Should i BOT or upgrade from 4g91 to 4g93 block

iswara204

Hi guys, im struck by dilemma of the mentioned title, Should i BOT my 4g91 or upgrade 4g91 to 4g93 engine block.

I have been on 4g91 for years and its time to look into some upgrade and i came across the options. But im in a dilemma trying to decide what to go for. My concern here would be budget, like any other project :D and ofcourse the HP gain to be compared aswell.

Im keeping my budget about 3k, max 3.5k.

I did some homework and managed to come up with some initial price budgetary for the parts needed.

4g91 BOT
TD04L : 400-500 maybe need to service, so add another 200 for the service/repair kit
Exhaust header (Banana) : 500-600
390cc GSR injectors : 200-300
Metal casket: 150-200
intercooler: 300-400
intercooler piping: 500 ( just an estimation, if cheaper the better la)
emanage/safc2/neo: below 1000

Overall( i took the high side): RM4200..aiyaaa

4g91 to 4g93
4g93 block : 750
4g93 timing belt: 200-250
240cc injectors: 200-300
4g93 air flow sensor and ECU : 1000
Tbody and intake manifold: 500

Overall( i took the high side): RM2800..ehmmm

Please advise or add on if i have missed anything or correct my pricing if its not right? What would you guys go for you have this options?

As an owner of someone who did a NA->Turbo swap. I would suggest the 4G93 block.
Easier to service, easier to maintain.

Doing aftermarket turbo, if you do it cheap, or something go wrong. Boom. Then costs more money to fix.

---------- Post added at 04:49 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:48 PM ----------

As an owner of someone who did a NA->Turbo swap. I would suggest the 4G93 block.

Doing aftermarket turbo, if you do it cheap, or something go wrong. Boom. Then costs more money to fix.

You may need more $$$ for BOT. Probably bigger injectors and if you have not improved on your brakes and suspension that is another set back on your wallet....:hmmmm:

---------- Post added at 04:49 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:48 PM ----------

Hi bro, thx for the I input bro. I'm actually having the similar thoughts as well. What if it breakdown, more $$ to repair. But with many folks successfully bot'ed, with proper recipe, I don't have to pay a price for error! Ehmm..

---------- Post added at 07:21 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:19 PM ----------

You may need more $$$ for BOT. Probably bigger injectors and if you have not improved on your brakes and suspension that is another set back on your wallet....:hmmmm:

That part is covered for now. Brakes and suspension is at it's best! Hehe

Hi bro, thx for the I input bro. I'm actually having the similar thoughts as well. What if it breakdown, more $$ to repair. But with many folks successfully bot'ed, with proper recipe, I don't have to pay a price for error! Ehmm..

---------- Post added at 07:21 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:19 PM ----------

That part is covered for now. Brakes and suspension is at it's best! Hehe

Oh! if turbo, exhaust system needs change too.....

a 91 isnt dat far off then a 93's performance,id tune dat 91 up rather den changing it to an 1800,which cant be nearly be compared to a charged 91.of course, i will always suggest u go d boosted way

Oh! if turbo, exhaust system needs change too.....

I'm running on 2.0 inch at the moment. Feel sluggish in the 91 setting. Feels like 1.8 inch is the best pipe size for 91. But if BOT, I think 2.0 inch should be ok.

---------- Post added at 07:57 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:41 AM ----------

a 91 isnt dat far off then a 93's performance,id tune dat 91 up rather den changing it to an 1800,which cant be nearly be compared to a charged 91.of course, i will always suggest u go d boosted way

91 and 93 not much power difference? Definitely the hp gain is significant bro. Ehm, and the only set back would be 1.5 gbox compared to the 1.8 gbox which has a better gear ratio. My concern here is budget, even without workmanship, it's over my budget. *holding my head

I'm running on 2.0 inch at the moment. Feel sluggish in the 91 setting. Feels like 1.8 inch is the best pipe size for 91. But if BOT, I think 2.0 inch should be ok.

---------- Post added at 07:57 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:41 AM ----------

91 and 93 not much power difference? Definitely the hp gain is significant bro. Ehm, and the only set back would be 1.5 gbox compared to the 1.8 gbox which has a better gear ratio. My concern here is budget, even without workmanship, it's over my budget. *holding my head

Oh! Never expected your 4G91 to be running on 2" pipes...:biggrin:

Depends on what you want. Lower cost lower gain. BOT will cost more but HP gain is different ball game....:smokin:

Oh! Never expected your 4G91 to be running on 2" pipes...:biggrin:

Depends on what you want. Lower cost lower gain. BOT will cost more but HP gain is different ball game....:smokin:

Yalah bro, i dont know what was i thinking when i was the pipe shop!! *banging my head on the wall

But its a NO NO for 91's to go on 2.0 inch! learning it the hard way! i didnt do homework on that!

Yalah bro, i dont know what was i thinking when i was the pipe shop!! *banging my head on the wall

But its a NO NO for 91's to go on 2.0 inch! learning it the hard way! i didnt do homework on that!

Yup. sometimes learn the hard way. So now you ask first in the forum for some answers....:biggrin:

mine was running a 2inch zorst,acceleration was crisp jer.. are u running a striaght pipe ke?

Hi guys, im struck by dilemma of the mentioned title, Should i BOT my 4g91 or upgrade 4g91 to 4g93 engine block.

I have been on 4g91 for years and its time to look into some upgrade and i came across the options. But im in a dilemma trying to decide what to go for. My concern here would be budget, like any other project :D and ofcourse the HP gain to be compared aswell.

Im keeping my budget about 3k, max 3.5k.

I did some homework and managed to come up with some initial price budgetary for the parts needed.

4g91 BOT
TD04L : 400-500 maybe need to service, so add another 200 for the service/repair kit
Exhaust header (Banana) : 500-600
390cc GSR injectors : 200-300
Metal casket: 150-200
intercooler: 300-400
intercooler piping: 500 ( just an estimation, if cheaper the better la)
emanage/safc2/neo: below 1000

Overall( i took the high side): RM4200..aiyaaa

4g91 to 4g93
4g93 block : 750
4g93 timing belt: 200-250
240cc injectors: 200-300
4g93 air flow sensor and ECU : 1000
Tbody and intake manifold: 500

Overall( i took the high side): RM2800..ehmmm

Please advise or add on if i have missed anything or correct my pricing if its not right? What would you guys go for you have this options?

Hi.....
I have a wira aeroback which i have converted to 4g93t...
And in it i did

1)fully forged cp pistons
2)Duratec conrods
3)balanced engine as well as crankshaft and whole works....
4)td05 turbo boosting at 1.2bar,40mm turbosmart wastegate

I have an emanaged blue tuned by GT Auto....

Thought of selling the car...PM me if u have thought bout it....
Better than doing BOT,although slightly pricey...but i m sure the car more reliable than BOT

Hehehe

a charged project can be reliable if u know what u r doing.. and dis isnt a place to sell anything,admin?

a straight pipe for d 91 isnt a good way to harness its power fyi, get a proper zorst system, u will definitely feel d difference

its not that cheap, trust me...there will be overhead expenses involved...if u want to make a reliable engine, u must overhaul the engine 1st...an ageing block like 4g93 needs to be overhauled...I've done a 4g91 to 4g93 conversion, block rm750, injectors rm200, I am using the 4g91 wiring n ecu but using e-manage, and then the overhaul and transplant labour about rm1.6k...I've spent more than rm5k upgrading, for a reliable engine...

syimir,hence y i suggested y tuning d 91 is best+proper zorst system

how much for a good zorst system?bfore converting to 4g93, I've tuned my 4g91...its a good engine, ecu rechip to 8k rpm, e-manage, high cam n bla bla bla...dyno was 130whp ++ which translates to more than 170hp..but still tuning an engine for good power still consumes lots of money.far exceeding the rm3k mark.

so my advice is, save a sufficient amount of money first or buy parts by parts if u want to tune ur 4g91, or upgrading to 4g93.