17inch rim

Hahaha, my problem is the car got the bugger speed cut which is not easy to remove some more!
What about installing the RSM device? Can remove the speedcut.

Ah Kit rims and tires are very cheap. Can try it. Call him and ask for pricing. Taiwan rims replica are nice and light. No problem for me using it. Pretty reliable. Dun use Falken Ziex. U'll regret big time.
Falken Ziex use to be very good until the traction reading reduced and seems lots of bad feedback after that. The grip was good back then and my falken ziex only lasted me 1 1/2 year for hard
driving :rofl:

If u wanna standstill wheelspin, get smaller rims. :biggrin:

yea weh. Now it's all what they said, i refuse to believe them.
So heavy means not so good? And also alignment is hard to do for taiwan is it?
Need a lot of those metal metal clips on the rims?

Nobody put more than 1 clips on the rims la bro :rofl: but usually nowadays we use those balancing metal pieces and paste it inside the rims. Looks better and won't damage the rims like weight clips.

Depends on the rims you're using too, not all cars can use weight clips.

there r 2 liking in driving car..as mostly ppl would like the aceleration from 0-100 but some like the torque pushing 100-250.with lighter rims ,u can't even touch 250 or even u touches 250,ur wheel is not touching the floor most of the time n wind actually can blow ur car away.
supercar go for 19' or 20' for heavier rotation mass to balance it out with their high hp.

Those supercars use big rims because they require huge brakes and big tire contact patch too, but their rims are actually very light for that sizes. For extreme example is Koenigsegg CCXR or Agera, they're using carbonkevlar center rims, at size 19 or 20 can actually be lighter than most 17'/18'! Most other super/hypercars also use high-end forged rims to try save as much weight as possible.

Like Lotus cars, trying to be as light as possible but with superb handling and power

Apparently the Toyota/Lexus system for AT car is pretty complicated, especially in relation to how the AT box behave. Those popular speed cut removal modules like RSM/Pivot/HKS SLD are not compatible. The only module that's compatible is the HKS VAC which is designed specifically for specific cars and it costs the bomb, retail price >rm3k!

Another possible option is to check with TOM's if can remap and remove speed cut all at once but I was informed by Vision Auto (TOM's dealer in KL) that not all Mark X version can be done. I've given them my chassis number but no news yet if can or not. If can also don't know how much it will cost (might be expensive too), and how long will it be (don't know if can exchange ECU or maybe need to send the ECU there so the car must be idle for a long time).

The Singapore Mark X Club members have managed to use RSM for this but it's not straight forward, maybe require some trick/special way of using it and setting it up cause there's a risk of jamming the AT box! I don't know the exact details yet, need to go there and find out but no time yet.

speaking of the devil,lotus elise doesn't have automatic windows....

Guys and sifus.... Since we are on the topic of 17" rims. What offset or 'J' should i look for? Which has sufficient clearance for brake upgrades later days? :P

Supra, Ziex used to be good for 512 which was Made in Japan. I used that in my AE111 last time. Then I tried 522 in my Airtrek. Only 2 years with 70% thread left, it began swollen and it was so serious that my steering wobbles on low speed. See the pic.

It wasn't only 1 tire. All 4 has the same problem and they're made in Indonesia and not Japan.

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    451.7 KB · Views: 124
Supercars rims are super light. Just goto YouTube and view how Keonigsegg and Lamborghinis are built. They talk about how they manufacture the super light weight rims.

Kaninbu what tyre brand you're looking at? Comfort maybe can go for PS3 instead. An all rounder tyre.
Since you're downgrading in size, can go for 215/55R17. About RM580 - RM660.

So, there also around RM2K+ on tyres alone. So, rims for 17" if taiwan made also at least around 1.7K - 2K+...
budget at least also have to reach 4K. Unless go for cheaper tyres like GT Radial HPX, or Yokohama.

Comfort wise. I'm not sure.

Have to ask tyre sifu vr2turbo.

Ai! my id appear here also......:biggrin:

---------- Post added at 08:34 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:21 AM ----------

my budget is around 3k including tyre.currently im rolling wif 18inch wif 225/40 tires now.driving around trunk road is very uncomfortable .thinking of switching to higher ratio tires.

What is your original tyre size?
225/40R18 seems a bit low for your Airterk. If convert from this size for 17" you can only use 215/50R17 or 225/45R17 only.
I remember my friend using 215/60R16 original size. If that is the case, then you can fit 215/55R17 or 225/50R17

---------- Post added at 08:36 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:34 AM ----------

heavier rim is good for top speed.u need the momentum.
light rim good intern of fuel saving n better aceleration.

As bro. 6UE5t mentioned lighter is better, better up sprung weight also. Means the bounce and re-bounce and amount of stress taken by the suspension.

---------- Post added at 08:39 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:36 AM ----------

my screeching is from spinning wheel,turbo mah.
will yokohama,goodyear better off then falken?for sure rite?

Whether which tyre is better depends on your priorities. Every brand have their category of tyres, from entry level to Max performance. It all depends on your priorities and what you want out from the tyres.

---------- Post added at 08:42 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:39 AM ----------

there r 2 liking in driving car..as mostly ppl would like the aceleration from 0-100 but some like the torque pushing 100-250.with lighter rims ,u can't even touch 250 or even u touches 250,ur wheel is not touching the floor most of the time n wind actually can blow ur car away.
supercar go for 19' or 20' for heavier rotation mass to balance it out with their high hp.

Even though super cars have bigger rims it does not mean heavier rotation as the tyres used are of Ultra low profile of 35 or 30 series. Actual over diameter is still accounted for, just as I explained above on your tyre size

---------- Post added at 08:47 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:42 AM ----------

Supra, Ziex used to be good for 512 which was Made in Japan. I used that in my AE111 last time. Then I tried 522 in my Airtrek. Only 2 years with 70% thread left, it began swollen and it was so serious that my steering wobbles on low speed. See the pic.

It wasn't only 1 tire. All 4 has the same problem and they're made in Indonesia and not Japan.

Falken Ziex range are mid range category of Falken. They had the 502, then the 512 which at that time all from Japan. Then the 522 but Made in Indonesia. This model is budget model only and have very weak wet handling/traction.
Falken performance range is the Azenis range like FK452 now FK453

---------- Post added at 08:54 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:47 AM ----------

Falken Ziex use to be very good until the traction reading reduced and seems lots of bad feedback after that. The grip was good back then and my falken ziex only lasted me 1 1/2 year for hard
driving :rofl:

Nobody put more than 1 clips on the rims la bro :rofl: but usually nowadays we use those balancing metal pieces and paste it inside the rims. Looks better and won't damage the rims like weight clips.

Depends on the rims you're using too, not all cars can use weight clips.

Speed cut can be done, but usually have to meddle with the ECU. Mine still have the speed cut. My friend have already given the speed cut unit to attach to my ECU, but I rather not use in case fry my ECU. More over how often do we go over 180kph?

You are referring to the ZE-912. This is Falken Thai model. Yup, earlier when launch was rated traction AA, then later model with traction A only..:mad:

Some sports rims exterior design also not design to have the clip on weight. Like you mentioned it looks better if the weights are on the inside behind the spokes. However the inner side usually they still use clip on. Sometimes you will see a lot of stick on weights, this is because they come in 5gm pcs. therefore sometimes may need a lot to balance the tyres.

Oh, the one I'm using is Falken ZIEX912, my bad for not mentioning. Grip is good like vr2turbo mentioned is AA traction after that now traction A, lots of complain.

Ai! my id appear here also......:biggrin:

Speed cut can be done, but usually have to meddle with the ECU. Mine still have the speed cut. My friend have already given the speed cut unit to attach to my ECU, but I rather not use in case fry my ECU. More over how often do we go over 180kph?

You are referring to the ZE-912. This is Falken Thai model. Yup, earlier when launch was rated traction AA, then later model with traction A only..:mad:

Some sports rims exterior design also not design to have the clip on weight. Like you mentioned it looks better if the weights are on the inside behind the spokes. However the inner side usually they still use clip on. Sometimes you will see a lot of stick on weights, this is because they come in 5gm pcs. therefore sometimes may need a lot to balance the tyres.

You're popular everywhere that's why name also appear everywhere that relates to rims and tyres :rofl:

Yup, I never regret getting Falken ZIEX 912 at that time. Grip is good and comfortable too. Even
better than michelin xm2 from what I felt in terms of grip. But lifespan shorter.

hmm...so the mech will see how much it needs to balance and will stick on the number of weights needed? Like my kelisa stock rims with clip totally damage the rims lips. Scarred.

Lucky it still looks good from far and my friend is really happy after getting those rims.
Well, I mean who would clean a 2nd hand rims that clean and polish it when gonna sell? :rofl:

thx sifu vr2turbo.
40 very bumpy until my pregnant wife can feel the bumpyness of trunk road.
btw aspect ration 50 n 55 is there very big differences intern of comfort?

thx sifu vr2turbo.

Maybe you can change back to stock springs at the meantime until your wife delivers.

I don't really care if 922 is budget but it should not swollen. I accept bad traction but not problems just after 2 years.

my hwl is running with f 5kg r 3kg...my tire thread left around 30-40% thinking might as well chg it now.

Oh, the one I'm using is Falken ZIEX912, my bad for not mentioning. Grip is good like vr2turbo mentioned is AA traction after that now traction A, lots of complain.

You're popular everywhere that's why name also appear everywhere that relates to rims and tyres :rofl:

Yup, I never regret getting Falken ZIEX 912 at that time. Grip is good and comfortable too. Even
better than michelin xm2 from what I felt in terms of grip. But lifespan shorter.

hmm...so the mech will see how much it needs to balance and will stick on the number of weights needed? Like my kelisa stock rims with clip totally damage the rims lips. Scarred.

Lucky it still looks good from far and my friend is really happy after getting those rims.
Well, I mean who would clean a 2nd hand rims that clean and polish it when gonna sell? :rofl:

Those rims that can attach the clip weight. you must straight away tell the tyre shop use stick weight, if not, the worker sure hantam because easier to do....

---------- Post added at 12:00 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:52 AM ----------

thx sifu vr2turbo.

Bro., first check the original size before converting.

50 and 55 series do have difference in bumpiness, as to get the overall diameter, using 50 the width is wider. Then again depends also on the tyres used.

For your budget, probably you will need around RM3.5k. 17" rims around RM1.5k and tyres around RM2k, or try to get slightly cheaper tyres.

If you need comfort, tyres like Toyo C-1S, Yokohama C-Drive 2 and Advan V551, GY efficient grip, BS GR-90 are the comfort tyres

---------- Post added at 12:02 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:00 PM ----------

Get PS3 then. :smile: best choice to offer in the market for good grip and comfort.

PS3 will be killer price for those sizes....

---------- Post added at 12:02 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:02 PM ----------

I don't really care if 922 is budget but it should not swollen. I accept bad traction but not problems just after 2 years.

Conti CSC3 also bulge and my friend CSC5 crack, even worse....:mad:

Falken 912 Thailand made rating A..normal user size...
I thought Japan made are AA...sportier/rarer size..

good grip for the price...but once it wear off,:stupid:, slippery like crazy, especially during wet...
and it wear off quite fast...cheap though..

Falken 912 Thailand made rating A..normal user size...
I thought Japan made are AA...sportier/rarer size..

good grip for the price...but once it wear off,:stupid:, slippery like crazy, especially during wet...
and it wear off quite fast...cheap though..

Ziex 912 wears off fast?? Should not be since the tread wear rating is pretty high (>400) for durability. Those that wear off faster are those around low 300 or less, and usually categorized as high performance tires. Azenis FK453 should wear off faster.