Choice of Project Car

Manual, take Vios as example. VIOS is the lowest specs in Malaysia, all the goodies only offer to A/T models. So only Vios J Spec can be project car haha!

What to do, even some did complain in newspaper that why on earth need to teach citizens to
drive with Manual cars in driving schools when we have A/T cars nowadays?

That's the dumbest article sent in by that numbskull...in short, they are just lazy or handicap.

The society now had different views on manual cars now. I've had a few friends who laughed hard at me just because I said I prefer to drive manual over auto. The look at me as if I'm some sort of loser or something.

Vios as project car? For 70k, I would probably consider Inspira 1.8 manual. The car is larger, more powerful, using mitsubishi chassis and can do conversion to evo x(externally lah). The bilstein suspension, brembo and exhaust system from the evo x fits the inspira too I think. And there is a chance to transplant a 4B11T from evo x halfcut in the future when evo x halfcut's price had lowered. How does this sound?

I want new, don't want 2nd hand haha!

RM300k, right? Oh! Forgot, your mom's bank......:rolleyes:

---------- Post added at 08:29 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:27 PM ----------

The society now had different views on manual cars now. I've had a few friends who laughed hard at me just because I said I prefer to drive manual over auto. The look at me as if I'm some sort of loser or something.

Vios as project car? For 70k, I would probably consider Inspira 1.8 manual. The car is larger, more powerful, using mitsubishi chassis and can do conversion to evo x(externally lah). The bilstein suspension, brembo and exhaust system from the evo x fits the inspira too I think. And there is a chance to transplant a 4B11T from evo x halfcut in the future when evo x halfcut's price had lowered. How does this sound?

Manual is good brother. Lunch time they say use your car, just pass them your keys, then they will drive their auto....:rofl:

Still confused. You mean the B13 or B14 from the 90s or those more recent Sentra after year 2000?:hmmmm2: Sorry, I'm not a pro in sentra..

The one with Neo n1 is B13. It used to be more popular of the 2 due to better handling, cheaper as being older and looks which is more like the VR4 Galant. Not to mention the B13's flexibility with vertical mounted engine.

Same responds I got from my friends and family, they say who would choose manual when almost
the whole Klang Valley is always jam...Told me that I would regret getting a manual.

Well, not totally wrong, Klang Valley and major areas are always jam and you are gonna
wish that it was Auto at that time but when the road is empty, u just wish it was manual.
Still for us, is different, manual is a need. I started driving Auto after getting my license.
So for the next car, I'm gonna get a manual. Already felt the limitations in A/T cars.

Let them laugh, ask them drive up genting with you, they will suffer in hill climb. They
will then understand the advantage of manual cars. Not ask you to touge but just normal
journey up genting. I suffer when my gf's sis husband drives up with his Manual Vios and
I had a hard time pushing the engine to its limit to catch up.

Ya, agree Inspira no matter what a better choice to mod instead of Vios...Modding a Vios
is like modding a myvi if you get what i mean. But somehow Myvi have more potential
parts than the Vios. Eat it alive anytime with proper mod but with limitation since
Myvi chassis is not even suitable in the 1st place.

RM300k, right? Oh! Forgot, your mom's bank......:rolleyes:

Manual is good brother. Lunch time they say use your car, just pass them your keys, then they will drive their auto....:rofl:

RM259,800 for WRX STi and RM234,800 for Legacy GT 2.5 Sedan 5spd A/T

Agree, got once a tight space to reverse a car out, got doubled park. my female friend ask
me if I can help her reverse, I say sure, but when I got in, I was shit is manual and I
have not been driving one for like 7 years, dare not take the risk to reverse out from
a small space since I'm kinda rusty. I got my other friend who drives manual to reverse
and he too having a hard time reversing out cuz is not easy. :banghead:

Haha, good suggestion indeed.

The one with Neo n1 is B13. It used to be more popular of the 2 due to better handling, cheaper as being older and looks which is more like the VR4 Galant. Not to mention the B13's flexibility with vertical mounted engine.

Thanks for the info.

Same responds I got from my friends and family, they say who would choose manual when almost
the whole Klang Valley is always jam...Told me that I would regret getting a manual.

Well, not totally wrong, Klang Valley and major areas are always jam and you are gonna
wish that it was Auto at that time but when the road is empty, u just wish it was manual.
Still for us, is different, manual is a need. I started driving Auto after getting my license.
So for the next car, I'm gonna get a manual. Already felt the limitations in A/T cars.

Let them laugh, ask them drive up genting with you, they will suffer in hill climb. They
will then understand the advantage of manual cars. Not ask you to touge but just normal
journey up genting. I suffer when my gf's sis husband drives up with his Manual Vios and
I had a hard time pushing the engine to its limit to catch up.

Ya, agree Inspira no matter what a better choice to mod instead of Vios...Modding a Vios
is like modding a myvi if you get what i mean. But somehow Myvi have more potential
parts than the Vios. Eat it alive anytime with proper mod but with limitation since

RM259,800 for WRX STi and RM234,800 for Legacy GT 2.5 Sedan 5spd A/T

Agree, got once a tight space to reverse a car out, got doubled park. my female friend ask
me if I can help her reverse, I say sure, but when I got in, I was shit is manual and I
have not been driving one for like 7 years, dare not take the risk to reverse out from
a small space since I'm kinda rusty. I got my other friend who drives manual to reverse

What to do, people nowadays are getting lazier. I've heard many saying that manual cars is a chore because you need to press the clutch and choose the gear by yourself. That is totally a lame excuse. Even with today's semi-auto or double clutch transmission + paddle shifters, it can't fully replicate the feeling of driving a good old manual transmission car. Clicking a button is totally different than shifting into a gear. Some people had also told me something like "now got semi-auto/manual mode in cars mah. also can play manual like that la".
Because you can transplant the K3-VET into Myvi easily :biggrin: Probably can turn into 4WD if you got the parts from Daihatsu Boon X4.

Vios... Even though it has less potential, but some people had decided to take it to the max.
World's First 500 WHP Toyota Vios Turbo - YouTube
I don't know whether this guy is one of ZTH member or not but he really is pushing his vios to the max. The amount of $ spent won't be cheap as well.

Vios can handle that type of power? I saw a VR4 mod with bigger turbine, higher boost and NOS and with racing fuel hitting 600bhp according to owner, but he say can use straight line only....

Haha, good suggestion indeed.

Thanks for the info.

What to do, people nowadays are getting lazier. I've heard many saying that manual cars is a chore because you need to press the clutch and choose the gear by yourself. That is totally a lame excuse. Even with today's semi-auto or double clutch transmission + paddle shifters, it can't fully replicate the feeling of driving a good old manual transmission car. Clicking a button is totally different than shifting into a gear. Some people had also told me something like "now got semi-auto/manual mode in cars mah. also can play manual like that la".
Because you can transplant the K3-VET into Myvi easily :biggrin: Probably can turn into 4WD if you got the parts from Daihatsu Boon X4.

Vios... Even though it has less potential, but some people had decided to take it to the max.
World's First 500 WHP Toyota Vios Turbo - YouTube
I don't know whether this guy is one of ZTH member or not but he really is pushing his vios to the max. The amount of $ spent won't be cheap as well.

500whp on that Vios sounds crazy enough, whether the owner able to handle or make use of that 500whp is another story. If not, is just a waste of money. Big power but cant handle it
also no point.

Chassis also don't know can handle that kind of power or not :rofl:
Totally over doing it la.

Turn to 4WD have to be illegal already haha! Wah, if 4WD K3-VET myvi would be great for drag
:driver:

Vios can handle that type of power? I saw a VR4 mod with bigger turbine, higher boost and NOS and with racing fuel hitting 600bhp according to owner, but he say can use straight line only....

I ws hoping the person is u. :rofl:

If VR4 can achieve that, that means Perdana/Satria/Putra/Wira with 4G63T can do it too... Nice..

500whp on that Vios sounds crazy enough, whether the owner able to handle or make use of that 500whp is another story. If not, is just a waste of money. Big power but cant handle it
also no point.

Chassis also don't know can handle that kind of power or not :rofl:
Totally over doing it la.

Turn to 4WD have to be illegal already haha! Wah, if 4WD K3-VET myvi would be great for drag
:driver:

That car had no grip at all i guess...
4WD of course is illegal lor. But if maintain a sleeper look, probably you can go around without looking suspicious. But finding parts to make the 4WD won't be easy

Toyota Vios Turbo - In Car Video - YouTube
looks like very difficult to control

Let them laugh, ask them drive up genting with you, they will suffer in hill climb. They will then understand the advantage of manual cars. Not ask you to touge but just normal journey up genting. I suffer when my gf's sis husband drives up with his Manual Vios and I had a hard time pushing the engine to its limit to catch up.

Hmm... you're not pushing your car right if you can't use an auto to keep up with a manual uphill :thefinger: Shift it to "1" or "2" and rev the crap out of it la. Keep it in that gear until either you overheat the GB or you reach the top of the hill. BLM is pretty lightweight and it's not using that weakass CVT gearbox so you should be fine revving it like that.

I wouldn't say Myvi has more potential. Both cars are limited by the torsion beam (damn you kcng.. I had to say that out loud) and the Myvi has the JDM equivalent to swap around with. Myvi is way too light, throw in enough power and your straight line performance will be crazy. But don't expect to have control.

:banghead:

Sorry.. hehehe. Not very manly for a man to not be able to reverse park a manual car which belongs to a girl! :biggrin:

I think it's the problem with the current generation of cars. When I started out autos were expensive. I drove manuals for about 10 years before I switched to auto so throwing me back into a manual and it's like re-learning how to ride a bicycle. These days cars don't come with manuals.

looks like very difficult to control

I've seen a Vios turbo (BOT) and it had about 200whp. That car had ridiculous amounts of torque steer even at 3 gear which was stupidly ridiculous. I cannot imagine 500whp! This Vios better have a LSD to reign in all that power otherwise it'll be all show and no go.

---------- Post added at 04:30 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:25 PM ----------

I just watched the vid. Woah.. auto with a helical LSD? These guys are loaded! And not to mention I didn't know the stock auto tranny could take 500whp!!

---------- Post added at 04:34 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:30 PM ----------

Just watched the 1st vid too. GTAuto doesn't use WHP as their gauge, it's PS.

So 501PS = 494.15HP

Which is still shitloads of power!

Hmm... you're not pushing your car right if you can't use an auto to keep up with a manual uphill :thefinger: Shift it to "1" or "2" and rev the crap out of it la. Keep it in that gear until either you overheat the GB or you reach the top of the hill. BLM is pretty lightweight and it's not using that weakass CVT gearbox so you should be fine revving it like that.

I wouldn't say Myvi has more potential. Both cars are limited by the torsion beam (damn you kcng.. I had to say that out loud) and the Myvi has the JDM equivalent to swap around with. Myvi is way too light, throw in enough power and your straight line performance will be crazy. But don't expect to have control.

Sorry.. hehehe. Not very manly for a man to not be able to reverse park a manual car which belongs to a girl! :biggrin:

I think it's the problem with the current generation of cars. When I started out autos were expensive. I drove manuals for about 10 years before I switched to auto so throwing me back into a manual and it's like re-learning how to ride a bicycle. These days cars don't come with manuals.

I've seen a Vios turbo (BOT) and it had about 200whp. That car had ridiculous amounts of torque steer even at 3 gear which was stupidly ridiculous. I cannot imagine 500whp! This Vios better have a LSD to reign in all that power otherwise it'll be all show and no go.

---------- Post added at 04:30 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:25 PM ----------

I just watched the vid. Woah.. auto with a helical LSD? These guys are loaded! And not to mention I didn't know the stock auto tranny could take 500whp!!

---------- Post added at 04:34 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:30 PM ----------

So 501PS = 494.15HP

Cars nowadays still come with manual but only offered in overseas not here. Curse it. You can check those USA official sites and you still can find many cars are offered in manual even though most of the americans drive auto.

Umm, I don't think this guy is using auto for the Vios. Check out his blog mentioned at the video's description. He swapped it for manual transmission.
Toyota Vios Turbo: Stage 2 Turbo Project - Manual Transmission

Most impressive thing is, this fellow is using the stock 1NZ-FE engine and tuned it to that much of power. What a fortune that he had spent on this engine. With that much of $, i guess he could have got himself some other turbo cars like Evo 3, Galant VR4 or GC8. Why vios? Die hard fan of vios?

So 501PS = 494.15HP

I wasn't driving the BLM, was driving the Corolla :rofl:
Putting to 1st Gear, engine roaring sakit hati la. I need to push down to gear 2 to
gain pick up :rofl:

Yes, like u said is AUTO, later my GB letup due to heat :rofl:
Engine not so good condition la, dare not push it too much as advised by my mech before.
Need to overhaul. Start to makan engine oil if using fully syn.

BLM I always rev kaw it mia. Cuz one thing about proton, the gearbox is long lasting :rofl:

LOL! :rofl: Damn, people's car I rather get someone who knows how to drive instead of
pride I trash her car, I'll be even more embarrassed :rofl:

Yes, straight line is powerful which is why many Myvi go Turtle. Shape of it already obvious it
will go turtle :banghead:

If u tell me a 500HP Altis also I don't think one can control it man...just too much for the
car to handle.

I wasn't driving the BLM, was driving the Corolla :rofl:
Putting to 1st Gear, engine roaring sakit hati la. I need to push down to gear 2 to
gain pick up :rofl:

Yes, like u said is AUTO, later my GB letup due to heat :rofl:
Engine not so good condition la, dare not push it too much as advised by my mech before.
Need to overhaul. Start to makan engine oil if using fully syn.

BLM I always rev kaw it mia. Cuz one thing about proton, the gearbox is long lasting :rofl:

LOL! :rofl: Damn, people's car I rather get someone who knows how to drive instead of
pride I trash her car, I'll be even more embarrassed :rofl:

Yes, straight line is powerful which is why many Myvi go Turtle. Shape of it already obvious it
will go turtle :banghead:

If u tell me a 500HP Altis also I don't think one can control it man...just too much for the
car to handle.

BLM using proton made gearbox or came from other manufacturer?
Myvi's chassis really sucked that badly? Can't do anything to improve the handling like changing suspension, tyres and stuff?

After reading a few posts, aiyak a lot into altezza. Rather than price go down suddenly price goes up after election due to ZTH members keep mentioning the mods and possibilities of Altezza :rofl:

I haven't driven BLM / Saga FLX but I've driven a MyVi and seems it is kinda light when taking corners. Maybe I'm used (and possibly spoilt) to my good ol 100 SEG when taking corners feel solid lol. I'm not sure if its the chassis design, the weight, the aerodynamics. But one thing for certain, our roads are a NIGHTMARE.

Speaking of turtle, saw once a Honda City went turtle on a corner around Cheras area on Mex area. Best part, City langgar City but sadly one of them went turtle. Must be a gruesome fight :rofl: Also saw another honda city in KL went over the pavement and into the bushes at Jalan Kinabalu heading to Bank Negara from Jalan Kuching. Even the tow truck guys were scratching their head as to how the city ended up there. If the driver overshoot, confirm went into Sungai Klang and the drug addicts would be like "damn, this is an awesome drug". :rofl:

*Both city are the latest honda city models*

I ws hoping the person is u. :rofl:

ha! ha! so you can test......:biggrin: too bad not me......:smokin:

---------- Post added at 10:52 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:45 AM ----------

If VR4 can achieve that, that means Perdana/Satria/Putra/Wira with 4G63T can do it too... Nice..
VR4 in Satria, another friend mod until 340bhp.
For this VR4 of 600bhp, I saw when he attend VRC club tt. He work for Turbo 1, so probably easy to get his turbine, but recently called him and he has left Turbo 1.
Well, what I saw was amazing. The turbine he used was really huge, many times larger than our OEM ones. His inlet manifold was longer than the VR4 engine :smokin:
8 blue hoses for petrol, and 8 red hoses for NOS. Inside One driver seat only and a bottle of NOS next to it. But he mentioned use regular Ron97 fuel get below 500bhp only.

---------- Post added at 11:05 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:52 AM ----------

ha! ha! teaching bro. Sf how to burn his GB......:rofl:

ha! ha! so you can test......:biggrin: too bad not me......:smokin:

---------- Post added at 10:52 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:45 AM ----------

VR4 in Satria, another friend mod until 340bhp.
For this VR4 of 600bhp, I saw when he attend VRC club tt. He work for Turbo 1, so probably easy to get his turbine, but recently called him and he has left Turbo 1.
Well, what I saw was amazing. The turbine he used was really huge, many times larger than our OEM ones. His inlet manifold was longer than the VR4 engine :smokin:
8 blue hoses for petrol, and 8 red hoses for NOS. Inside One driver seat only and a bottle of NOS next to it. But he mentioned use regular Ron97 fuel get below 500bhp only.

Thumbs up to your friend's great car :top: The VR4 your friend using is converted VR4 or original 4WD VR4? Below 500hp is still very impressive for such a car. Can smoke those arrogant drivers driving Golf GTI or Audi TT on the road. I've seen some of those driving as if they owned the road.

hi bros...anyone know if still possible to get a loan for following cars below? or what are the criteria for loan? as in age of car not more than 15 and usually what is the margin of finance? Also would like to know what are the expected road tax and insurance premiums assuming i don't have any discount.

- eg6 20+ yrs old, price ard 40k
- starlet gt 20+ yrs old, price ard 30-40k
- toyota Supra 15-20yrs old, price ard 90-100k
- GTR 33 80-100k 15-20yrs old, price ard 80-100k
- evo 7 10+ yrs old, price ard 90-100k