Manual, take Vios as example. VIOS is the lowest specs in Malaysia, all the goodies only offer to A/T models. So only Vios J Spec can be project car haha!
What to do, even some did complain in newspaper that why on earth need to teach citizens to
drive with Manual cars in driving schools when we have A/T cars nowadays?
That's the dumbest article sent in by that numbskull...in short, they are just lazy or handicap.
The society now had different views on manual cars now. I've had a few friends who laughed hard at me just because I said I prefer to drive manual over auto. The look at me as if I'm some sort of loser or something.
Vios as project car? For 70k, I would probably consider Inspira 1.8 manual. The car is larger, more powerful, using mitsubishi chassis and can do conversion to evo x(externally lah). The bilstein suspension, brembo and exhaust system from the evo x fits the inspira too I think. And there is a chance to transplant a 4B11T from evo x halfcut in the future when evo x halfcut's price had lowered. How does this sound?

Probably can turn into 4WD if you got the parts from Daihatsu Boon X4. 
Shift it to "1" or "2" and rev the crap out of it la. Keep it in that gear until either you overheat the GB or you reach the top of the hill. BLM is pretty lightweight and it's not using that weakass CVT gearbox so you should be fine revving it like that.