first car- evo 7 or dc5?

mista

taiko-taiko.. i need help here.. im going to buy my first car for my performance car..is thinking to have a powerful car but dun want to worry bout the maintenance later on..

i was thinking of evo 7.. but heard macam2.. so :-
-is it really worth it??
-will evo 7 cause me headache later?
- hows the fuel consumption?
-the maintenance?
* thinking to use it as a daily car..

or shld i go for dc5.. which 1 better??

really need help here.. :confused: :hmmmm:

need to re-edit the thread as Izso got snap suddenly..
sorry for the thread starting.. my first thread here meh..

O-M-F-G.

Dude, two questions for you :

1. How old are you?
2. Are you born rich?

If your answer for #1 is < 25 years old, forget both these cars. Buy a Saga BLM.
If you answer for #2 is = Not rich, forget both these cars. Buy a Saga BLM.

Go do your research on these type of cars before you throw questions like this in a forum full of car enthusiasts man. Yes you are one too but asking for opinion for a first car and not knowing anything about these cars is bordering ridiculous.

I'm sorry if I sound harsh but you aren't the first person to ask this question and the last few people who asked this question all got flame grilled medium well.

Save yourself the embarassment and buy yourself a Saga BLM. Or a Myvi 1.5. Learn everything there is to know about cars and if you're not rich, go make it big in the business world then splurge on the car of your dreams without worrying about FC and maintenance.

buy my perdana, faster than evo 7 & dc5 hehe....:biggrin:
Kiram style claim...(joke bro....)

IMHO, both car required lots of funding.
Cut short for maintenance will end up in workshop longer then you expected.
Both ride exceed 10 years old... maintenance... is a must...

O-M-F-G.

Dude, two questions for you :

1. How old are you?
2. Are you born rich?

If your answer for #1 is < 25 years old, forget both these cars. Buy a Saga BLM.
If you answer for #2 is = Not rich, forget both these cars. Buy a Saga BLM.

Go do your research on these type of cars before you throw questions like this in a forum full of car enthusiasts man. Yes you are one too but asking for opinion for a first car and not knowing anything about these cars is bordering ridiculous.

I'm sorry if I sound harsh but you aren't the first person to ask this question and the last few people who asked this question all got flame grilled medium well.

Save yourself the embarassment and buy yourself a Saga BLM. Or a Myvi 1.5. Learn everything there is to know about cars and if you're not rich, go make it big in the business world then splurge on the car of your dreams without worrying about FC and maintenance.

Easy Izso, you just like my daddy lecturing me. Myvi 1.5 is nice to drive but the brake is a crap IHMO.

Your monster you want to sell meh?....:biggrin:
If he gets a RX-7, he would I guess :biggrin:

Easy Izso, you just like my daddy lecturing me. Myvi 1.5 is nice to drive but the brake is a crap IHMO.

I strongly agree with Izso, I too had that kind of thought of wanting to know more about
how much a sports car/performance car is before. To me is like buying a car is like
buying a bread at 7-eleven many years back before I get to know ZTH. Told my dad,
I want this car, that car, is cheaper than our current family car only RM40K, RM60K or RM90K

But that, is a 2nd hand car that I need to bear in mind and is higher cc like 2000 to 3000cc car.
Never even thought about petrol and etcs. Just hope for dad to pay everything? Unless
that guy/girl's family is filthy rich.

Slowly, you find what our dad says is somehow true. Buying is always the easy part,
maintaining is the worse part when you did not include that into consideration.

Road Tax, insurance and maintenance.

And looking at how TS ask, want to buy which as his 1st car, is either he is from a rich family, or he
just ask for fun.

1st car, straight drive Evo or DC5? Really not something recommended. Need to learn how to
handle the car well before upgrading straight to such high power cars...new drivers, surely
will get into accident for once. Never get into accident before shows how often one drive.

lol.. i dont know y u got mad at me.. it just i need an advice.. ive read some of the thread here.. still did not get a clear view on the cars.. thts y i asking for opinion on my case here.. other thing tht ive done is ask te owner of the car, n they said, it should be ok.. this forum is open for every members right? so y did u make it sound like it just a group, or forum for ppl whos profesional, or knows everything like u?? tht doesnt sound right, am i rite? ^_^

Mista bro, ya is an open forum, just see how you look at it.

Izso may sound a bit harsh but he is actually showing his concern
and just giving you an advice and best suggestion for you if it is
your first car and you have just got your license or so?

You got to consider whether you can afford the maintenance of the car? Afford the weekly petrol?
Not to say pouring cold water on your dreams, have dreams is good.

Just need to put some things into consideration.

1st car as in, my first car buying with my own salary la bro.. im old enough, i guess.. its not tht im a teenage, who ask, "daddy,daddy, i want a car, can buy me one?? " hahahaha..

---------- Post added at 09:43 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:40 AM ----------

i guess u guys got ur first car by using ur parents money rite?? as ur dad to get u a car, n just like tht, u got ur own ride at ur early age.. too bad, im nt like u guys.. driving licence? ofcourse i have it.. hahaha.. how old do u think i am???

1st car as in, my first car buying with my own salary la bro.. im old enough, i guess.. its not tht im a teenage, who ask, "daddy,daddy, i want a car, can buy me one?? " hahahaha..

Oh, your question is not detail enough la bro, already mislead the meaning of your question.
That's why many will think is another teenage kid is just asking for fun whereby he can't actually
afford it and don't even understand these cars.

Should be which car should I get as my 1st performance car? something like that.
Now that we are clear with your question then guess many others would be able to give
you their opinion.

I have no experience in those cars or even afford to own one, so can't give you any advise or
suggestion on those cars. Wait for other sifu to assist you.

tq beo supra_fanatic.. atleast, some nice reply i got here.. y ppl got mad early in the morning?? hahaha..

first before buy evo. u need know about the engine , parts , and the problem of engine. and how to maintaince and the realible workshop can do for evo.. if u dont know. later ppl/foremen will tipu about what has been damage or parts rosak.if have lot of money. can buy e7.eh why not e9 bro? just maintaince the engine standard better. =D.better buy e9 bro

tq beo supra_fanatic.. atleast, some nice reply i got here.. y ppl got mad early in the morning?? hahaha..

No la bro, just too many people come in with these questions which is quite similar, end up
that person went missing after asking all sorts and end of the day we found out he is
just asking for fun but cant actually afford it. Waste of our time.

So, maybe you want to amend you questions a bit to be more specific then more people
will reply. If not you will be ignored or get more shooting :rofl:

:biggrin: I very chill la. Btw there's a few things you can do to improve braking performance. Chat elsewhere.

No one's mad at you dude. It's just the way you asked your question that makes it sound like a certain forummer we flamed just a while ago for his claims of wanting to own a R35. Had you pointed out each cars cons and pros (based on your own knowledge) then asked us to choose or help you fill in the gaps, then it would've been a different answer from me.

You're gravely mistaken if you think our first cars were all bought by parents. Mine was bought over from my parents with my own cash. Loan was also resolved by me without any parental intervention. Most of us here are not silverspoon boys so we own our own cars through blood sweat and tears. Some more successful than others hence their larger nicer cars.

To own an Evo or DC5, you need to prepare to dish out RM130k (give or take) up front. If you plan on getting a loan, that means 10% downpayment (if more then good) then loan would be roughly RM110k (give or take).

2nd hand car interest rates are much higher than new but for the benefit of the doubt I'll cap it at 3.5%. I doubt banks will loan you 9 years for 2nd hand cars so it'll be 7 years.

(RM110,000 x 3.5%) x 7 = RM26950.

So your loan plus interest would be RM136,950. 7 years means RM1630.36 per month.

Bank loans won't let you take an instalment amount of more than 40% of your pay so if your pay is less than RM5000 per month you can forget about this loan.

Let's assume you don't have credit card loans, home loans, give money to parents, spend on girlfriend, etc. Both the DC5 and Evo7 are fuel guzzlers when you whack them and if you own these cars, it's guaranteed you'll VTEKTEK it often or boost often. So petrol I'll give it RM120 per week (RON97 only otherwise knocking or you'll have to spend on detuning the cars). That's RM500 a month on petrol.

Maintenance for a turbo car will be higher than NA but Honda parts especially imports like the DC5 are not exactly cheap so maintenance costs will be somewhat significant. Skimp on maintenance then prepare to pay through your nose for repairs. Then there's tyres, 17" bare minimum means RM300 bare minimum for 1 tyre, so RM1200 cheapest for 4 tyres.

So overall, all in these two cars will set you back about RM2,500 per month (including saving for maintenance, tyres, petrol, instalment, etc) on average and that's being conservative.

If you buy a lemon 2nd hand Evo7 or DC5, you'll be paying a lot for repairs or rebuilding engines if it comes to that.

So... do you understand why I replied the way I did?

nice explanation izso. ya ya. search about these 2 cars before buy. maintainance + petrol + car loans. if can afford. then u can research about the evo problem/dc5 problem.. nevermind just take your time. survey at used car these 2 car. and if can buy evo9 bro.coz it more new compare to evo7 =)

Ya ya, newer cars less wear and tear. Especially these cars that would be trash on the road :biggrin:

hmm.. let's mk it easy to count..
Before u throw this question, u should know the car's price..

• Monthly installment (RM1k or 1.5K maybe?) +
• Ron97 fuel Daily use (RM 600++) +
• 1 yr Insurance & Rd Tax (RM 200/mth) +
• Monthly maintenance (RM200 maybe?) +
• Emergency Fund - Kena hit & run/ thieft/ parts fail =Countless....

taa daa !!! pls deduct at least RM3000++ on ur monthly salary...
And this is only spend on vehicle...

Hope with my little agak-agak guessing will gv u some idea..
Oh.. happy modding .... (pls plus Extra $$ for Modding on ur monthly expences~~~)