which got better response?? lighten crank pulley or adjustable cam pulley?

mcdull

I using 4g93 dohc. change lighten crank pulley better performance or adjustable cam pulley?? need 4g93 sifu guide for technical modification engine.

Thx sky.. considering jasma l.c.pulley.. wats ur opinion.. wat car model n engine u using? mind to share info??

both bro......if timing belt not due yet, change crank pulley 1st, if timing belt due, then cam pulley 1st lo.

yup i stay at mines...but i rarely do for other ppl's car...usually for my own private motorsports job only :adore:

there's a lot of 4g93 tuner here in zth...surely u can buy parts+install with reasonable workmanship easily.. :driver:

Thx for all suggestion.. pomen gtr u mistakenn le.. not ask u change d parts, ask u minum when got free time lerr... anyway i'll oways be in cheras n pj area. Welcome to msg me 012-9444984.

I wouldn't bother with the cam pulley because ultimately your cam shafts are still stock. Stock most of the time works best with '0' settings (stock). Advancing or retarding stock cam shafts is like choosing what paint to spray your car. Not going to make any difference in performance but sure looks nice.

Crank pulley is a good investment but don't undersize by too much. Overly undersize will make you want to swap back to original if your car is a street car.

I wouldn't bother with the cam pulley because ultimately your cam shafts are still stock. Stock most of the time works best with '0' settings (stock). Advancing or retarding stock cam shafts is like choosing what paint to spray your car. Not going to make any difference in performance but sure looks nice.

Crank pulley is a good investment but don't undersize by too much. Overly undersize will make you want to swap back to original if your car is a street car.

I read some article from Dinan BMW that said, undersized pulleys would affect the accesories (water pump, air con, wtv is attached to the crank pulley) at idling speeds.

i agree that there's not much effect on SOHC....

but on DOHC car....they made a whole lot of different...

its like u have 2-3sets of stock camshaft from different engine spec. to play....

especially when u change the overlapping duration of both camshaft... :adore:

p/s:however stock setting still the best balance between fc and performance.... :driver:

undersize pulley will spin ur accessories slower than original

meaning,

1. ur air-cond won't be as cool as b4
2. ur alternator will charge ur battery slower
3. water pump slower
4. power steering not very sure what will happen..

so, think b4 u undersize..

if same size, it's ok by me coz i'm using it :biggrin:

yup..under size pulley only meant for racing to reduce drag from alternator and power steering pump...(also if got aircond surely aircond drag was less but compressor not enough speed=ac not cold) :biggrin:

if there any oversize pulley i'd choose that...

agree with this... no point changing cam pulleys if ur still running on stock cams.. coz the best is usually at 0

even avantech's 6xxwhp VTEC Turbo monster is running stock cam pulleys with the stock Type R cams..

get same size lightened crank pulley....u get improvement without worrying about accesories being affected. mytheology seems to be a popular choice

I read some article from Dinan BMW that said, undersized pulleys would affect the accesories (water pump, air con, wtv is attached to the crank pulley) at idling speeds.

Well, some of the Mythelogy pulleys are 5% undersized. It's not enough to affect the accessories but it's small enough to make the accelerator lighter (in terms of feel).

i agree that there's not much effect on SOHC....

but on DOHC car....they made a whole lot of different...

its like u have 2-3sets of stock camshaft from different engine spec. to play....

especially when u change the overlapping duration of both camshaft... :adore:

p/s:however stock setting still the best balance between fc and performance.... :driver:

Really? Ok. I'm a DOHC newbie so I didn't know you could mess with stock cams like that for DOHC.

Had no idea about the difference of adjustable cam pulley tuning on DOHC and SOHC engines..care to share more?

SOHC engine u got only 1 camshaft that control intake and exhaust valve together....

while DOHC engine got 2 camshaft 1 for controlling each intake and exhaust valve....

in term of engine performance, not only valve opening duration and valve lift amount matters....

intake and exhaust valve overlapping duration also as important as the other 2factor mentioned earlier.....

thus with adjustable cam pulley on DOHC engine can be utilized to adjust this overlapping factor to make change of engine character and driver's preference...(because some like high rev power buildup,some like meatier low-mid range torque) so with adjustable cam pulley one can adjust to suits the need.... :adore: