Air con no cold during hot weather

mcliong1

Hi all ZTH-members, I driving a Honda City 2009. SC always refused to fix it from the 1st I get the car until the 2 and a half year then I give up as they say "is cold ma, other honda city also same". I know is not same as my 3 of my friend's car have no problem when I ride and borrow their car.

My problem is the air con not cold and no cold air coming out from the vent during hot weather. Either driving or park and go below the hot sun. When I rev my car and drive hard, a little cold air wil come out.

When driving in night and raining days. The air con is so cold that I will switch to fan "1" and the lowest temp.

Been to few air con work shops. Some say change compressor(price so expensive:hmmmm:) and some say change the motor fan.

Need help or maybe can recommend good mechanics.... thanks very much in advance...

did u report to tribunal when they refused to fix the car? dun let the SC giv so many excuses..

Definitely aircond condenser fan( next to the radiator fan)..it running slow dy..
i have been experience this..

did u report to tribunal when they refused to fix the car? dun let the SC giv so many excuses..

nope, they always give excuses. and they are hopeless...

---------- Post added at 08:04 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:04 PM ----------

Definitely aircond condenser fan( next to the radiator fan)..it running slow dy..
i have been experience this..

Estimate how much the damage if i would like to replace a new ori set.

if me, i'll change or add 1 more fan...ofcos modification needed...and i did it
but ur car..not a gud idea la todo dat...heheh

yeah, i think most probably compressor... because the fan is still strong

u say when idling hot then when the car moving it is cold rite...?

try to troubleshoot, during idling hot...use water hose spray to the air cond condenser...
if the aircond come out cold air then it is the fan..

*Dont spray the water all over the engine ok, only the condenser.:listen:
*Check for any oil leakage around compressor before start this..
*Do at ur own risk..

u say when idling hot then when the car moving it is cold rite...?

try to troubleshoot, during idling hot...use water hose spray to the air cond condenser...
if the aircond come out cold air then it is the fan..

*Dont spray the water all over the engine ok, only the condenser.:listen:
*Check for any oil leakage around compressor before start this..
*Do at ur own risk..

ok great...will try.
My problem is during hot day normal driving a little bit cold air, stop then no cold air but hard drive rev it kaw kaw got very cold air come out....
I will use ur way to test it...thanks

Similar problem happened to my Myvi few month ago. It was fan motor problem.
Please refer to ur owner manual to locate which authorize air cond SC you need to send. Authorize air cond SC is more preferable as they are professional dealing with air cond problem.

For your problem, can be a few things, that is why you should trouble shoot first to try pinpoint the problem.
From your explanation, these could be the problems, and some already mentioned.
1. Not enough refrigerant
That is why you need to rev at higher rpm to get cold air. Refrigerant not at optimum level to cool fast, therefore at idling it is hot.
If refrigerant is low, check for leaks too at all the air con system joints. If got leak, looks similar like oil stains.

2. Condenser fan running slow
If the fan runs slow, cannot cool the condenser. Refrigerant going through the condenser is hot and needs to be cooled down before going back into evaporator coil. This is similar to radiator water to cool the engine or simply heat transfer.
That is why you run high speed it is cool, because the air is cooling the condenser...

Similar problem happened to my Myvi few month ago. It was fan motor problem.
Please refer to ur owner manual to locate which authorize air cond SC you need to send. Authorize air cond SC is more preferable as they are professional dealing with air cond problem.

maybe for perodua SC are better. but Honda SC I dont think so because they charge ridiculous price still yet problem unsolved... I already give up on Honda SC. 2 in Selangor 1 in KL and 1 in Johor....

---------- Post added at 01:47 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:42 PM ----------

For your problem, can be a few things, that is why you should trouble shoot first to try pinpoint the problem.
From your explanation, these could be the problems, and some already mentioned.
1. Not enough refrigerant
That is why you need to rev at higher rpm to get cold air. Refrigerant not at optimum level to cool fast, therefore at idling it is hot.
If refrigerant is low, check for leaks too at all the air con system joints. If got leak, looks similar like oil stains.

2. Condenser fan running slow
If the fan runs slow, cannot cool the condenser. Refrigerant going through the condenser is hot and needs to be cooled down before going back into evaporator coil. This is similar to radiator water to cool the engine or simply heat transfer.
That is why you run high speed it is cool, because the air is cooling the condenser...

Thanks for ur great explanation.... I have let 2 different air con specialist check for leak. As they claim no leak...
So for this problem, there is not the causes of the compressor? because many ppl say compressor.
I wanna ask advise 1st so that wont get cheated by the mechanic....

Thanks for ur great explanation.... I have let 2 different air con specialist check for leak. As they claim no leak...
So for this problem, there is not the causes of the compressor? because many ppl say compressor.
I wanna ask advise 1st so that wont get cheated by the mechanic....

I am surprised since you mentioned you have sent to 2 air con specialist. If they are specialist, they should be able to detect the fault already, and not say try change this and that. In the end you may have change the whole air con system....:banghead:
For condenser, yes I have seen mechanic spray water on the condenser, mentioned by bro. punk.

For refrigerant, actually they can just plugged on their meters to check the running pressure and find whether enough refrigerant or not...

I am surprised since you mentioned you have sent to 2 air con specialist. If they are specialist, they should be able to detect the fault already, and not say try change this and that. In the end you may have change the whole air con system....:banghead:
For condenser, yes I have seen mechanic spray water on the condenser, mentioned by bro. punk.

For refrigerant, actually they can just plugged on their meters to check the running pressure and find whether enough refrigerant or not...

haha bro.... Nowadays u know la. Many ppl claim theirself professional/specialist/expert but in reality they are not so expert. The most scary is need to change the whole.

This is true because my mechanic many years ago had one client, last resort look for him introduce by another friend. The problem is the car (first generation Accord) was okay one minute then sometimes jerking. The client have gone to numerous other mechanics. His spark plugs were changed, the plug wires, then the distributor, etc., When he came to my mechanic and told him that, then my mechanic mentioned almost everything changed already. Since I was driving the same model of car, mechanic called me and asked to bring my car. Drove over, then he took out the ignition unit, plug into the other car and hey, everything okay. So the client just had to buy that.....problem solved....:driver:

yeah, the best idea is to trouble shoot first... rather than just directly change it.....

Yes you are right Liong, they claim to be specialist...

But when i ask them questions,

They will always say have to check first...

They also wear uniform so and so brand specialist...

But some of them only wear the uniform given...

Could be some apprentice of other trade, not specialised...

When they could not detect the fault, they do trial & error, got to change many new parts before the problem is solved...:banghead:

Hi all ZTH-members, I driving a Honda City 2009. SC always refused to fix it from the 1st I get the car until the 2 and a half year then I give up as they say "is cold ma, other honda city also same". I know is not same as my 3 of my friend's car have no problem when I ride and borrow their car.

My problem is the air con not cold and no cold air coming out from the vent during hot weather. Either driving or park and go below the hot sun. When I rev my car and drive hard, a little cold air wil come out.

When driving in night and raining days. The air con is so cold that I will switch to fan "1" and the lowest temp.

Been to few air con work shops. Some say change compressor(price so expensive:hmmmm:) and some say change the motor fan.

Need help or maybe can recommend good mechanics.... thanks very much in advance...

maybe econ compressor..try top up the aircond gas?