Choice of Project Car

If it is a project car, and don't intend to sell maybe can go for 7 years loan
instead since Proton depreciates in value pretty quick.

Well, at least no debts and easier to focus on modding :smile:

Ya, true. I'm in no position to really go for big mods and it seems like
I got to save for few months for some major modification. Minor minor
ones still can afford a bit by bit.

but i guess my intention is to get a cheaper project car for 1-2 years before moving on a more expensive project car. if thats the case, i shdnt be getting 7 year loan right? and will be better getting a 2nd hand car? or should i just go straight for a evo8-9 or scooby version 8/9 and do less mods but pay more monthly installments.

anyway how much is expected depreciation per year for a brand new neo r3? and also a 2nd hand cps? lets say, i drive for 1.5-2 years, how much money would i lose?

:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

---------- Post added at 07:02 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:01 PM ----------

Thank you....

Yup, some of us have met up. Good to put a face to the id, we always reply to.....:driver:

Huh? What you mean good to put a face to the id.

but i guess my intention is to get a cheaper project car for 1-2 years before moving on a more expensive project car. if thats the case, i shdnt be getting 7 year loan right? and will be better getting a 2nd hand car? or should i just go straight for a evo8-9 or scooby version 8/9 and do less mods but pay more monthly installments.

Maybe you should get cars like evo8-9 or impreza ver 8/9 because even though they are more expensive, at least they are newer and more reliable than older project cars. If you had the money to go for better cars, why not? If you had a tight budget, then get those cheaper project cars and slowly build it up.

i mean...i try not to stress myself financially cause monthly installment for those 2 car will take up quite a fair bit of my disposable income...it will be more of drive and mod less but what i am afraid is i will continue to mod and spend more money. however if i were to get a say proton cps or r3 neo, the monthly installment is almost neglible and wont really affect my lifestyle but well i am in dilemma still. Things may change once my 2 mortgage loan kicks in, cause right now they are still on deferred payment and will start around the same time.

anyway how much is expected depreciation per year for a brand new neo r3? and also a 2nd hand cps? lets say, i drive for 1.5-2 years, how much money would i lose?

If intend for Satria Neo, might as well get 2nd hand real R3 Neo instead. Since the new one is just
bodykitted and Real R3 Neo is roughly around the price or a New R3 neo but slightly higher in price.

From what I see, Satria Neo CPS year 2011 seems to drop till RM48K. So roughly around RM10K+ for 1.5 years - 2 years driving.

If can afford an Evo or Scooby, I think is more worth getting them. Without mods itself already has a lot of horses in it. Unlike R3 Neo where you have to spend a lot of money to achieve certain level
of performance.

Still Evo and Scooby is 4WD as well. :top: If me I would consider a Scooby or Evo, looks better and
much more suitable car to play with performance or just a weekend car.

20 years old. You and VR2turbo sounds young at here :biggrin: No disrespect or offence here.

Because of modern techs and assist in new cars, that is probably one of the reasons of why many young or unskilled drivers crashed their cars. Because they overestimated their car's ability to handle any situation and they just go all out in those cars. Since electronics made things look easier, people tend to be more careless because they become overly dependent on electronics to help them handle the task/situation. I mean look at it this way, if you are driving an older car with less electronics and modern equipment, you will pay more attention when you're handling the car right because it is not so easy to handle it. You won't take much risk if you are not confident in it. Meanwhile on new cars, inexperienced drivers with high ego will be much carefree and pay less attention when they drive those cars since those cars are easier to handle and drive. In other words, they pay less attention.

The reason I plan to get the Viva is because of it's lower price tag and better fuel consumption. I know Viva 660 has less safety features compared to many other cars but I think it should be enough for me to use because I'm just using it as a transport not a race/project car. As long as I drive safely and slowly around, it should be ok right? If you're talking about speeding very fast in Viva, of course it will be dangerous. But at high speeds, it makes not much difference whether you are in Viva or GT-R especially if you crashed into a tree or any solid object. At the end of the day, no matter what car you are in, if you crashed into a solid object, chances of fatality is high. So, just drive safely and don't take any risk especially when going fast.

Accidents happen because of stupidity. The same drivers who crash those R35 if given a R32 would probably be dead instead of crippled.

The reason I wouldn't buy a Viva is because I've driven one - the top spec one sommore. It's literally like sitting inside a milo can. The only thing separating you inside the car and outside, is the ultra thin doors. I don't understand how they fit the side collision beam there (if there is one at all). What's more is anything about 80km/h in a Viva (stock) is just scary. Buses or trucks that drive by you on the highway will make your car wobble, a fast car passing will make it wobble too. It's also got zero driver aids and no air bags. For that price, you're better off buying a Savvy which is imho way safer. Looks better too.

i mean...i try not to stress myself financially cause monthly installment for those 2 car will take up quite a fair bit of my disposable income...it will be more of drive and mod less but what i am afraid is i will continue to mod and spend more money. however if i were to get a say proton cps or r3 neo, the monthly installment is almost neglible and wont really affect my lifestyle but well i am in dilemma still. Things may change once my 2 mortgage loan kicks in, cause right now they are still on deferred payment and will start around the same time.

Dude, if that's the case why not just get a KE70 for about RM4000 and mod that? That's a pretty nice RWD car and has loads of potential. Or if you're more oldskool, a KE30 and plonk in an auto User engine and it'll fly. Lots of things to project on that isn't mainstream and expensive

---------- Post added at 09:02 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:01 AM ----------

RENESIS,
vr2turbo's kids are same age or older than u :biggrin:

This was hilarious when vr2turbo's 20 something son called Supfan "UNCLE" just because SupFan was his fathers friend.

HAHAHAHAHAHA!

If intend for Satria Neo, might as well get 2nd hand real R3 Neo instead. Since the new one is just
bodykitted and Real R3 Neo is roughly around the price or a New R3 neo but slightly higher in price.

From what I see, Satria Neo CPS year 2011 seems to drop till RM48K. So roughly around RM10K+ for 1.5 years - 2 years driving.

If can afford an Evo or Scooby, I think is more worth getting them. Without mods itself already has a lot of horses in it. Unlike R3 Neo where you have to spend a lot of money to achieve certain level
of performance.

Still Evo and Scooby is 4WD as well. :top: If me I would consider a Scooby or Evo, looks better and
much more suitable car to play with performance or just a weekend car.

hmm...any idea whats the used car interest rate right now? may consider a dc5r as well. should be able to get financing if the car is less than 10 years loan?

Accidents happen because of stupidity. The same drivers who crash those R35 if given a R32 would probably be dead instead of crippled.

The reason I wouldn't buy a Viva is because I've driven one - the top spec one sommore. It's literally like sitting inside a milo can. The only thing separating you inside the car and outside, is the ultra thin doors. I don't understand how they fit the side collision beam there (if there is one at all). What's more is anything about 80km/h in a Viva (stock) is just scary. Buses or trucks that drive by you on the highway will make your car wobble, a fast car passing will make it wobble too. It's also got zero driver aids and no air bags. For that price, you're better off buying a Savvy which is imho way safer. Looks better too.

Dude, if that's the case why not just get a KE70 for about RM4000 and mod that? That's a pretty nice RWD car and has loads of potential. Or if you're more oldskool, a KE30 and plonk in an auto User engine and it'll fly. Lots of things to project on that isn't mainstream and expensive

This was hilarious when vr2turbo's 20 something son called Supfan "UNCLE" just because SupFan was his fathers friend.

HAHAHAHAHAHA!

Yes, Viva is really not recommended. That car is like plastic on the road. I think even Kelisa handles better and quality is much better than the Viva. Just can't understand why some could have titanium balls to really speed in those puny car.

Savvy good car but Gearbox is the major problem wor...those that related to renault
proton models better stay away as per advised :rofl:

Bro, I think kcng manage to confused most of us by calling his Jetta as Altis. And the
person who got the Legendary title 'UNCLE' is kcng not me :damnmate: :rofl: :laugh:

hmm...any idea whats the used car interest rate right now? may consider a dc5r as well. should be able to get financing if the car is less than 10 years loan?

Seems like 4% and above for 2nd hand cars. Is kind a high if you ask me. My kelisa
about 3.6% if not wrong. Close to 4% is what I remember.

DC5 good choice, cheaper than Type R Civic for 2nd hand.

Forum id, like yours "RENESIS VIII", but don't know what you look like. Put a face means after meet up, we then know.....:biggrin:

---------- Post added at 11:14 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:13 AM ----------

Bro, I think kcng manage to confused most of us by calling his Jetta as Altis. And the
person who got the Legendary title 'UNCLE' is kcng not me :damnmate: :rofl: :laugh:

Yup, it was kcng, but you can always try by dropping by my place and see how my son calls you.....:rofl:

Forum id, like yours "RENESIS VIII", but don't know what you look like. Put a face means after meet up, we then know.....:biggrin:

---------- Post added at 11:14 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:13 AM ----------

Yup, it was kcng, but you can always try by dropping by my place and see how my son calls you.....:rofl:

I bet your son will think that, I might be your daughter's bf :rofl:

Correct, death will still occur no matter what car they are in if they take risks.

Then, between viva and kancil, viva is worst than kancil?

Yes, Viva is really not recommended. That car is like plastic on the road. I think even Kelisa handles better and quality is much better than the Viva. Just can't understand why some could have titanium balls to really speed in those puny car.

Savvy good car but Gearbox is the major problem wor...those that related to renault
proton models better stay away as per advised :rofl:

Seems like 4% and above for 2nd hand cars. Is kind a high if you ask me. My kelisa
about 3.6% if not wrong. Close to 4% is what I remember.

DC5 good choice, cheaper than Type R Civic for 2nd hand.

Tiara is also another example. But it is based on Citroen though. Last time my aunt used to own a Tiara and even mechanics at certain shops can't even find the right screwdriver to open Tiara's screw :rofl:

Depends on which Civic Type R. EK9 is cheaper than DC5. EP3 I think probably is around the same price with DC5. FD2R is more expensive than DC5.

Correct, death will still occur no matter what car they are in if they take risks.

Tiara is also another example. But it is based on Citroen though. Last time my aunt used to own a Tiara and even mechanics at certain shops can't even find the right screwdriver to open Tiara's screw :rofl:

Honestly, I don't think Kancil is any better than the Viva, same goes for the Kelisa. But at least the Kelisa has airbags. Anyway, for a first car that's cheap and new, I think the Suzuki Alto, Colt and Myvi are pretty decent cars. The Viva is just too small and "kosong". Besides, you're 180cm, that's tall and you'd look like a giant in a small bath tub. :rofl:

u wish is it? where TR? he must take note on this...:rofl:
Can't probably wish that since I have not met or even know his daughter :rofl: and I'm not available :biggrin:

Depends on which Civic Type R. EK9 is cheaper than DC5. EP3 I think probably is around the same price with DC5. FD2R is more expensive than DC5.

Tiara was one of the failure back then. Now 2nd hand anyone want to sell,
it doesn't even worth more than RM1K.

Not sure man, I still find kelisa better but then when comes to bigger impact,
cars like kelisa, kancil or viva, is still not much protection. Myvi is acceptable but
is not a car that can withstand huge impact.

Honestly, I don't think Kancil is any better than the Viva, same goes for the Kelisa. But at least the Kelisa has airbags. Anyway, for a first car that's cheap and new, I think the Suzuki Alto, Colt and Myvi are pretty decent cars. The Viva is just too small and "kosong". Besides, you're 180cm, that's tall and you'd look like a giant in a small bath tub. :rofl:

1 more, Mitsubishi Mirage :top: Kinda like that car with all nice goodies...

u wish is it? where TR? he must take note on this...:rofl:

You matching your son and TR daughter?.....:biggrin:

---------- Post added at 02:34 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:33 PM ----------

The Tiara totally re-badged that is why everything Citroen....so tools also different....:banghead:

---------- Post added at 02:35 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:34 PM ----------

Bro. Izso mentioned Colt. Is Mitsubishi Colt Mirage......:rofl:

You matching your son and TR daughter?.....:biggrin:

The Tiara totally re-badged that is why everything Citroen....so tools also different....:banghead:

---------- Post added at 02:35 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:34 PM ----------

[/COLOR]

Bro. Izso mentioned Colt. Is Mitsubishi Colt Mirage......:rofl:

LOL! Good one Vr2turbo :rofl:

Mitsubishi colt and mirage different leh bro :biggrin:

but i don't think you can get anymore loan for a ek9...dc5 shd still be able to.

if rm250k i prefer to buy a house or apartment for investment :biggrin:

that depends where you at. not happening around my location
i believe we are near to bubble period.

---------- Post added at 11:44 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:39 PM ----------

how much would u lose, that isnt a linear graph, it's hard to do any projection.

political issue, affect alot. Our nation strategy on vehicle is not clear yet.

---------- Post added at 11:46 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:44 PM ----------

yes, if you can go for evo8/9, definitely better ground to start from
cuz it already beaten lots of cars

unless you wan learn the progress. I believe tuning 8/9 could be cheaper compare to other rare car.

Since I'm not paying for the car's installment, I can't demand much. Dont know whether 40k above cars are ok or not for my parent's budget.
Lol, how did you guessed I am 180cm?

Can't probably wish that since I have not met or even know his daughter :rofl: and I'm not available :biggrin:

Tiara was one of the failure back then. Now 2nd hand anyone want to sell,
it doesn't even worth more than RM1K.

Not sure man, I still find kelisa better but then when comes to bigger impact,
cars like kelisa, kancil or viva, is still not much protection. Myvi is acceptable but
is not a car that can withstand huge impact.

Tiara can probably be named as the worst proton ever.
New Mirage is nice. Got manual some more. Still, the older Mirage Cyborg ZR is more fun. :rofl: