose of owning such a car in the 1st place. Be realistic and get something that fits your budget and lifestyle. If you cant afford it now, you can always get it in the future when your budget permits.

fiat coupe 20v turbo also ok ma.
ask EvolutionZ, he has 1 at his lot.

350z used market price is less than rm100k nowadays, a very good bargain.

annual roadtax about rm4360, insurance few thousands depending ur NCB (if got)

high fuel consumption, and wear n tear for almost 10yrs car...if u are ok with all these

why not, but its a 2seaters car....other than this, u can consider nissan skyline coupe CPV35, same engine wit 350z but its 4seaters....

i would suggest buy a 2.0 liter car can already dun buy 3.0 liters as its expensive on road tax and insurance. CRZ i would recommend cos low CC,hybrid and new. should be less maintainace and fuel cost. if wan turbo u can try Celica like mine or some other turbo cars. not sure if u like Evo or subaru or not as they are 4 doors.

Thanks for the input guys, much appreciated.
Cold water and hot water coming both ways eh? :smokin:

Based on csl's budgeting for the average working man i consider myself very lucky.

In my head I've never wanted a sports car; I wanted a Z or I'll drive my 2006 Myvi till i get one.

According to my extremely unconservative calculator of gibberish, taking into account monthly payments, insurance, tax, petrol and slap-on 10k for maintenance.
It takes 30-35k to maintain a 350z per annum. It is apparent that 60k pa isnt gonna cut it.

Personal finance gurus say that one should never spend more than 25% of their income on a car; does that mean i need to pull 120k/pa to get one ahahahahaha :banghead::banghead::banghead:

Thanks for the input guys, much appreciated.
Cold water and hot water coming both ways eh? :smokin:

Based on csl's budgeting for the average working man i consider myself very lucky.

In my head I've never wanted a sports car; I wanted a Z or I'll drive my 2006 Myvi till i get one.

According to my extremely unconservative calculator of gibberish, taking into account monthly payments, insurance, tax, petrol and slap-on 10k for maintenance.
It takes 30-35k to maintain a 350z per annum. It is apparent that 60k pa isnt gonna cut it.

Personal finance gurus say that one should never spend more than 25% of their income on a car; does that mean i need to pull 120k/pa to get one ahahahahaha :banghead::banghead::banghead:

Dude, it's good to have a dream. Keep reaching for it, you'll eventually get there. Just a matter of priorities. The thing about growing old is that priorities change. But never forget your dream. I will one fine day own a Koenigsegg. Just not today. Kids need milk and diapers.

Glad you took the 'advice' with a pinch of salt and not try to bite us. :biggrin: